We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Furnished upgrade required in rooms”
Review of Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Furnished upgrade required in rooms”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Over the phone, they can't do enough, promise you the room will have a view on a high numbered floor etc. Dissatisfied with ocean glimpse room, outdated furniture and old uncomfortable bed with springs digging into you. No communication on arrival with regard to mid stay clean.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabby3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    74
    19
    15
    7
See reviews for
139
37
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Carmel is a five star luxury apartment building right on the beach front at Broadbeach. The views from the rooms are amazing, the facilities great. The spa in the Gym area is dated but the steam room and indoor pool great for bad weather days.

Short walk t pubs, clubs casino, restaurants and shopping.

The price of the sub penthouses has blown out but the two and three bedrooms are good value. The extra $500 per night for the sub penthouses is not value although we always stayed at level previously,

Room Tip: High floor the better always above level 6>
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GerardvanBalveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We recently stayed at Carmel by the Sea for 11 nights. We were very happy with it.

Not all rooms are as modern as the website depicts, but ours was clean and functional.

The location is fantastic. Across the road from the beach and playgrounds, 2 blocks to the new Oracle development with lots of restaurants etc.

The apartment we were in had very light blinds and faced east, so we were up early from both the light and the heat of the sun. We didn't try the a/c, as the breezes were good, but there was only one unit for the 2 bed apt, so not sure how it would have coped.

The facilities are good. The indoor pool and spa were great when it was a little cool outside.

The main pool area is good and was not crowded.

We were on the 5th floor and the views were good. Happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2bundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Just the most perfect place to stay. We could go back in a heartbeat..... It was way more expensive than what we usually pay but as we were only here for 4 nights we decided to stay as it was recommended to us. We would definitely love to stay again but would not be able to afford a week here. However, everything was amazing ! Just a short work walk to all the shops and restaurants & across the road from the beach which was patrolled.Also a fabulous playground & park opposite if you have children. We loved lying in bed and being able to see the ocean & go to sleep at night listening to the surf.Hubby liked relaxing in the very comfortable lounge and watching the cricket whilst still being able to gaze out at the ocean. We were in a large, extremely spacious one bedroom unit and were easily able to entertain guests for lunch one day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing North have great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee26pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 10th floor with full ocean views and it was fantastic. Rooms were clean facilties were excellent. Could not fault the apartment nor the amenities. Across the road from a patrolled beach. Close to shops and restaurants. Would be better if you had a car (which we did).

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to see over the trees and park to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment on the 8th floor. Had views to the ocean and also the Surfers skyline. Walking distance to Oasis and Pacific Fair Shopping Centres, Kawarra SLSC for a decent meal and Casino, so a great spot. Our apartment was spotless and very spacious. Could live there forever. Facilities on site were excellent. Indoor pool, spa, sauna and steamroom and outdoor pool and tennis court. The pool was a great size and there were always plenty of sun lounges. Don't know about school holidays though!! I would highly recommend this place and will definitely be back..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sammi Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at another nearby apartment, but 2 in-law families stayed in a 3br apartment and they were very happy with this place. We visited on a few occasions and I must say, the BBQ area and the pools, both indoor and out are fantasitic. The view from the balcony is great and I spent a few nights out there with a coldie watching the world go by. This place was really clean and appeared quite new.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ajcjmjnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#5 of 21 in Broadbeach
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Property: Carmel By The Sea
Address: 177 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carmel By The Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel by The Sea is ideally located at 177 Old Burleigh Road in Broadbeach and is directly opposite the iconic golden sands of the Gold Coast’s favourite beach. This highrise apartment building boasts excellent facilities and spacious, modern apartments. The building was designed with views in mind with all apartments enjoying an ocean aspect. From this ideal vantage point, Carmel by the Sea apartments have spectacular views of the ocean and the Hinterland. This resort features comprehensive facilities including not one, but two swimming pools. The sparkling outdoor swimming pool is ideal for lap swimming and has a separate wading pool to entertain children. A large tiled area with sun lounges and umbrellas surrounds the pool area and the BBQ area with hot plates and cooking facilities, tables and chairs is located just adjacent. Beautifully landscaped tropical gardens surround the pool and BBQ area making this area a serene retreat from the hustle and bustle. The indoor heated swimming pool is perfect for all seasons and weather. It is accompanied by a spa, steam room, and sauna creating the perfect place to unwind and relax. For the fitness fanatics there is a fully equipped Gymnasium and a full size Tennis Court. There are also plenty of cycling and walking paths across the road along the stunning Broadbeach beachfront and parklands. Carmel by the Sea apartments are all fully self-contained, individually styled and feature spectacular views. The one, two and three bedroom apartments provide spacious living areas and balconies and all have a large two person in-room spa. All apartments are air conditioned for your comfort and have ceiling fans, opening windows and large private balconies (excluding One bedroom Executive). For the discerning guest looking to enjoy the best there is to offer the suites and sub-penthouses provide even more luxury, space and maximise the beautiful views. Located on the upper levels of the building, these apartments have absolutely spectacular views of the ocean and Hinterland. These luxury apartments feature large modern Kitchens, Laundries, two Bathrooms with separate showers and bath, spacious bedrooms with walk-in robes and large balconies. At Carmel by the Sea all of our apartments have large screen television sets with Foxtel, free Wifi (restrictions apply), hairdryers, full kitchen facilities (e.g. tea and coffee making facilities, full size refrigerators, and dishwashers), and full laundry facilities (e.g. washing machines, clothes driers and ironing board and iron). Our reception staff offer a tour desk facility and are fully equipped to assist you to book many local attractions such as theme parks, cruises and tours. Carmel by the Sea has close proximity to Broadbeach Mall, Oasis Shopping Centre, Kurrawa Surf Club, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, nightclubs and bars. Likewise, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiters Casino and Gold Coast Exhibition and Convention Centre are all within walking distance of our front doors. Extensive parklands fringe the beachfront adjacent to Carmel by The Sea. This provides huge open spaces for picnicking, cycling and walking tracks, children’s playgrounds, BBQs and the weekend Arts & Crafts Markets. The nearby patrolled beaches with flags and lifesavers are perfect for a swim, bodyboard or surf all year round. Broadbeach offers regular and reliable public transport with bus services and the Light Rail system departing from the Gold Coast Highway. Of course if you prefer to drive, each apartment has a designated car space in the secure underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing