We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

The Aztec Broadbeach
Ranked #127 of 277 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dine alfresco in the Mall with all the authentic mexican favourites, $5 taco bar, $8.95 margaritas, great value family dining in a lively and colourful themed mexican restaurant. $10 lunch specials every day. Gluten Free, vegetarian options. Huge menu with a great choice of beef,chicken, vegetarian and seafood options. Open 7 days for lunch and dinner.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Wow love it. Been here before. Luv the beef. Luv the flavours. Luv the restaurant. What more can I say

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    30
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing over priced Mexican.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Would not return, I am a huge Mexican fan & thought I would try this place out. $29.95 for a tiny soggy chicken taco dripping in oil, a terrible tasteless also tiny chicken enchilada & a small bowl of chilli. The chilli tasted like it was out of a can, and the chicken in the taco and enchilada was so disgusting after a few bites I could not bear to eat anymore. I got this meal take away and it would not be an understatement to say it's probably the worst Mexican I have had, flavourless, watery, the chicken was dry and cold. Would not return or recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Newzealandgirlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle D, Owner at The Aztec Broadbeach, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear New Zealand Girl - thank you for your review - however the problem with this takeaway and price you have quoted was via a delivery service on the Gold Coast (which has their price margin added onto our cost) and was out of our control, obviously the meal has travelled (tacos do not travel well as takeaway), and by the time you received it (probably after quite a well as it is holiday's on the Coast) it was not nice. For this we apologise as we always put a time on the takeaway lid and perhaps you should check this to see when you actually received it as to why it was not pleasant. We pride ourselves on great food and are disappointed you were not happy, please call the delivery Company and let them know as we cannot control how long they take to deliver the meals unfortunately. Thanks Michelle D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Forget the rest, this is the best!!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Food was fantastic, very child friendly, amazzzzzzzzzzzing mai tai cocktails!!, great service that was personable and professional, was great to see a great cocktail maker attending to just that domain, and the food was fast. Packed house on a Tuesday night - great atmosphere. I have been in hospitality for 25 years, read the reviews prior to attending and thought I would check it out for my self....thank god I did, it was great.... highly recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst "Mexican" ever”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Was on holiday with my partner and we chose this place for dinner on a Friday night. Should have known better - the restaurant was pretty empty, only about 3 other tables occupied. We ordered a glass of sangria, a beef starter (can't remember what they named it) and chicken fajitas. The sangria was boring- no sliced fruit, no sparkle and chunks of fruit skin (grapes?) in the last third of the drink. The beef starter was more like beef mush for babies, no identifiable meat - it was like eating beef paste. The chicken fajitas was the worst ever hands down. Covered in a watery mild sauce (perhaps swimming in is a better description) and it tasted like something Italian!! The "salad" extras to fill were pretty slim, just some shredded lettuce, watery salsa and sour cream. No spice, no kick, no trace of Mexican flavors to be honest. It seriously needed some coriander, onion, lime, corn salsa, and you know- Mexican ingredients! Complained to our waitress (who actually was nice), and she apologized and told me two things: 1) "they use an enchilada sauce for the fajitas". Um, sorry not good- how about you keep that for the enchiladas and use a chef made fajita mix?!
2) "she'll give me 25% off the bill."
Paid just over $50 for the worst meal ever, shouldn't have even paid that. Got home, looked at the receipt and the discount was $6.80 off a $61 bill. That's not 25%!!!

Didn't even want to go back because it's not worth it. Don't go there if you're a fan of Mexican food. It's not good. I know, we eat out at many Mexican places on our travels including Mexico country itself.

Helpful?
2 Thank natedizzle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Big meals, great taste, bit expensive for Mexican. Service was ok, bit of attitude, food took a long time to come out. It was not busy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LOwen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Aztec Broadbeach also viewed

 
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to The Aztec Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing