We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for friends”
Review of Castillo Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caleta de Fuste
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castillo Mar
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Spent two weeks here from 29th February with a friend after booking through Owners Direct. We were particularly attracted to it as we do not share a bedroom and the lounge area in most one bedroom apartments have uncomfortable sofas and I worry about waking them during nocturnal toilet visits. Here the sofas in most apartments become double beds and there is a toilet downstairs as well as the bathroom upstairs by the bedroom.

The positives - our apartment had a partial sea view from the balcony off the bedroom, it was clean, well equipped and the beds were comfortable. There are plenty of sun beds around the pool. The blue ones in the pool area were older but still in good condition and the new yellow ones on the terrace had a whole range of seating options. The complex is within an easy walk to the sea and all the shops and restaurants.

The negatives - the view from the patio was of the external complex wall and there was a phone box on the other side so people spent time stood there. Just a bit disconcerting when you are eating your breakfast, but that is probably a personal thing. We ate when possible on the upstairs balcony for that reason but then you had to tackle the stairs with things in your hands. They are tile stairs with a very tight bend in them, not ideal for anyone with even the slightest mobility issue, if you have big feet, when carrying things or after a drink or two. I found that starting with my right foot on the first stair made it easier but I am sure that there were other ways. There was little progress on the work that has been going on around the pool/bar area so that remains taped off but we did have drilling under the terrace (?pump area) for the last couple of days.

All in all I would recommend this complex and plan to go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gablegirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Apartments are ok , could be doing with a tidy up. Pool area is a bit run down. The biggest issue here is a lot of owners have cats. I counted 5 of them all coming to pay us a visit. I had to shoo them off. As we are not keen on cats we never stayed one night. We had to book into hotel. We probably should have asked before we booked. So if you are not a cat lover don't book.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BGKKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

have just returned from a week in this accomodation. they are well equipped with everything you need including a coffee machine in ours. they are still doing works to the pool bar area and the water was turned off on two days and there was some building noise but this did not go on too long. the only criticism we had in our apartment was the plastic glasses. who wants to drink a glass of wine out of plastic. fortunateley we found two glass ones at the back of a cupboard. we booked thro fuerteventura rentals and everything went smootly. we had to ring ahead when leaving the airport and Terry met us in reception and took us to the apt. he explained what all the keys were for and told us to contact him if we had any problems as he lived on the complex. we kept the apt until 15.30 on departure day and Terry was on time to collect they keys and check how the holiday had been.

Room Tip: dont go for front line as there is some noise from the road and a few late night revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HalesowenStel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

stayed at this terrible complex from 13th-20th november .
this apartment block is very old and looks it. lots of the apartments are up for
sale in a poor state of repair. my guess is the ones sold went very cheap and
owners tryng to cash in on unwitting tourists like myself. some of the apartment also look like they are being
rented out to local people on benifits! going to the shop to get their beer 1
can at a time to get them through the day.
whilst i was their a lot of workmen where there making lots of noise and mess
but who knows what was actually being achieved? i couldnt see anything being
done!
to my actual apartment, again very tired looking in need of complete overhaul.
poorly plumbing meant every flush of the toilet leaking not only outside the
back door but in by the kitchen sink cupboard! this did however result in some
very pleased cockroaches!!!! i couldn't wait to get up in the morning or back in
the evening to see how many i could count! now i am not a lover of these little
bleeders so resulted in using 6 cans of spray costing approx 30euro to keep down
the levels. local agent couldn't give a damn when i explained situation, in fact
i felt sorry for her as she was only acting for the owner..all in
all don't go here whatever you do..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank brennight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

we have just come back from castillo mar what a lovely complex and appartment so close to everything you could want beach just across the road abd lovely coastal path to walk your meals off restaurants close by gorys, aberdeen,casa nostra ,hong kong all do very good 3 course meals for 7 to 8 euros or stay in with take away and wine appartment has everything you could want nice sun terrace and pool love the balcony very private ,out and about bus service good take trip to puerto del rosario nice shopping centre and harbour and places to eat lots of things to do try cool runnings trike trips

Room Tip: take bus no 3 to caleta du fuste from airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank tarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We normally book all inclusive but thought we would try renting an apartment privately this time and go self catering. Well what can I say, we had a fabulous, chilled out time at Castillo Mar. Stayed in number 21 and really happy with the accommodation. Kitchen had a fridge freezer as well as microwave and hob and all the utensils you need. Lovely clean bathroom and downstairs toilet. Had a rear yard with washing machine, washing line and small bbq as well as the balcony upstairs and patio furniture to front of the apartment. No air con but fan downstairs and in the bedroom. Large bottles of water delivered to the apartments on a Wednesday or Thursday for 2 euros. Also had a lovely neighbour Ron who is there until the end of June. Only thing boyfriend wasn't happy about was not being able to get ITV on the telly for the rugby but managed to find S4C in the end. Pool area was great, plenty of sunbeds and there was actually room to swim in the pool.

Had meal out every night Chinese, Indian, Steakhouse and two meals at the Trafalgar which were very nice. ATM and a fab little supermarket nearby and Peroni was only 80c a bottle. Took a walk down to Atlantico centre, beach there is amazing.

Enjoyed our week away so much we are looking to return again in a few months time. Thank you Rosemary for letting us stay in your lovely apartment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jaynebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We recently stayed in number 81 Castillo mar and were thrilled with it! Our holiday was tremendous value only €250 each for the week, flights and accommodation! This small apartment complex is perfect for those looking for a relaxing break with your own space. Our duplex apartment had a front patio, back yard (with washing machine, clothes line, BBQ and patio furniture) and an upstairs balcony! All sun traps at various times of the day. There was a well equipped kitchen and sat tv. In terms of accommodation there was a open plan sitting room with kitchen and air conditioning, there was a toilet off this. Up a winding stairs was a bathroom and a double bedroom. The bath and shower could do with updating but are adequate. The pool was lovely, with no towels out early morning! In summary don't expect four star accomadation but this is a really great family place! Thanks to Robert and Cathy our property managers who were wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank liverpoolfan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Mar

Address: Zurgena 8, 04738, 35509 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Hotel Class:3 star — Castillo Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Castillo Mar Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Castillo Mar Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing