We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not luxurious as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Large rooms, small closets and inconsistent housekeeping made our stay at the Sofitel average, at best. This hotel bills itself as a luxury property, but I would describe it as a quality 3-star experience. It is located about 2 blocks from the beach. Beware of booking a lower floor room on the north side of the building as it is very noisy on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marchbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Bonjour Marchbecky,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us about your stay.
I am sorry that you did not have a very good experience while you were here which is disappointing to see. Our housekeeping department have been shown your comments as well to investigate how any inconsistencies could be happening with the way our team sevice rooms.

Thank you again for your review, we value your honest feedback.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 2,772 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at the Sofitel for one night on a recent trip to the Gold Coast. The hotel is in a very nice location in Broadbeach. The hotel itself was ok. The rooms are sizeable and comfortable but are nothing special.

The gym feels like an afterthought - it's tight and small.

I found the hotel quite noisy through the night so it might be a good idea to try to get a higher room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Bonjour klkh2002,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback to us.
I am glad you loved our location in midst of the vibrant area in Broadbeach. I apologise that you experienced some disturbance from the adjacent mall area, may I recommend for you to request one of our Ocean view south side rooms for your next stay. These rooms are on the opposite side of the building and start from the 7th floor upwards.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back for another stay when you are next visiting the Gold Coast.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank traveltenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights combining a few days relaxation with attendance at a conference in the nearby Gold Coast Convention Centre. A lovely luxurious hotel with charming staff and great facilities. Room service was great, hotel breakfast the usual buffet fare but good quality and you can order a "real" coffee included in cost. Great bed and spacious good quality bathroom. From about level 7 the views are excellent especially on the side facing the ocean. Watching the winter sunrise was magic. My only criticism is they still charge outrageous prices for internet access in your room. Sofitel needs to catch up with the fact that all over the world hotels are realising this cannot be justified. Nevertheless I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the ocean if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Bonjour Jennifer L,

Thank you for providing us with this great feedback from your stay.
It is good to see you had the opportunity to combine some relaxation time after your conference. I agree, our location would have been perfect for attending your event at the convention centre across the road and a good spot to enjoy your leisure days with the surrounding shopping areas and beach nearby.

Thank you again and we hope to you are able to return for another visit soon.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Well, the hotel is ok. It is basic but clean and in a good location. But as a business traveller it is ridiculous to be charged $30 a day to use the internet and to have this restricted to only 500mb a day. Once you exceed this amount of data transfer they throttle your speed back to dial up modem speed or you can continue to work at the same speed and be charged per megabyte.

What a joke. It is 2014 and most hotels around the world do not charge for accessing the internet, let alone charge and then restrict your usage to only 500mb!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank AT000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Bonjour AdamT007,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constuctive feedback with us from your stay.
It is disappointing to see that your experience with our wi-fi service has caused such an overall low rating of the hotel. It is unfortunate that the cost of providing internet services in Australia is still very high and we do our best to provide this to our guests at a reasonable cost. Additionally we are now part of the Accor Le Club program as of the 3rd July which entitles Silver and Gold status members to access free internet during their stay.

Thank you again for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

Warm Regards,
Amery Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, always request or book a room with a ocean view and you will not be disappointed. The rooms are clean and modern and the hotel offers everything you could want. The pool is lovely. With easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants it's the only place we stay when in the goldcoast.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitelgcb, General Manager at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Bonjour Kiwisteve99,

Thank you for posting this lovely review from your stay in April at Sofitel Gold Coast.
I agree with you, we have a fantastic spot in the heart of Broadbeach with easy walking access to the surrounding attractions as well as the beach. I am pleased to see that you had a wonderful experience during your 2 nights with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit soon.

Warm Regards
Amery Burleigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#4 of 7 in Broadbeach
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,367 reviews
2.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,780 reviews
2.0 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach

Address: 81 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
#3 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range: £128 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Gold Coast is in Broadbeach, the most cosmopolitan location on the Gold Coast. Only fifty meters away from the beach, the hotel is no more than a short stroll to the Gold Coast Convention Centre. As an added attraction, a light rail station is located adjacent to the hotel. There are 296 spacious guest rooms, each with its own balcony and a panoramic view, two pools, tennis courts and a spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Accor Gold Coast Broadbeach
Sofitel Broadbeach
Broadbeach Sofitel
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing