We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with everything you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portobello Resort Apartments
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location with everything you need”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My family and I stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed our time. The unit had everything you require and is in a fantastic location close to beach, shops and the casino. God quite a good deal at the last minute and it was the best value we could find

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, much appreciated.

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    27
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
19
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently spent 10 days at the Portobello Apartments, Broadbeach in a 1 bedroom apartment because we received an excellent on-line price. Apartment was very clean & well appointed - no dishwasher but fully equipped laundry incl iron, board & clothes rack. Hair dryer, air con (no heater), furnished balcony & cable channels. All linen & towels are supplied & were changed halfway through our stay. Our apart was on the ground floor at the rear & very quiet. There could be noise from the small pool in summer but pool activity is supposed to cease at 10pm, according to the sign. We found the reception staff to be very pleasant & helpful. The location is great, being just across road from Pacific Fair Shopping Centre with its multitude of supermarkets, shops & cinemas etc. Jupiter's Casino only 10mins walk, as is Broadbeach proper with its many excellent restaurants. Beach & promenade walk about 5 mins walk. We also walked to Putt Putt golf & Sizzlers at Mermaid Beach.
Bus stops nearby with regular services to airport & Surfers etc. Because we weren't sure where we were going, we caught the Shuttle to & from airport but next time will take the far cheaper option of the regular bus. If using the bus, buy a card from the newsagents as it's the most economical way to go (we found the drivers most helpful). There is a secure undercover garage at the Portobello, with a max height of 2m.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdeg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed here with my partner and some friends for one night (though my friends had their own rooms). We were happy with our one-bedroom apartment which had a separate bedroom, bathroom, kitchen space with a big fridge (the fridge itself wasn't very cold but ah well), lounge area (awesome settee!), and a balcony. You can tell that this hotel has been refurbed at some point and is a bit basic but I thought it was pretty nice anyway. The pool and spa looked amazing but due purely to the chilly cloudy weather I didn't personally try it out :)

The hotel isn't far from the beach and is close to a petrol station and a massive shopping centre - this was handy when we got midnight munchies.

Though the whole hotel was clearly booked up with we Foo Fighters fans, it was quiet and sleep quality was really good.

My friends found it a bit unusual that guests are asked to take their own rubbish out to the bins located outside the building, I wasn't too bothered and put this rule down to those pesky November schoolies kids :D

Management seemed quite friendly and approachable. Car park was included with the room.

Overall a nice place to spend a night at the coast! Not sure if the option already exists but I reckon it might be nice to have a late check out option for people who are staying one night - even if there was a small cost attached.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Clean, comfortable and convenient.
I was on the top floor which was very quite with no road noise, everything in the apartment was new and worked well. If climbing stairs is an issue ask for a lower floor.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfella63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Great location for Draculas and Pacific Fair which is why we picked it. Office staff were very friendly and organised and overall the place was great. Lifts would be handy as when you stay on the top floor, lugging your suitcase up numerous flights of stairs is a pain - however they do make it clear that it's a walk-up complex of their website, so we were expecting it. Our only issues were that whilst the rooftop spa was an excellent size and very relaxing - there were a few stray hairs in the tub from previous people! The other issue was the fridge/freezer - the fridge kept things barely cool no matter what setting you had it on and if you wanted COLD drinks, they had to be stored in the freezer (which never got cold enough to freeze things, even if they'd been in there for 2days). We would stay here again and hopefully by then, the fridge has been replaced!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helly1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In regards to the roof top spa, we can assure you that they are cleaned after every departure by our housekeepers. With them being out in the open sometimes the wind can blow leaves and grit into them, so we are sorry you did find that this happened - we are looking at getting covers for them to prevent this from happening. We were not aware that when you stayed with us that you had a problem with the temperature in the fridge/freezer. Next time please let us know and we can advise which setting it should be on as from time to time guests do change the settings and this can make problems like you had with the cooling.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Very comfortable hotel very near to the surfers beach have large bedrooms with full kitchen and excellent rooms and facilities walking distance to bustand,also walking distance to casino and shopping malls

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank csrao57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Anne By the Sea
Santa Anne By the Sea
#16 of 21 in Broadbeach
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Beach Resort
Island Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Broadbeach
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune Resort
Neptune Resort
#7 of 35 in Broadbeach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aruba Beach Resort
Aruba Beach Resort
#16 of 35 in Broadbeach
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Boulevard North Apartments
Boulevard North Apartments
#23 of 35 in Broadbeach
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#3 of 35 in Broadbeach
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Resort Apartments

Property: Portobello Resort Apartments
Address: 2607 Gold Coast Hwy, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portobello Resort Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portobello Resort Apartments is located in the heart of Broadbeach on the beautiful and world famous Gold Coast. Our spacious Mediterranean style 4 storey walk-up holiday apartments are just a few minutes stroll from the pristine white sand of the beach, and only a stone’s throw from world class shopping at the Pacific Fair Shopping Centre and glamorous all night entertainment at Jupiter’s Casino. With an ideal location, great value for money rates and a full range of facilities that includes a heated pool, soothing spa and barbecue facilities, our apartments are perfect for business stopovers, romantic getaways or family holidays. Please note that Portobello Resort is a 4 storey walk-up building (NO LIFTS) and the apartments are all fully self contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Portobello Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Resort Apartments Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing