We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family holiday”
Review of Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel By The Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment the last week of May 2014. We had read reviews and were not disappointed. The location is fantastic for families as it is accross the road from the beach and parks and only a short walk to shops and all of the fantastic restaurants. Rooms were very large, clean and tidy. The only complaint was the bed in parents room was a bit too firm for my liking but we got used to it after a coupleof days. Fantastic facilities. The pool area was very spacious. We checked in aftef hours and I was a bit worried but we had absolutely no problem getting in. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor overlooking the beach and had beautiful morning sun coming onto our balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cenib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at Carmel by the Sea. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that our facilities and apartment met your needs. I apologise that the bed was not to your liking. We have passed the feedback on to the apartment owner and they are looking in to a 'bed topper' to accommodate those amongst us who prefer a softer bed.
I am pleased to hear that you had a streamlined arrival outside of our office hours. The after hours service is very reliable and operates 24 hours.
We would love to welcome you back to Carmel by the Sea. Don't forget to contact us direct to receive your return guest discount. I trust you had a safe trip home and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed 7 nights. 2 adults & 2 children. Great accommodation. Walking distance to beach, public transport, restaurants, speciality shops, supermarket, chemist ect. Well equipped kitchen, clean & comfortable beds, spa bath, nicely appointed 2 bedroom apartment with everything for a family. Excellent views of beach & city. Staff so friendly & welcoming. Nice pool & bbq area, with tennis court. So nice we probably wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: 2 bedroon unit is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houseofjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Carmel by the Sea. It's wonderful that you were able to enjoy 7 days vacation with us and I am pleased our apartment and facilities suited the needs of your family. It is always comforting to be close to pharmacies and doctors when travelling with children and we do find many families appreciate the location of Carmel by the Sea for that reason. With the park and beach directly opposite the resort and shops, restaurants and medical facilities within walking distance all bases are covered!
Please contact our reception directly when you make your next booking to receive your return guest discount. We look forward to welcoming your family back to Carmel by the Sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our family got together for three nights at Carmel by the Sea as a birthday treat for my 70th birthday in a sub-penthouse apartment and it worked a treat. The apartment was huge and very comfortable and despite the fact that there were 6 adults and a baby sharing the space we all enjoyed the experience. We actually used the well-equipped kitchen and each couple was responsible for one dinner each - just like dining out each night. Carmel is convenient to shopping and restaurants, not far from the theme parks and there are two delightful parks opposite for children. The beach is on your doorstep and the views from the 19th floor are wonderful by day and breathtaking by night. The apartment was spotless and the staff friendly and helpful. It was a truly great birthday for me and everyone in my family had a ball too. Best part was that as we are locals we didn't have a long drive home to contend with. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirateGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Carmel by the Sea for your birthday this year. I'm glad you had a good time and yes, for families or any large group we definitely recommend the sub-penthouse apartments as the extra room means everyone has there own space. Your cooking rotation sounds wonderful and the sub-penthouse aspect must have provided a magnificent back drop to your instant restaurant!
Now that you know where we are, whenever you need a short break without the travel time we will gladly welcome you back with a great return guest rate.
We are pleased we contributed to your memorable and happy birthday and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a wonderful Christmas last year at this beautiful hotel. Our apartment was big and spacious with great views to the sea and beyond. We were also near to all the shops. The hotel had indoor pool, outdoor pool, steam room, sauna and spas. As well as BBQ area and tennis courts. We would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Susan. Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay over Christmas. We have such a great location for Summer with the beach and shops only minutes away. Although we do find that most people prefer to use the resort facilities as we have something for everyone!
We hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here on our honeymoon and we where very impressed. First time staying on the Gold Coast and reception where very happy to help us organise things. Great central location and close to Pacfic Fair and Jupiters and also great food spots at the Broadbeach Mall. Units are large and very spacious! All you could need to live very comfortable for a few weeks. All the Foxtel channels was just the cherry on top of a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sideshowrob04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for staying with Carmel by the Sea for your special occasion. I am pleased your first visit to the Gold Coast was pleasant and I hope you and your bride returned home with many happy memories. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future so we can provide you with reminders of your first vacation as husband and wife.
Kind regards, the Carmel by the Sea team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Check in late at 9pm on 28/3 and was no one to help but their after office service are worth a mention. Excellent as the Key to my apartment was on the safe which a password was given to me once verified and they are very kind and helpful. Room are clean and nice which consist of 3 rooms and a spacious kitchen which we spend a lot of cooking time there and conveniently there is a dishwasher which help us most.

We spend 4 days staying there and the scenery was good and the wind was wild in most of the time which make us cosy and enjoying while sipping a cappuccino from the nearby mall in OASIS.

I personally recommend this to all family with small kids like mine that this is a best place to have a family get together and enjoy.

Location is damn good and few mall are just a walking away like Pacific Fair, OASIS just to mention 2 which I hang out most in buying grocery for my sister to cook.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and with all needed utensil in the kitchen. they had dryer and washing machine for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biofresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for staying with Carmel by the Sea.
I am pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Our after hours service is tailored for ease of use and I am pleased that you found it to be noteworthy.
It sounds as though you made the most of the stormy weather. Our spacious apartments are perfect for such occasions as they are fully self contained and are large enough to remain comfortable and enjoy the views of passing storms over the ocean.
Carmel by the Sea is conveniently located within walking distance to all the services you could require including shops, restaurants, doctors, beaches and parks.
We trust you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It was possibly the best ever of our regular trips to these apartments at Broadbeach over the years. One of the big reasons for this response was Tiffany who was on the Reception Desk most of the weekend and bent over backwards to assist in all areas. Not only that, her warm personality and showing interest in her customers set her apart from many previous experiences at various resorts. The two apartments we occupied were very clean, of generous proportion with magnificent views of the water and parkland. Air con as well as fans was most welcome at the humid conditions. Units were very sound-proof. Having an indoor heated pool as well as the extra-large outdoor pool is always welcome as is the gym. Also, a huge plus for especially the older people in our group was the proximity to Oasis Shopping Centre, only a few minutes stroll.
A delight to stay in.

Room Tip: Ensure to ask for a room with S aspect, especially in summer as view is really great down the coast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Annette. Thank you for your lovely review of Carmel by the Sea. Firstly , I am so pleased to hear you appreciated the service provided by Tiffany. She is an asset to the industry and we are fortunate to have her working at Carmel by the Sea. Across the board our staff are very dedicated, which shows in the cleanliness of rooms and maintenance of our beautiful grounds and amenities.
This building has been designed with living conditions in mind. Even when the building is at 100% occupancy, you can't tell if someone is in the apartment next door thanks to the wonderful sound proofing. And our location is second to none as you now know!
Annette we thank you once again for staying and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very appreciative and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Remember to contact our reception for your return guest discount for your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.8 mi away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#12 of 51 in Broadbeach
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#2 of 51 in Broadbeach
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Address: 177 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range: £79 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carmel By The Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel by The Sea is ideally located at 177 Old Burleigh Road in Broadbeach and is directly opposite the iconic golden sands of the Gold Coast’s favourite beach. This highrise apartment building boasts excellent facilities and spacious, modern apartments. The building was designed with views in mind with all apartments enjoying an ocean aspect. From this ideal vantage point, Carmel by the Sea apartments have spectacular views of the ocean and the Hinterland. This resort features comprehensive facilities including not one, but two swimming pools. The sparkling outdoor swimming pool is ideal for lap swimming and has a separate wading pool to entertain children. A large tiled area with sun lounges and umbrellas surrounds the pool area and the BBQ area with hot plates and cooking facilities, tables and chairs is located just adjacent. Beautifully landscaped tropical gardens surround the pool and BBQ area making this area a serene retreat from the hustle and bustle. The indoor heated swimming pool is perfect for all seasons and weather. It is accompanied by a spa, steam room, and sauna creating the perfect place to unwind and relax. For the fitness fanatics there is a fully equipped Gymnasium and a full size Tennis Court. There are also plenty of cycling and walking paths across the road along the stunning Broadbeach beachfront and parklands. Carmel by the Sea apartments are all fully self-contained, individually styled and feature spectacular views. The one, two and three bedroom apartments provide spacious living areas and balconies and all have a large two person in-room spa. All apartments are air conditioned for your comfort and have ceiling fans, opening windows and large private balconies (excluding One bedroom Executive). For the discerning guest looking to enjoy the best there is to offer the suites and sub-penthouses provide even more luxury, space and maximise the beautiful views. Located on the upper levels of the building, these apartments have absolutely spectacular views of the ocean and Hinterland. These luxury apartments feature large modern Kitchens, Laundries, two Bathrooms with separate showers and bath, spacious bedrooms with walk-in robes and large balconies. At Carmel by the Sea all of our apartments have large screen television sets with Foxtel, free Wifi (restrictions apply), hairdryers, full kitchen facilities (e.g. tea and coffee making facilities, full size refrigerators, and dishwashers), and full laundry facilities (e.g. washing machines, clothes driers and ironing board and iron). Our reception staff offer a tour desk facility and are fully equipped to assist you to book many local attractions such as theme parks, cruises and tours. Carmel by the Sea has close proximity to Broadbeach Mall, Oasis Shopping Centre, Kurrawa Surf Club, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, nightclubs and bars. Likewise, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiters Casino and Gold Coast Exhibition and Convention Centre are all within walking distance of our front doors. Extensive parklands fringe the beachfront adjacent to Carmel by The Sea. This provides huge open spaces for picnicking, cycling and walking tracks, children’s playgrounds, BBQs and the weekend Arts & Crafts Markets. The nearby patrolled beaches with flags and lifesavers are perfect for a swim, bodyboard or surf all year round. Broadbeach offers regular and reliable public transport with bus services and the Light Rail system departing from the Gold Coast Highway. Of course if you prefer to drive, each apartment has a designated car space in the secure underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing