We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and outdated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Star Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Brisbane
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tired and outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Unless you wanted to specifically go to the casino, I wouldn't stay here. Not until after the refurbishment anyway. For the price you pay, you would expect more. The rooms are tired and outdated with wear and tear seen in the walls, furniture and bathroom. The saving grace is the views are great. I would request a higher level room for an interrupted ocean view (high rise apartments everywhere), however I actually loved and preferred the mountain view rooms (I inspected a friends room) especially as the sun set - uninterrupted, gorgeous views of the Gold Coast hinterland.

I was here for a conference and I will comment that the function facilities are also tired and outdated. Work needs to be done on the sound system/PA.

Wait until after the refurbishment. I'm sure the property will be brought back to its former glory.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view room over a ocean view. It is only partial ocean view where as we had uninter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodHami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent M, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Jodeskee

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

We are very committed to offering the highest standards of service and we believe feedback is the most important way to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence and Customer experience.

During your stay we had commenced the first stages of our multi-million dollar refurbishment of our property starting with our pool area once completed this will result in us being able to provide additional world class facilities, allowing us to further exceed our guest expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.



Kind Regards

Trent Martin

Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    645
    327
    131
    98
See reviews for
256
707
69
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have stayed here 3 times in last twelve months at their seasonal "special prices". Very good value which includes sumptuous smorgasbord breakfast. Rooms well appointed and great location, handy to shopping and great restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teevee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent M, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear teevee90

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

It was great to read you enjoyed your time at Jupiters and we had the pleasure of ensuring your stay was very relaxing and comfortable with us.

Thankyou once again for your feedback & We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards

Trent Martin

Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked and stayed here as we wanted to go to Draculas next door for a meal. The room we booked and paid for was when we got there already booked out so for $40 more we could get an upgrade. This room ending up costing me over $300 for the night. It was nothing special just a room and if we did not have tickets booked for our meal I would have walked out

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent M, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Brian H

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Your comments regarding these aspects of your stay have been passed on to the relevant managers for review.

We are very committed to offering the highest standards of service and we believe feedback is the most important way to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence and Customer experience.

Thank you again for providing your feedback.


Kind Regards

Trent Martin

Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

the hotel was over crowded ... must be because of the casino. Rooms not worth the price paid. But the Zen Asian restaurant is a must visit ... Awesome food. The casino is good for a fun night with friends....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelstella2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent M, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Travelstella2014

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent visit to Jupiters .

We are very committed to offering the highest standards of service and we believe feedback is the most important way to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence and Customer experience.

Thank you again for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards

Trent Martin

Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a dump! Avoid this hotel.
We just spent four days in Jupiters. Nothing works, there are no facilities, the pool is a construction site, all the lobby restaurants are closed. The rooms are very dated, grubby and run down. The carpet stick to your feet and many of the light fittings don't work. Service is just awful - the staff simply don't care. We considered moving to another hotel but it just proved too problematic. We certainly will not be going back - ever!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent M, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Marinela55

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Your comments regarding these aspects of your stay have been passed on to the relevant managers for review.

Regarding the level of service you received I will be following up with our team with what occurred at the time of your stay. We pride ourselves on making sure all our guests have a lovely and enjoyable time while staying with us, so it saddens us to hear your experience wasn’t up to standard.

During your stay we had commenced the first stages of our multi-million dollar refurbishment of our property starting with our pool area once completed this will result in us being able to provide additional world class facilities, allowing us to further exceed our guest expectations.

Thank you again for providing your feedback.



Kind Regards

Trent Martin

Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here on a couples weekend and I would never, ever go back! I was looking forward to it as I had never been to Jupiters before and, given the price, I was expecting a lovely, luxury weekend.

Instead, the entire place (common areas and our room - I can't speak for the other rooms) is just as dated on the inside as it looks on the outside - our room was clean but it was extremely average in terms of the decor, and the fittings were all old. This normally wouldn't bother me, but for how expensive it was I was expecting way, WAY better. Even the beds (we had two double beds because we didn't want to have to wait several hours for them to be turned into a king, as was offered at check-in...) were way too soft and not particularly comfortable. By far the worst thing was the noise - we could hear loud music and voices from the bars, restaurants and casino downstairs ALL NIGHT (and we were on the 10th floor!). It was hours before I could get to sleep and then I slept terribly.

If I had to pick a good point, the free self-parking was nice. If you were specifically going to the casino, convention centre or Pacific Fair and weren't concerned about noise or price, this hotel could be a convenient choice. It's also quite close to the beach and to the restaurants, bars and shops at Broadbeach, but there are other MUCH nicer and/or cheaper places to stay that are even closer. I would never stay again, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay more money, I expect. We had a the basic room, which was already very expensive, so I can only i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent M, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear RJBris

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent visit to Jupiters .
It was disappointing to read you did not enjoy your stay and we did not meet your expectations.

I also wish to apologise for the issues surrounding the noise issues you received during your stay. Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant Manager for review.

During your stay we had commenced the first stages of our multi-million dollar refurbishment of our property starting with our pool area once completed this will result in us being able to provide additional world class facilities, allowing us to further exceed our guest expectations.


We firmly believe that all feedback assists us to identify our strengths and weaknesses and ensures our ongoing commitment to a higher level of service excellence going forward.

Thankyou once again for your feedback.



Kind Regards

Trent Martin

Hotel Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Love this place! I spend every New Years here... Unfortunately the prices are jacked up ridiculously expensive nights, but this is expected that time of year. Normally really reasonably priced, lots of places to eat, big rooms, nice and clean... see you again at New Years!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirst_sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trent M, Manager at The Star Gold Coast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear kirst_sonic

Thank you for taking the time to review Jupiters Hotel & Casino.

It was great to read about your many experiences at Jupiters especially over New Years. As I’m sure you are aware it is always a very busy time of year but it’s great to hear that you always enjoy your time with us and have a great experience time and time again.

Thankyou once again for your feedback & We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.



Kind Regards

Trent Martin

Hotel Assistant Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
1.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Gold Coast

Property: The Star Gold Coast
Address: Cnr Gold Coast Highway & TE Peters Drive | Broadbeach Island, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Hotel & Casino Gold Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Star Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 596
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned amongst seven stunning acres of landscaped gardens, Jupiters Hotel & Casino is ideally located on Broadbeach Island, just minutes from the heart of Broadbeach. Discover some of the world's best beaches, only a short stroll or revel in the nearby Pacific Fair and Oasis shopping centres. Alternatively, relax in 5 star luxury with Jupiters' award-winning pool or for a touch of indulgence, a massage. Offering a range of first class entertainment, including a wide range of restaurants, bars and the never ending excitement of the casino, Jupiters combines world-class facilities and 24-hour entertainment with the luxury of an international hotel. 596 Rooms provide sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean and Gold Coast Hinterland. With so much under the one roof, what will you get up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Star Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Hotel And Casino Gold Coast
Conrad Hotel Jupiters
Conrad Broadbeach
Conrad Jupiters
Broadbeach Conrad
The Star Gold Coast Broadbeach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing