We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadbeach Savannah Resort
New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never stay here!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I wrote a letter of complaint about our stay to the Manager, and did not even receive a response. Here is the letter which outlines all the issues, the worst being a smoke alarm that went off continually during the night! $160 down the toilet!

"This is a complaint. Please forward to management. We stayed at your establishment on Friday night 2nd March. Our family was really looking forward to a rest, and a night away, and we were badly disappointed. We had several unpleasant experiences. I have listed them in time order.

Friday afternoon - whilst swimming in the pool with my children, I found a cigarette butt floating past me.

Friday evening - we have 2 children, and despite advising the hotel, we only had 2 bath towels in the room for the whole family. A minor issue, but still frustrating.

Friday night - on going to bed, my husband and I found our windowless, airless room to be stiflingly hot. We couldn't turn the air conditioner up higher as it would have meant our children who were sleeping in the main room, would have been freezing. I finally got to sleep near midnight.

Early Saturday morning - we were woken at 1.30am by the smoke alarm beeping sporadically!!! This went on for quite some time, until eventually it went off "properly" then seemed to stop after a while. This was upsetting for us and the children and extremely annoying. Needless to say, it was a terrible, awful night's sleep.

In the morning, we found a HUGE puddle of water under the air conditioner.

We couldn't use the breakfast bar in the room without re-arranging the lounge room! The bathroom was disgusting. Very smelly and the grout was awful and mouldy. The spa smelled like a sewer

We advised the attendant at the front desk about some of these issues with no apology or interest.

We have returned home exhausted. We have stayed in many hotels and apartments on the Gold Coast and Brisbane and this was by far the worse experience we have ever had.

I hope to hear from you soon advising as to how you can correct this situation and compensate us for what was clearly NOT value for money and a most unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murbahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    66
    84
    52
    103
See reviews for
60
157
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

After reading other reviews we were sceptical but booked anyway.
We asked for a corner room away from the traffic of the Gold Coast Highway and got it thanks to the suggestion from another reviewer.
The room was shabby to say the least. We had to buy bleach from Woolies to get rid of the mould in the bathroom.
The carpet in the kitchen and lounge was well past it's use by date as well as the curtains. Although there was a microwave, there was nowhere to plug it in!
Thankfully we only paid $79 per night on a Wotif deal.
I suggest finding alternative accommodation .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Broadbeach hotels

Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Like a few other reviewers I got the 1 bed apartment on a Wotif.com sale ($79 a night). I was at a conference at the exhibition centre and the hotel is really handily placed - just a short 5 minute walk away. There's also plenty of bars and restaurants nearby

In truth if you hunt around enough then you can get quite a few bargains in Broadbeach. A few of my colleagues were staying in much smarter hotels and only paying a little over $100.

It's easy to be critical of the place - the room does need a bit of an update but it's not too bad and the kitchen area is pretty clean and tidy. The breakfast was pretty woeful (especially considering that the Resort is masquerading as an upmarket hotel), but it was edible. The bath was really narrow and was a bit of a squeeze to get in (and I'm not a fatty)

You can also complain about the highway which drones on outside, but it's obvious from the map that you're going to get that and if your room is high enough up (I was on the 7th floor) it wasn't too unpleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We got a 1 bed apartment on the 6 hour Wotif.com sale last week. The resort (apartment block) is in an excellent location only one block away from the beach and a 5 minute walk to all the Broadbeach restaurants and Jupiters Casino. We had an enjoyable stay but I would have been very disappointed if I had paid full price or it was longer than a one night stay.
The room itself was clean but small and in need of modernisation. The air con was old and noisy and the unit on the balcony was rather rusty. The shower over bath was very small and water pressure not good. The sticker to conserve water by having a 4 minute shower made me laugh as it took a lot longer to rinse my hair with that shower! Like the other reviews of this resort we also noticed a stale smell in the rooms and it was worse in the corridors. The bed was comfortable though and we had a nice view from our balcony. We didn't have breakfast here as there are so many places to choose from in Broadbeach. Car parking I would imagine at busy times could be a problem. The underground parking is very small and it recommends to get there early to secure a space. We did this but then didn't want to take the car out again that evening as we would have lost our space. This was a Sunday night, I would imagine it's much worse peak times.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but we did only pay $79 and spent most of our stay out and about in Broadbeach. Had it been more expensive I would not have been so happy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cairo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I had stayed at Savannah several times when it was part of Breakfree. Booked it for 3 nights with family since it is well located at Broadbeach without checking recent reviews. Big mistake!!! This was never a luxury resort/hotel but now it is just horrible. Onsite parking is a joke (ie don't bother), the rooms are old and threadbare, the air conditioning rusted and wheezed. And they were the high points. Only one lift was working (for a 12 floor, no vacancy hotel). The room while reasonably clean had a horrible smell that got worse over time. Then the cockroach arrived. Needless to say the 3 day stay became an early morning check out after 1 night and a proper hotel booked.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

To say the least, it was unfortunate that we had to stay here. We purchased the booking via a Wotif Mystery Deal and were completely dissatisfied.
- Room had a bad odour
- Lounge chair made us itch
- Bathroom was dirty, mouldy and in need of repair
- Breakfast was disgusting
Save your money, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coming2america
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

3 nights in a studio unit with a King bed found on wotif, clean and tidy, small but ideal for 2 people. The only thing needing to be done is the grouting in the bathroom tiles require cleaning. Excellent swimming pool, good air condition but outside fan old and needs painting.
close ot Broadbeach and other attractions. Great place to stay that does not cost alot. Resturant excellent and a very good price. Recommend and will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tweeddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptune Resort
Neptune Resort
#4 of 35 in Broadbeach
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Broadbeach on the Park
0.2 mi away
Island Beach Resort
Island Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Broadbeach
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#3 of 35 in Broadbeach
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadbeach Savannah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadbeach Savannah Resort

Property: Broadbeach Savannah Resort
Address: Goonamurra 46 Surf Pde, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Savannah)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadbeach Savannah Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Resort is located at the heart of Broadbeach, the cosmopolitan hub of Queensland's fabled Gold Coast. It is perfectly positioned, and within a short walk are the casino, two big shopping centres, the restaurants and cafes of Broadbeach, and not forgetting one of the Gold Coasts most superb stretches of beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Broadbeach Savannah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadbeach Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Resort Broadbeach
Broadbeach Savannah Resort Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing