We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“An experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently. I found Jim and Janet were very welcoming and friendly and the pool, spa and BBQ area added to the experience. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have views. We went to the beach a number of times which is about a 2 minute walk and the apartments are located between Surfers and Oasis shopping centre, a perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us!
We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us. It's nice to hear our guests are appreciating our excellent location and therefore making us easily accessible to most of what Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise has to offer.
We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 days last week.
Spacious clean apartment, very affordable
quiet (so sick of the party animals that keep me awake!)
yes there are rules - but very fair and spelled out at the beginning.

Had to do a late check in and easy to follow instructions.

The only issue I had with the apartment was that the bedroom had a window over a common area which had a light on all night - and the blind on the window did a very poor job of blocking it out.

The bed will need a new mattress soon I would think too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are pleased you were over all happy with your stay. We appreciate all feedback and will certainly take your comments on board. I understand a lot of the mattresses have since been replaced in the apartments.
We would love to see you again in the future at San Mateo on Broadbeach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinella, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed in one of the 2 storey penthouses which was extremely well set out with bathrooms upstairs and downstairs with a balcony on both levels (for the spectacular views of the WHALES). Our daughter used the heated pool and spa every day even though it was too cold for the ocean, this was a great bonus!! Fantastic location with an awesome eatery just on the corner, which was busy all the time, one block to the beach (50m), walking distance into the main shopping area and Jupiters Casino and Pacific Fair not too far away at all.

Jan was just perfect with all the help and advice you need on arrival and if you needed anything else just happy to assist, but definitely not in your face, as is sometimes the case in the smaller more intimate apartment blocks......Thanks Jan.

But the highlight for me personally was what delighted me out in the deep blue sea, something caught my eye from the kitchen, a large spray of water just beyond the buoys...... Intrigued I continued to watch and sure enough there was a pod of whales making the trip north. This continued for the remainder of our holiday (i became a little obsessed) and on the final morning I was rewarded with large splashdowns..... Keep your eyes peeled!!!!!!!

We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: maybe request a room on the north east side of the building in winter for longer sun on your balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Many thanks for leaving a great review! We really appreciate the effort!
It's great to hear you were pleased with your stay. We love it when our guests appreciate our excellent location. We certainly do our best to make sure all our guests have all the information they need or require during their stay with us! We are pleased you found everything so accessible, and the added bonus of whale watching to boot! :)
Fantastic!
We would love to have you to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here twice now once again loved it heaps wouldnt go anywhere else really close to bus stations which take you to the theme parks shopping centres etc awesome beach only 40 metres away jan and jim are the nicest people in the whole world they make your stay a very very comftable and warm welcome they are also very helpfull so dont look anywhere else the san mateo on broadbeach is the place to STAY

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thanks for your great review! We really appreciate your feedback. Our repeat guests are like family to us, and we love treating them like so, and making sure they have everything they need/require to make their stay enjoyable!
We would love to welcome you back in the near future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our group of 12 (on the coast for a golf trip that ended up as a trip to the GC Turf Club) stayed at the beachhouse at San Mateo & had a fantastic time.

The Beachhouse is perfect for families or groups & is situated 50 metres from the beach, a block from restaurants, bottle shop & around the corner from a great little cafe serving $10 breakfasts on Fri & Sat morning. It is also very close to a number of GC bus stops that service the airport, theme parks & the GC Turf Club.

Jan & Jim are wonderful hosts & I can't speak highly enough of a stay at the Beachhouse at San Mateo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback!
Unfortunately we do not have the beach house in our holiday pool any longer, but we still have our numerous sized apartments in our complex and hopefully these will suit you one day to come back and stay with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and myself, my daughter, son in law and 3 grandchildren.We stayed in two seperate apartments on top floor 8 in Penthouse apartments at San Mateo. Apatments are spacious, bathroom downstairs, Kitchen and Dining, lounge with comfortable seating and a Plasma Television inc. Austar. Upstairs was 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, laundry and Balcony. The view were great of the sea and over Broadbeach. The Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help with anything. The Bus Stop was nearby and it took 10 minutes to walk to Oasis Shopping Centre which is great.The is a corner shop to buy essentials for unit. The Bowls Club is a stone throw which has cheap meals. We hired a car for two days which the Office Staff organized, the car was dropped in the underground car park and they organized return. We stayed 10 days and inbetween our apartment was serviced. We loved the Pool Area and the BBQ facilities were fabulous. We would definately stay there again. We have stayed on the Goldcoast before last October and the Hotel was little to be desired.

Room Tip: Floor 8 we stayed on(top Floor) and it was large and sunny and no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thanks for your great review! We appreciate your feedback, and the fact that our guests realise what an excellent location we have here!
The local facilities are fantastic and right at our door step and we thank you for pointing this out.
Thank you once again for leaving your review and we would love to see you again some time in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Little hidden gem. There are so many apartment options in this area but this one is simple and well located. It is a bit of a walk to Broadbeach mall (takes about 10 minutes) but it is perfect distance to walk off a lovely dinner at all of those great restaurant options. One block from the beach. Nice apartments. Friendly staff. Great pool and BBQ area. All good.

Room Tip: Not a tall complex. Ask for a high floor if you want views. I viewed the penthouses but did not sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ren1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 September 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us!
We appreciate your time and the excellent points you noted in your review!
We hope to see you again in the future at San Mateo on Broadbeach! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.9 mi away
Santa Anne By the Sea
Santa Anne By the Sea
#16 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Royale
Ocean Royale
#18 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aruba Sands Resort
Aruba Sands Resort
#17 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Portobello Resort Apartments
Portobello Resort Apartments
#24 of 36 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boulevard North Apartments
Boulevard North Apartments
#23 of 36 in Broadbeach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Neptune Resort
Neptune Resort
#11 of 36 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast

Property: San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
Address: 93 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast Broadbeach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing