We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Grande Apartments
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Broadbeach
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed here for a week with 2 teenagers and wow was i pleasantly surprised. I had read other reviews, both good and bad, and checked in with an open mind. Our 2 bedroom apartment was HUGE (and we travel a lot- have experienced the good,the bad and the very ugly!), The sofas were massive and extremely comfy-no cane furniture in sight! We had an upper level, ocean view apartment and i could not fault the view, balcony or apartment layout. 2 bathrooms is a must when u have 2 teenage girls! I was very happy with the lift too, no struggling with bags up stairs. If i was being very picky, i would note the following - the windows and glass sliding doors leading onto the balcony could do with a clean. There was a very large step up into the ensuite shower/bath - did not worry us at all, but would advise that an elderly/disabled person or someone with limited mobility would find this very difficult. Yes the pool is small compared to other places, but we were there out of school hols and 99% of the time were the only ones in it, however i can see that in peak times it would be very crowded. The location is brilliant and i loved the ceiling fans in every room. I am not a fan of slat beds and ours wasnt the best ive ever slept in, but as i said i am being picky. I thought overall this property was great value for money and i would definately stay here again.......beware though that each apartment is individually owned and furnished, and what is fantastic for some may disappoint others. We will be requesting the same apartment next time, just to be sure!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sweetcheeks800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2008

Our family of seven stayed in a 3br garden view sub-penthouse. The location was great across the road from the beach and walking distance to Broadbeach Mall. The apartment room 27 was on the 3rd floor with four balconies, two which had beach views. The apartment was modern and very clean with lots of room four our family. The only downside was the construction going on behind us, knocking down of a hotel which gave us another beautiful view of the beach from our bedroom. I would recommend this place to everyone, we enjoyed our week and will definately be back. The pool was great for the kids they got to swim everyday we were there and the gardens were beautiful.We did hire a car whilst we were there, but did do alot of walking as everything was close by.

2  Thank natcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Although the location is great, we found the expierience here to be quite frankly our worst experience in holiday accomodation.
We arrived on day one and were isused keys to a third floor apartment to find the view very limited and next to a construction site (2 metres from bedroom windows), not a relaxing holiday that we had planned for the family.
This should have been communicated to us when booking and wasn't, and onbly to be told that they didn't know this was taking place?
We asked to be moved to another unit and we moved to level 1. The unit had no pay TV, and the toilet leaked. The attaitude of the management here astounded me. They refused to acknowledge the issues we had encountered and advised us that we were lucky to have been able to moved to another unit but we couldn't move again unless we were to pay more. Will never return.
Looked at a couple of other units nearby for our next holiday on the Gold Coast, and found others nearby to be much more appropriate for young families, the units and facilities far superior to this complex.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank loveholidays10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We've just got back from our second stay in apartment 56 (2 b/r, 5th floor, ocean view) at LaGrande. Stayed 12 nights and still loved it; wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others but have to say that this year the pool was freezing; same time last year our kids lived in it but I understand the summer's been a bit unsettled. The pool's not heated until the winter which is a shame.
The huge disappointment was the start of demolition of 2 low rise buildings next door (north of LG on Broadbeach Blvd) - the buyers have put in plans for a 20 storey building which is such a shame. We worked out that we would have lost the sun in our north facing apartment by 11am and that the view of the sea from our bed will be a distant memory this time next year! Consequently we're looking at other options for next year.
I have to say that the decor is starting to look a bit tired; we had a look in the 3 b/r sub penthouse (number 38) while we were there; this is a GREAT size apartment, on 2 levels with the upstairs being a huge b/r with bathroom and walkin robe, great for a family with grandparents BUT it really does need some sprucing up.
BUT...... you still can't beat the location - fabulous... we would definitely have gone back if not for the potential high-rise next door.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukkird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SucMat, PR Coordinator at La Grande Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2009

Please be advised that the development site next door to La Grande has indefinately been put on hold. When dates are advised of construction recommencing we weill update Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

My husband, son and his fiance, and I stayed in a 2 BR beachfront apartment for a week. Excellent location, we had a view of the sea from our lounge and balcony which was great. The apartment rooms were large, clean and well appointed. We thought the facilities were excellent, and it was great to be able to walk to cafes and restaurants so closeby.
Highly recommend these apartments, we thoroughly enjoyed being able to walk across the road and straight onto the beach. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elsie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We were searching for a low rise apartment and found La Grande through this website. Each apartment has a differnt owner so the state of the apartment will depend on this. The complex is managed by a chap called Lars and you deal with him and his team. We had a three bedroom ocean view but were on the second floor and had a great view of the trees across the road in front of the beach. Old Burleigh Road is not very busy but you do get a bit of traffic noise, don't be lulled into thinking all you get is the sound of crashing waves! The site advertises cable television per room but there was only one television! The balcony doors jammed often and the ensuite bathroom shower door was not working properly. The positives were that it's across the road from the beach and walking distance to shops and and restaurants.. The undercover parking is good and easy to access. The worst part of the complex is that it wraps around another building not part of the complex. This building is on the cheaper end of the accomodation scale. Two nights we were woken from our sleep with drunken screaming, shouting and a fight.. Another night we had drunken singing from one of these units. With so many other buildings in the area, make sure you choose one that is up to date ( La grande is not) and that delivers what it promises. We wont be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dovem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We stayed a week in a top floor Garden view 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment itself was spacious and clean. The main bedroom has a walk in robe and ensuite and a balcony that was shared with another bedroom. The 3rd bedroom had a stunning view of the ocean it was shame there wasnt a balcony facing that way. I was disappointed on arrival that no bin liners were supplied and minimal detergent etc. The toiletries also were of a cheap quality. However the sofa that sat 3 people and the cane chairs for two were so uncomfortable. The apartment slept six so the sixth person sat on the tiled floor! As it was a large apartment I thought it would have more than one TV so every evening we tried to decide which cable TV channel to watch . We stayed at Mantra on Salt KIngscliff in November in a 2 bedroom suite and it had 3 TVs heaven!!! On checking out a couple in front mentioned they thought not having a lift was hard work in their tower block and they thought the apartment needed renovating but still they booked again for next January I dont know why when there are million hotels to choose from. The pool is very small and it was green on one occasion but it was refreshing.The week cost $2000and had to paid in full by December which again I have only ever had to pay a deposit then the balance on arrival. The location is good a short walk to Broadbeach Mall and the restaurants

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.5 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#6 of 7 in Broadbeach
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Apartments

Address: 126 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range: £86 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Grande Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Apartments located in stunning Broadbeach. Enjoy prime beachfront location, spacious air conditioned 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with either ocean side or garden outlooks. Lush tropical gardens fringe the medium / low rise apartment complex which includes a pristine salt water swimming pool, fully equipped gym and indoor spa and sauna. Walk to restaurants, Jupiters Casino and Convention centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Grande Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Luxury Apartments Hotel Broadbeach
La Grande Luxury Apartments Broadbeach
La Grande Apartments Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing