We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Grande Apartments
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Broadbeach
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We were searching for a low rise apartment and found La Grande through this website. Each apartment has a differnt owner so the state of the apartment will depend on this. The complex is managed by a chap called Lars and you deal with him and his team. We had a three bedroom ocean view but were on the second floor and had a great view of the trees across the road in front of the beach. Old Burleigh Road is not very busy but you do get a bit of traffic noise, don't be lulled into thinking all you get is the sound of crashing waves! The site advertises cable television per room but there was only one television! The balcony doors jammed often and the ensuite bathroom shower door was not working properly. The positives were that it's across the road from the beach and walking distance to shops and and restaurants.. The undercover parking is good and easy to access. The worst part of the complex is that it wraps around another building not part of the complex. This building is on the cheaper end of the accomodation scale. Two nights we were woken from our sleep with drunken screaming, shouting and a fight.. Another night we had drunken singing from one of these units. With so many other buildings in the area, make sure you choose one that is up to date ( La grande is not) and that delivers what it promises. We wont be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dovem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2008

We stayed a week in a top floor Garden view 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment itself was spacious and clean. The main bedroom has a walk in robe and ensuite and a balcony that was shared with another bedroom. The 3rd bedroom had a stunning view of the ocean it was shame there wasnt a balcony facing that way. I was disappointed on arrival that no bin liners were supplied and minimal detergent etc. The toiletries also were of a cheap quality. However the sofa that sat 3 people and the cane chairs for two were so uncomfortable. The apartment slept six so the sixth person sat on the tiled floor! As it was a large apartment I thought it would have more than one TV so every evening we tried to decide which cable TV channel to watch . We stayed at Mantra on Salt KIngscliff in November in a 2 bedroom suite and it had 3 TVs heaven!!! On checking out a couple in front mentioned they thought not having a lift was hard work in their tower block and they thought the apartment needed renovating but still they booked again for next January I dont know why when there are million hotels to choose from. The pool is very small and it was green on one occasion but it was refreshing.The week cost $2000and had to paid in full by December which again I have only ever had to pay a deposit then the balance on arrival. The location is good a short walk to Broadbeach Mall and the restaurants

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

I stayed here with 4 teenagers the week before Christmas and we were very happy with it. We had a 3BR apartment which was very roomy and well furnished. There was a full kitchen plus a laundry which was handy.

However, the third bedroom is right next door to the lounge area and one wall of it is made up with louvred doors. The girls found this a bit annoying, because if someone was still up at night watching the TV or even just talking, they could hear everything in their room and thus was hard to sleep.

The location is excellent right opposite the beach, with a patrolled beach directly in front. Our balcony overlooked the beach and it was very pleasant sitting out there. The Broacheach Mall is only a few minutes walk which gave you plenty of access to shops and a plethora of restaurants.

On arrival we were asked to pay for the entire week upfront which I found to be a bit disconcerting but perhaps this is the norm on the Gold Coast. After asking to see the room first, we were quite happy to do so. Also, in relation to internet costs there was some confusion. We had specifically asked on arrival about internet costs if we were using a local (non-timed) phone number for dial up and were told that was fine. Upon leaving we were given a phone bill for about $50 as compared to the $2 or so we were expecting. The cost was cut in half immediately when we said why and I was happy to pay that, so left it at that, but still don't quite understand why there should have been anything extra given that it was a local call number (somehting to do with 'pulses').

Regardless, we still enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Our family of five stayed here in September 2007 in an ocean view 3 bedroom apartment on the first floor. The apartment was comfortabley spacious, first bedroom twin beds ample cupborad space, 2nd bedroom queenbed ample cupboards and main with king size bed, walk thru dressing area to en suite. There was also a main bathroom with seperate toilet and a small laundry room.

The living area was open plan kitchen /dining /living with a balcony facing the beach. The decor was modern and comfortable, and the aprtment was generally clean but there were a few areas that looked a bit grubby. The floor tiles in our apartment were the same as all the outdoor areas - chunky terracotta, therefore I expect quite difficult to mop. Just looked as though they hadn't been cleaned for some time. Also one of the couches had a white calico removable cover that was covered in stains. Again - it just looked tacky when the rest of the place looked so nice.

The lady on reception was friendly and helpful. We hired boogie boards and towels for $5 each - not the best quailty but easier than bringing them from interstate.

The pool was quite small, but the area was inviting and shaded with palms. There was safe allocated undercover parking. There was no rubbish chute in our building so we had to go down to the basement and across to another building to get rid of our rubbish bags.

Beautiful Broadbeach is just across the road. The surf club is approx 300-500 mtres along. There is also a park with playground just behind the surf club, that has a market (i think) every Sunday. The Oasis shopping centre is across the road from the surf club, so easy to access for shopping and a couple of streets off the beach are heaps of restaurants.All in all the position is great for a family.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 8EDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2007

Beautiful apartment (3br sub penthouse) neat, clean, well appointed and a fabulous location. Across the road from a patrolled beach and 5 mins walk to The Oasis and dozens of cafes, restaurants. Staff were cheerful and helpful. Would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

I booked La Grande because I had walked past it on previous trips to Broadbeach and loved the location and it looks beautiful from the beach. Previous reviews on this website have also been very positive. The location is the best thing about the hotel. It is directly across the road from the beach with a pedestrian crossing right outside the hotel. The road is fairly quiet but the crossing is very handy. It is also an easy walk to restaurants and cafes. We also found management to be very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were a good size. The living area is huge. The kitchen is a little on the small side but very well equipped. The pool area is beautiful and has some good shady spots. The pool is not huge but it is very nice.

We were very disappointed that the air-conditioner in our room did not work. Management organized a pedestal fan for us which arrived promptly, however it is very disappointing to pay almost $300 per night for a room and have no air-conditioning.

The windows and doors do not have fly screens on them. Also, the windows next to the lifts are often left open which lets a lot of moths into the apartments. There were a number of large moths in our apartment . The carpets also needed a good clean.

We had an ocean view room however as we were on a lower level the ocean view was through the trees. If you want a good ocean view make sure you ask for a higher level.

There was a lift from the carpark to our apartment however I did see stairwells to a couple of other buildings in the complex. There are four buildings in the complex.

The complex also has numerous small flights of stairs making it a little difficult to get around if you have a pram.

Overall I thought La Grande was average/good for the star rating but the air conditioning not working at almost $300pn is not easily forgiven.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kangalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Family of four stayed 6 nights in 2 bed 2 bath top floor apartment. Was 'garden view' but we did have a small ocean view out bedroom windows. Beach right across the road, and around the corner from Broadbeach shops - great location. Apartment and surrounds were very clean, pool was lovely, gym equipment a bit tired. Management friendly and helpful. Fridge very noisy (a common problem it seems in many hotels and apartments). No lift so four flights of stairs up from underground carpark - a bit of a struggle with lots of luggage on a hot day. Overall a very nice, well run complex in excellent location. Good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FordPrefect2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.2 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
0.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#5 of 7 in Broadbeach
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Apartments

Address: 126 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range: £86 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Apartments located in stunning Broadbeach. Enjoy prime beachfront location, spacious air conditioned 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with either ocean side or garden outlooks. Lush tropical gardens fringe the medium / low rise apartment complex which includes a pristine salt water swimming pool, fully equipped gym and indoor spa and sauna. Walk to restaurants, Jupiters Casino and Convention centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your La Grande Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Luxury Apartments Hotel Broadbeach
La Grande Luxury Apartments Broadbeach
La Grande Apartments Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing