We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun, excellent sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Star Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great fun, excellent sleep”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Jupiters is a great party place - casino, nightclub & bars. I don't know if they market themselves as a family destination - but they're not. Which is probably why we like this place.

Room - at this hotel we always ask for a Western facing room (view to the hinterland) - The sun rises in the East and the Ocean View rooms get the first light in the morning - Western rooms allow sleep in. They do have blackout blinds - but when here - we prefer as little light as possible.

Price - Friday & Saturday is always going to be more expensive - but book early if you want these nights cheap.

Location - beach is ~300 metres away - but is a bit of a hike - but take the monorail to the mall (nearer to the beach). Casino is right down stairs & there is a nightclub in the building as well.

Its had a nice refurbishment and the main areas are good looking.

Service - Checkin & Out is a bit slow & dysfunctional. Don't let this get you down - just go with the flow. Also, ask for complimentary upgrade at check in - hasn't worked yet - but maybe one day. Restaurant staff - very hit & miss - good & bad. Let's just say there is plenty of room for improvement on wait staff service in the restaurants.

Food - The buffet restaurant is a little over priced, but quality is good - this place is always. busy for dinner - there are a few other restaurants as well (cafe near the casino is well priced). Never made Breakfast here - so can't comment on Bfast.

I think Jupiters Gold Coast still deserves 5 stars.

Room Tip: West facing room for a sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    661
    333
    134
    100
See reviews for
267
724
70
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

A decent hotel. Reasonable value. Good gym. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Booked a "Girls Night In" package through Wotif.com - $169 per night including sparkling wine and room service breakfast - value for money when compared with Hotels own deals.
We have stayed at Jupiters a number of times with this stay being one of the better ones - much improvement on staff friendliness and attitude towards guests - check in and out was much more efficient with staff more pleasant and chatty.

Our room was refurbished although the bathroom was clean it did need some attention to the floor and dusty tile ledges.

Higher floors are quieter but as it is a big hotel with many guests - hall noise and slamming doors can be a problem.

Quality of food is good although the change in policy where hotel guest have to line up for restaurants with other customers is poor - they should have priority when staying at the hotel. This does apply if you have a show and dinner package.

In room breakfast was on time and plenty of food - this was included in the package.

Overall much improvement with staff friendliness and recognition of being a returning guest - keep improving with better package deals and value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Something here for everybody - glam it up at the casino, relax by the wonderful pool, take a stroll down to the beach and the Broadbeach mall, or shop it up at Pacific Fair. All staff members that we came across were excellent and bended over backwards to assist us. Room was modern, bed was comfortable - a quiet haven away from the excitement downstairs. The pool area was quite striking with great music, atmosphere, bar, secluded spa baths and lots of comfy lounges / table settings. We had a meal at Spinners restaurant and ordered room service breakfast - both of which were excellent. Enjoyed our stay and wished that we'd booked longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyls40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Jupiter's Casino in transit, and caught a great deal on wotif.com for $120 for the night, it was great value. However they catch you in other ways. As soon as you pull up they hit you for valet service +$20, then we ended up eating room service because we were dead tired and to go anywhere from the complex would have been a headache (ie. getting the car from the valet would have cost another $20, or walking a few km's to Broadbeach to a restaurant.) The room service menu was pretty 'exi' so we got pizza and wedges!
So apart from that it was a fun and good stay! The room was nice, but not super special, the service at the valet point was excellent, those guys were very friendly, helpful and professional. We had to wait quite a while to check in, the reception staff could have been quicker and friendlier. We also enjoyed the pool, its a bit tired but very nicely landscaped and designed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TintininOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1,330 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,045 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Prior to writing this review, I read some of the recent negative reviews. Some of he writers seemed to be writing about another establishment!

I had a good two night stay.

My room was clean, comfortable, modern and well appointed. Certainly it was up to Australian 4.5- 5 star standards.

The room (on the 9th floor) was quiet. I did stay there on a busy Saturday night, when the hotel was full, and the casino well patronised. Nonetheless, I had a peaceful night's sleep.

The hotel is separated from the hotel and entertainment areas, so noise and disturbance is minimised.

I ate at the Andiamo Italian resaurant for dinner- they offered good quality food at reasonable pricing for the quality offered- for example, AUD35 for gnocchi with lobster.

I had breakfast in the Food Fantasy buffet- this was very good. They had a wide range of good quality food in the buffet. Also, they had a station offering freshly cooked eggs.

The hotel had very good conference facilities.

The position of the hotel is excellent- adjacent to the Convention Center and a short monorail ride from the Broadbeach restaurant strip and the beach. Also, the large Pacific Fair shopping center is a short stroll away.

It has the added attractions of the casino, various restaurants and bars, as well as a theatre showcasing good quality shows.

The staff offered friendly and professional hospitality.

I recommend this hotel as offering good quality accommodations and professional hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caulfield North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I have stayed here a number of times and it just gets worse. The music from the bar played louder in my room then it did in the bar and didn't stop till after midnight calls to front desk yielded nothing except a useless apology.

The late checkout I was told I could have if I paid was also rescinded and the staff at breakfast were too busy and rude to serve, all in all everything I expect in a hotel was missing

This is really not what a hotel of this stature should be offering

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Gold Coast

Property: The Star Gold Coast
Address: Cnr Gold Coast Highway & TE Peters Drive | Broadbeach Island, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Hotel & Casino Gold Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Star Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned amongst seven stunning acres of landscaped gardens, The Star Gold Coast is ideally located on Broadbeach Island, just minutes from the heart of Broadbeach. Discover some of the world's best beaches, only a short stroll or revel in the nearby Pacific Fair and Oasis shopping centres. Alternatively, relax in 5 star luxury in the stunning new swimming pool or for a touch of indulgence, a massage. Offering a range of first class entertainment, including a wide range of restaurants, bars and the never ending excitement of the casino, The Star Gold Coast combines world-class facilities and 24-hour entertainment with the luxury of an international hotel. 596 Rooms provide sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean and Gold Coast Hinterland. With so much under the one roof, what will you get up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Star Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Hotel And Casino Gold Coast
Conrad Hotel Jupiters
Conrad Broadbeach
Conrad Jupiters
Broadbeach Conrad
The Star Gold Coast Broadbeach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing