We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceana on Broadbeach
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious and beautiful view”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

When you walk through the door of the apartment, on a clear day, you are absolutely delighted by the stunning view of the ocean, The mid-level, ocean view apartment was spacious and very comfortably furnished, with large screen TV and fat, comfy couches and comfortable beds. There were some signs that the apartment was ageing, (the bathrooms were probably the give-away) although, overall we were comfortable and enjoyed the roominess. You could also sit comfortably on the balcony. The kitchen was stocked with bare, basic cookware etc. We could have used some larger pots and pans. There are signs telling guests what to do everywhere. I agree with other reviewers that this is a bit of a 'put-off'. You do get the feeling that management might not have lost their enthusiasm/patience for the task. However, the trade-off was that the grounds and facilities were well maintained and spotless. We would stay at Oceana again, and liked the quick access to the beach - that was patrolled over the summer holidays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    100
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
195
106
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the ocean. What a spectacular view we had! The beach was right across the road and we were close to everything we needed. The accommodation itself was fantastic; huge apartment with a great balcony. Very modern, but perfect for our family. We stayed in a lower level apartment, and were never disturbed by noise. The hotel grounds were kept so beautifully. We all loved swimming in the pools and using the gym. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a spectacular view of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandPG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

we love staying here in an ocean view apartment. overlooks the pool as well. Nice big balcony lets you enjoy sweeping views to die for. Directly across the road is Lolas cafe and restaurant as well as a BWS and take away food shop. The bowls club bistro is over the road from that and there's a small supermarket on the next corner. A very handy location meaning you don't have to get in your car to get any supplies, just a short walk for pretty much everything.
The walk to the main area of broadbeach isn't that hard either if you want to leave the car at home.
The only downsides from our point of view was that our room had an annoying repetetive sound that sounded like someone was drilling in concrete and all the signs everywhere spruiking "don't do this" "don't do that". They're way in overkill at this one and do tend to make you feel like you're doing something wrong just walking around. Our take on this is they're appealing for an older quieter client base, as well as keeping it toned down for the permanents and frown on the youth who would be better suited staying closer to the action anyway.
Signage aside, the whole place is magnificently clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: must have ocean view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

It was 2006 that I had last stayed at the oceana for a basketball comp. I had awesome memories back then so thought I would try the place again. I was so hoping I wouldn't be disappointed and be presented with an old horrible dated apartment.

I was not disappointed at all. I had booked the 2 bedroom ocean view apartment. Myself and 3 other friends were staying so we could be closer for the 'big day out' event. The unit was fantastic, which was such a relief.

The unit was spacious and clean. We were given the 11th floor and the views were spectacular. I was so happy with the unit, as were my friends. They were very impressed with my choice and the closeness to the beach. Spare blankets were provided. Everything you could need in the kitchen, was provided. The tv was huge. The lounge was comfortable. The beds were lovely. The bathrooms were clean.

If I had to find any faults, it would be that there were no garbage bags provided, other than one already in the small bin under the sink. People tend not to bring garbage bags with them when they go on holidays. I struggled to figure out how I was going to dispose of the 4 bags worth of rubbish we had to get rid of before check out.

Other than this small negative, I highly recommend these apartments. I will definitely stay here again when I visit the Gold Coast. Oceana will be my number one pick.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank c7adl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed over the Christmas period in 2 bedroom apartment. Excellent checkin. Lifts very fast. Car park pretty good. Apartment on 8th floor with absolute oceanfront views. Very, very nicely furnished. Only issue unit needs more sharp knives but having been the owner of a holiday unit just down the road you get sick and tired of coming into your own unit to find tenants have taken things down to the BBQ or to other peoples' units and don't bother to return them. As for the comment about owners taking over the pool area I agree with the manager that owners very rarely do that, especially at peak times when there are so many groups who take over the entire area with no thought or consideration for other guests. We even witnessed an argument between 2 men about it.

The whole complex is in terrific condition, considering its age. The building manager does a fantastic job ensuring all public areas are spotlessly clean. He would be out there late at night cleaning the pool area and tidying up. Well done sir!

All holiday units have rules, particularly in relation to the pool, lift and entrance situations. I for one think the security of the building is a major plus. What is impressive about Oceana is that they actually seem to care. Believe me, some building managers in other buildings couldn't care less and are rarely seen doing anything.

Thank you Oceana for providing a great service. Would highly recommend this building. We had a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I agree with the previous post. We enjoyed our stay here but the list of "don'ts" got to us too. Felt a bit like high school! The rules were heavily enforced too. The no balls in the pool spoiled it for our kids. Another thing that spoiled things for us was that there is clearly a division between owners and holiday makers. The owners make there presence felt by reserving the BBQ area and the poolside chairs. I watched one owner put towels and a food basket down in the BBQ area at 0830, by the time I left at 1230 he hadn't returned. So no-one got to use the whole area all morning. Very selfish behaviour all round. I also feel there is much better accommodation to choose from on the Gold Coast. I enjoyed my stay, didn't feel particularly welcomed and will not return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glameb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanaon, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana on Broadbeach, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear GlasgowPam,
For a safe, peaceful and enjoyable environment for all, it is necessary to have Rules and Regulations. Oceana’s Rules and Regulations are incorporated into the By Laws and Safety Rules established by the Body Corporate Committee/Owners (and not by Building Managers). Throwing balls in the pool area is a safety issue that inhibits other Guests from enjoying the pool area. Balls seen range from tennis balls to cricket balls to basketballs – sometimes thrown with considerable force and disregard for others. No Ball Playing is a common safety “rule” in Gold Coast residential high rise buildings. We have kilometres of beautiful beach, and a park just across the way where one can enjoy ball games without hurting anyone. Sorry no ball games in the pool/area. Our constant concern and priority at Oceana is for the safety of everyone.
Most of the live-in Owners are elderly, or of a retired age, and are rarely seen in the pool/BBQ area. It would be most unusual for them to leave their belongings out when they have the whole year to enjoy the facilities. It may have been a group of holiday guests staying at the time. We will always respond if/when alerted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We've stayed at the Oceana on Broadbreach approximately 10 times over the past 15 years, most recently in December 2013. The location is great - right across the road from the beach and only a short walk from the Broadbeach shopping centre. The size of the apartments is the other thing that's kept us coming back over the years - they're larger than normal which is great when you're staying for a while and/or you're staying with family, which is typically the case with us.

However, while we've given the Oceana on Broadbeach a more positive review in the past we've been aware that the fit-out and furnishings are becoming more and more dated over time. There are also increasing signs of poor maintenance (eg. rust on the balcony around the air conditioners, missing hooks in the bathroom, cracked tiles in the showers, chemical build up on the tap fittings in the bathrooms). The other thing that's started to grate with us are the numerous signs around the complex telling you all the things you're NOT to do - like open the doors in the gym, or go to the pool/BBQ area after XX o'clock etc. These signs have always been present throughout the complex and have historically been a source of amusement to us (especially as they typically "shout" at you - in capital letters, bold or italics). They've always created a vauge impression that you're staying there by the grace of God and if you put a foot wrong you'll be in serious trouble. The problem is that, for us, the constant shouting's become less of a joke and more of an annoyance - particularly when considered in conjunction with the increasingly tired state of the rooms we've stayed in.

In our view there are now better value options on the Gold Coast so we won't stay at the Oceana on Broadbeach again unless there's evidence which shows they've addressed the issues described above.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neutron0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanaon, Guest Relations Manager at Oceana on Broadbeach, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear neutron0911
As a regular Guest, and no doubt familiar with the Staff and Management it is unfortunate that you did not approach us directly if you were unhappy with the room/facilities when you stayed. Some of the apartments have had the same Owners since the building was built. There has been some refurbishment, however there are apartments that have been fully renovated.
Maintenance is constant throughout the property. Be assured we are working our way through both with individual Owners and the Body Corporate
Notices and Signs form an essential part of the Body Corporate By-Laws and Safety Rules, and have been incorporated since the building was built and often in response to safety concerns. This is to create a secure and enjoyable environment not just for holiday Guests but for tenants and Owners who live in the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#8 of 21 in Broadbeach
1,757 reviews
1.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana on Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana on Broadbeach

Property: Oceana on Broadbeach
Address: 100 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Broadbeach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana on Broadbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceana on Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana On Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Oceana On Hotel Broadbeach
Gold Coast Oceana
Broadbeach Oceana On Hotel
Oceana On Broadbeach Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing