We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Solid tapas place - decent option for Broadbeach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cuban

The Cuban
Ranked #6 of 267 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cuban Bar and Lounge is a relaxed a sophisticated restaurant / bar which gives you a glimpse into Cuba's golden age of glamour. Great mix of tapas and larger mains full of unique flavours to get the tastebuds going complimented with a wide selection of cocktails, amazing Cuban beer and our extensive rum list. A dining experience not to be missed!
Australia
Level Contributor
1,302 reviews
541 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,236 helpful votes
“Solid tapas place - decent option for Broadbeach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have eaten tapas here on two occasions on girls shopping trips to the Gold Coast. On each occasion the service has been attentive and quick. Smallish selection of tapas but everything we had here was decent quality, without being outstanding. Good drinks menu and I like the fact that you can get some beers here that aren't run of the mill (e.g. Richmond Brewery's Mountain Goat for example). I wouldn't say it's authentic Cuban but it is a good alternative in an area which has a lot of ordinary chain places serving bland food. This is above that as far as I'm concerned. I agree that it is a gem in this area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    157
    40
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I have been excited to go to the cuban for sometime however maybe I had my hopes too high as I felt it was a disappointing experience. On one hand our waiter forgot to place our order and then lied to us that it was on it's way before realising it wasn't and asking us if we'd even made an order. When the food did come (we tried tapas sampler for 2) it was nice but not amazing. In my opinion definitely over priced for the quality but I do admit you're also paying for the atmosphere and location which were delightful. Amazing cocktails however I don't feel they made up for the scattered service and good but not great food

Helpful?
1 Thank babyfish657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went in a group of 6 for dinner midweek (so it was about half full)



Felt like we were hurried to order. Then rushed to eat as they tried to keep taking away plates before we were finished eating.Then as soon as we said no to desert the bill came. Which was incessantly checked on even though we hadn't finished our drinks.

I could under stand this behavior more if they were really busy or close to closing. But this was not the case.


All the tapas came out at once instead of being staggered. That being said the tapas were delicious.

Atmosphere was good with a nicely decorated restaurant a little spoiled by pushy service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roaming
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

paella chicken so dry it wasn't worth eating. flavour of the paella was like it came from a powder packet. so not worth the price.
i wouldn't return. it does have a great central location, so they're guaranteed walk-by traffic.
a couple blocks away i found another restaurant called espana that is a tapas bar that was more authentic, and far better tasting, for around the same price, however it has a very small seating area. the cuban would have much more room for a larger group.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoamingFamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“average food, disinterested staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

i expected more, arrived for my birthday celebration and we were pretty much ignored, ended up leaving after a drink and moving to a much better restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cityescaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCubanBroadbeach, Owner at The Cuban, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review The Cuban and we are extremely sorry for your poor experience. Our staff are usually very attentive with their service so I do sincerely apologize for their disinterest this night. However we are a little confused, in your title you mention average food but in the bulk of your review you mentioned that you left after only a drink and didn't end up eating. If you would like to provide further details please e mail me at info@thecuban.com.au as we do take all reviews very seriously and will use to further train our staff.

Kind Regards

The Cuban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cuban also viewed

 
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Cuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing