We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its finest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Couran Cove Island Resort
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staying on South Stradbroke Island at Couran Cove Resort was a great experience. The natural wonders of the island are on display for all to enjoy. We were treated to sights of dolphins and humpback whales from the dunes on the ocean side of the island. Wandering along the many tracks from the resort we saw all kinds of native and migrating birds, several types of wallabies and a lace monitor lizard. Sadly the dining facilities were meagre, only the Spa Island eatery was open during our stay. Would have liked to try out the fine-dining restaurant, but it was closed during our stay. The room overlooking the lagoon was a great place to watch various water-birds, fish and turtles swimming below our room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdatny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Many years ago I was a regular visitor to couran cove so was unsure how it would be since closing and re opening.
It was as I remember it...beautiful, relaxing, calm.
Not everything is operating as it used to but it's running very well with some changes.
We stayed in a 2 bed waterfront villa which was lovely except for our 2nd night when some noisy boaties showed they're total disregard for others by blasting music until all hours!!
Other than that our stay was great. Get coffee from the cafe near the pools - the lady there is great fun and makes coffee with 'love'!
I thought the food was good abd reasonably priced but would pack my own next time so I could relax on the villa verandah. Breakfast at The Restaurant was yummy...avocado bruschetta recommended.
Bike rides, rainforest walks, wine by the pool and swimming - perfect relaxing long weekend.
Go prepared to stop and relax and you'll have a great time! Patchy mobile reception was welcomed :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank bottega s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location but completely undermined by substandard facilities and services.
No extra bedding provided for king size bed. The blanket / duvet provided was tucked between two sheets and single bed size.
Wine glasses, cups and mugs were gross. What's the first thing you do with your free bottle of wine..?! Everything looked it had simply been put back in the cupboard. Yuck!
Bathroom is old, nice marble but stained and grimy.
Swipe card for room didn't work.. twice... and it was raining.
Vouchers for breakfast became a buffet when we turned up. Couldn't even spend up to the amount offered on voucher.
The coffees we ordered with buffet breakfast came out completely wrong and late because she forgot.
Bicycles cost $30 each per day.
Half the stuff on the map is shut, doesn't exist, not to be re-opened.
Anything that is open is old, rusted, broken, has bits missing. Honestly, really poor form.
The sad thing is that if our expectations had been managed from the start we probably wouldn't feel so unhappy about our experience and wouldn't have taken the time to write a review!
We used groupon vouchers and felt ripped off. Heaven help you if you pay full price!

Room Tip: Nice to be over water. Lots of fish jumping out all the time. Other couples we spoke too complained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brisbane_4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

It was an awesome get away. Beach was fantastic however it is quite a trek. Plenty of activities around the resort and lots of bikes for hire. The staff were very welcoming and always had a happy face. Overall awesome stay for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lathaam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We came her as part of a SeaWorld Day Cruise, and found it to be just, boring. It looks a lot nice in the brochures that it was when we got there. It was rainy while we were there, and as much of the activities were outside there was little to do. The pools were not heated as we expected so we couldn't go swimming. Even the food and beverage manager seemed at a loss of what to suggest. the highlight however was the lunch, it was cooked perfectly, though the lady who served us seemed to think yelling was an appropriate was to interact with her guests. I would not recommend this "resort" to anybody and will not return

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naths1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were 1 of 3 couples that spent a night at the resort celebrating a 60th birthday. The rooms were purchased on a group-on voucher and included the ferry & breakfast in the pricing. We went over on the 12.30 ferry which was a lovely start to the get away followed by a flawless check process. The rooms were standard but the setting around the lagoon is the magical part of the room. We were looking for a light lunch as we had dinner reservations for that evening once the remainder of the party arrived on the 6.30pm ferry. We found our way to the Spa Island poolside cafe where we had the most wonderful lunch, not small but very well priced for the massive lunch that arrived on our table. We walked away the afternoon going all the way down to the surf beach. Dinner that night in the restaurant was a very high standard of food. A small menu but the food was perfect.We had breakfast the next morning via our vouchers in the main dining room and although the food was of a very high standard (one of the best breakfast's I have ever eaten in a restaurant) there was incident that could have been handled better by staff. We are a very amicable family & laughed it off but had it been another type of people at that table the incident could have been quite ugly. There didn't seem to be a restaurant manager or any type of duty manager that could handle the incident which could have made a difference. Overall the we had a great overnight stay and family celebration in a magical location that was marred by an incident that was handled unprofessionally.

Room Tip: Bok rooms that are over the water facing onto Spa Island .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEOCouran, CEO at Couran Cove Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Millikid,

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you and your friends had an enjoyable stay, the weather has certainly been very kind to us lately considering we are in Winter. I would like to discuss the incident you mentioned in more detail, could you please contact me at jm@courancove.com.au

Kind Regards,

John Muntz
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We planned a lovely weekend away for our wedding anniversary, to stay overnight at the much acclaimed Ramada Couran Cove Resort. Our expectations on just about every level were not met. The check-in process was the start. A lot of waiting around for the staff member to figure out what to do and our pre-paid breakfast vouchers were not ready. Our room was a hike away from the resort itself. The card insert type key did not work - until several attempts each time were made. No instructions on the resort faciities, beach towels, basic information. No hot water! Had to call to that fixed too! The meal we wanted "wasn't avaiable unless you pre-order". How were we supposed to know that? And breakfast!! Disputed my pre-paid vouchers for a hot breakfast not continental!!! What a debarcle...won't be going back in a hurry!!!

Room Tip: Check when booking, where your room is!! Check when booking on your pre-paid vouchers! Hope to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SonjaW0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Stradbroke Island
10.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
10 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,114 reviews
13.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Hope Harbour
Ramada Hotel Hope Harbour
#2 of 3 in Hope Island
216 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couran Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couran Cove Island Resort

Address: 4216 Gold Coast | Gold Coast, Gold Coast, South Stradbroke Island, Queensland 4216, Australia (Formerly Ramada Couran Cove Island Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > South Stradbroke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in South Stradbroke Island
Price Range: £84 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Couran Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of our bestsellers on the Gold Coast! Located on idyllic South Stradbroke Island and on the water's edge surrounded by beaches and natural forest, Couran Cove Island Resort offers a truly unique experience for the entire family. All accommodation offers a balcony with views, a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen TV. En suite bathrooms include a hairdryer, iron and ironing board and free toiletries. Guests can enjoy a vast array of recreational facilities including a large lap pool, children's pool and playground, fitness centre, beach volleyball, basketball, tennis and mini-golf as well as a fun family activities program and new inflatable water toys including kayaks, stand-up paddleboards, trampolines and water slides in the lagoon. The extended boardwalk is where you can explore the tropical gardens and treehouse between the surf beach and the marina, and you can also pick up your supply of groceries at the general store. The on-site café, tavern and restaurants continue to receive very high praise from guests. The Portside Cafe and Marlin Bar overlooking the marina are popular spaces for relaxation and refreshment - great spaces to start and finish a fulfilling day of fun. The Poolside Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Ferries operate regularly to Couran Cove Island Resort - it's an experience not to be missed just minutes from the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Couran Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couran Cove Island Resort South Stradbroke Island, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing