We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel By The Sea
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$163
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Broadbeach(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meriton Suites Broadbeach(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Grande Apartments(Broadbeach)(Great Value!)
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gold Coast Inn(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach(Mermaid Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aruba Surf Resort(Broadbeach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
137
76
19
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
76
19
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadbedroom apartmenthuge kitchenindoor poolthe gold coasttennis courtsoasis shopping centrespecialty shopsair conpacific fairliving areahave stayed here several timesamazing ocean viewsshort walkgreat facilitiessub penthouselocation is fantastic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Over the phone, they can't do enough, promise you the room will have a view on a high numbered floor etc. Dissatisfied with ocean glimpse room, outdated furniture and old uncomfortable bed with springs digging into you. No communication on arrival with regard to mid stay clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabby3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Carmel is a five star luxury apartment building right on the beach front at Broadbeach. The views from the rooms are amazing, the facilities great. The spa in the Gym area is dated but the steam room and indoor pool great for bad weather days.

Short walk t pubs, clubs casino, restaurants and shopping.

The price of the sub penthouses has blown out but the two and three bedrooms are good value. The extra $500 per night for the sub penthouses is not value although we always stayed at level previously,

Room Tip: High floor the better always above level 6>
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GerardvanBalveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We recently stayed at Carmel by the Sea for 11 nights. We were very happy with it.

Not all rooms are as modern as the website depicts, but ours was clean and functional.

The location is fantastic. Across the road from the beach and playgrounds, 2 blocks to the new Oracle development with lots of restaurants etc.

The apartment we were in had very light blinds and faced east, so we were up early from both the light and the heat of the sun. We didn't try the a/c, as the breezes were good, but there was only one unit for the 2 bed apt, so not sure how it would have coped.

The facilities are good. The indoor pool and spa were great when it was a little cool outside.

The main pool area is good and was not crowded.

We were on the 5th floor and the views were good. Happily stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2bundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Just the most perfect place to stay. We could go back in a heartbeat..... It was way more expensive than what we usually pay but as we were only here for 4 nights we decided to stay as it was recommended to us. We would definitely love to stay again but would not be able to afford a week here. However, everything was amazing ! Just a short work walk to all the shops and restaurants & across the road from the beach which was patrolled.Also a fabulous playground & park opposite if you have children. We loved lying in bed and being able to see the ocean & go to sleep at night listening to the surf.Hubby liked relaxing in the very comfortable lounge and watching the cricket whilst still being able to gaze out at the ocean. We were in a large, extremely spacious one bedroom unit and were easily able to entertain guests for lunch one day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing North have great views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee26pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 10th floor with full ocean views and it was fantastic. Rooms were clean facilties were excellent. Could not fault the apartment nor the amenities. Across the road from a patrolled beach. Close to shops and restaurants. Would be better if you had a car (which we did).

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to see over the trees and park to the ocean
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews