We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine german home cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Kitchen - CLOSED

Bavarian Kitchen
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Thank you for your patronage. This restaurant in now closed.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Genuine german home cooking”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you like genuine german cooking, go to the bavarian kitchen in broadbeach. Near the fountain opposite the mall stage. Crispy pork knuckle with homemade sourkraut, pork ribs, german sausage with mash, apple struedel.
A great german feel to the restaurant with timber furniture, tablecloths, good service.
The coffee is to die for, home brewed by the owner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnergiftsnthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Have been to this restaurant many times now. It has a large selection food. I particularly like the Haus Teller. The plating was very generous with a wide selection of wonderful top quality meat. In addition to that, the side dishes of roast potatoes and the sour cabbage was absolutely tasty. Highly recommended anyone to come and eat when visiting. You will love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Unbelievably good.....,plus of course the food was delicious and service along with friendly advice on what was what, which when you are unfamiliar with Bavarian food is a must.

Wine list was good and overall the pricing was competitive. Plus it's BYO and fully licensed.

Has to be the best schnitzel I have ever had, even better than the Olive Tree in Melbourne....which I have always thought as the best....

As I said we'll be back again and again..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank wizzaofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BavarianKitchen, Owner at Bavarian Kitchen, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us again last night. We enjoyed your company. Hope to see you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Went on a rainy and miserable gold coast night and think we have found the perfect place to beat the winter chills. The pork knuckle was huge but luckily the taste matched the size. The sides matched it perfectly too. We also ordered the goulash which was the perfect hearty meal. Topped off with some great german beer, apple strudle for dessert and great service from the waiter and bar staff the winter chills were banished.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BrisbaneMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best German food outside of Germany!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I have been to this restaurant four times since they opened and each time the food and service have been outstanding. The owner and his staff are very welcoming and friendly. By far the best tap beer you will find anywhere on the coast. The pork knuckle is titanic and absolutely delicious, I would also recommend the Jäger schnitzel. If you have room in your stomach at the end, the apple strudel and Black Forest cake are the best I have had. After taking my father here, he now eats at no other German restaurant as in his words "I want to keep the memory pure".

I have been to comparable restaurants in Germany and this restaurant is as good as if not better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Kitchen also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing