We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the windy city all the way uphill”
Review of Castillo Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castillo Beach
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the windy city all the way uphill”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we have just returned from a week here in the 'Park' section of the complex. It was extremely windy 24 hours x 7 days therefore we could not sit outside the bungalow at all. If they had walls at either side instead of only one side, then this would provide a bit of shelter.
The bungalows are very tired and dated, towels are paper thin and have holes.
Bedding was not changed during the week as it was supposed to have been, bed covers and sofa covers need replacing, as do the tired mattresses.
The complex itself is up a very steep hill and about 15 - 20 minutes walk down to the main area.
We had paid for half board but the evening meal on the first night was disgusting and a poor excuse for dinner. Dessert was an apple/orange/pear! Needless to say, we had to eat out every other night. Dinner was 8pm - 10pm at night and when I complained at reception that we could not eat that late, we were told to speak to our tour operator. Breakfast was something else, scrambled egg had been made hours before, I think by the look of it with fatty cold bacon.
Therefore we had cereal every morning and toast (which had only been shown a toaster).
Week's holiday cost us lot more than it should have, so do not book b & B or half board here!

Room Tip: Apparently 'Lake' section better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    277
    278
    130
    168
See reviews for
218
485
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A lovely complex, very pretty pool and gardens. Our bungalow was poolside and was well fitted. The kitchen was fully fitted with everything you could need. We were there for two months this winter and had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room, with a new settee. The rooms are graded so the more you pay the better the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have just come back from these apartments the beds were terrible and the towels were like paper.
On the plus side plenty of hot water and staff helpful.No good for the elderly but thank goodness the little train was running.This places lacks a small supermarket

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PazoDoRio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Castillo Beach, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Client,

We are sorry to hear about your problem with the bed and towels, please next time speak with us in reception because we work with an external laundry. Just to inform for the rest of the clients, that we have a little market in reception for the arrivals, but there is o big one at just 250m (4 min) in the next two roads.

https://www.google.es/maps/dir/28.3980873,-13.8686806/Calle+Peatonal+Orchilla,+35610+Castillo+Caleta+de+Fuste,+Las+Palmas/@28.3983612,-13.8699338,356m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m8!4m7!1m0!1m5!1m1!1s0xc47c0e0f7035d9f:0xbd47dae7f15fae09!2m2!1d-13.8711248!2d28.3986304

As all the clients, sorry for the incovenience, we try to give you the best price for next time if you contact us in:recepcion@castillobeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Like others we went on a Getaway from Interval International at £232 each week in first 2 weeks of March. NIce to see some have been on bargain breaks at much less than £100 per week! Like others we thought that we were staying at Becello Castillo Beach Resort as that is all that comes up when you Google & the agent at II gave us no web address to look at.
Initial comment is that after taking the trouble to email the resort about location of unit and asking for one with a sunny outlook we were told "Now, I can confirm that you have a one bedroom apartment, this apartment is max for 4 adults, all are the same in size, but we have several apartments with new sofas, so I will try to give you one near pool, sunny and with balcony and also with a new sofa, more comfortable for 4 adults." We were given one as far away from the pool as you can get facing north so that the sun had gone off the patio by 10.30 a.m. Also there is NO WAY these are suitable for 4 adults. But the resort was 80% empty & we hardly saw anybody for 2/3 days. Get the idea then read on for more dreary details or else save your time now & don't bother to book!
So, on arrival reception gave us the cold shoulder when we mentioned Barcello, just as others have said. They had only got us booked in as 2 people so we had to return for extra towels & bedding - offered to us rather truculantly. Indeed attitudes at Reception bugged us all week with their shrugs, disinterest, etc. None of them would get a job at Diamond Resorts International - our home club, Indeed this is the issue as we are used to 4* resorts and this is only 2* so why II recommended it to us is beyond me.
The units (in Lake section) are nowhere near good enough for 4 people as our photo of the second so called "double" shows. We only found out just before coming home that the pull out truckle bed type thingy actually has legs to raise it up! But as there is no info on ANYTHING in the units & got no help at reception we didn't know! Also no remote for the TV but as there were no English speaking channels we didn't bother to enquire. But apparently with a remote you can access other channels - but again absolutely no info. Other reception faults - told us cleaning lady comes 3 or 4 times a week, but note by the bed says EVERY day & put towels in the bathtub when you want to replace. We did this on our first Wednesday but guess what, that's the only day they don't come so it was either use old dumped towels or ask reception for more. Got a frosty response when I did & was told that I was told they don't come every day but when shown the info paper couldn't come up with a response. Towels reluctantly found eventually. Also was told wi-fi only available in reception but it can be obtained outside the (closed) Tropical bar. Also told on arrival the Tropical Bar was closed but NOT told there was a restaurant elsewhere on the complex - only found out on the 11th day! Other inconsistencies include having a clothes airer but no pegs for the clothes on it so in the strong Fuereventura wind they get blown away; there is a heat resistant mat for putting hot items from the oven or microwave onto the table but there is no oven glove to avoid burning your hands on the same hot items.
I could go on and on. If you want a cheap place to stay that REALLY is a good half hour walk to the beach AND 45 minutes back up the steepish hill then OK. But if you want a bit of quality do not bother.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

You need to be aware of the name of the complex/complexes, as shown by the fact that some of the reviews in this section do not relate to this group of complexes which is located up 'Chipmunk Mountain' - although the chipmunks have evidentally got fed up and moved to the coast! Even on this complex there are various areas with separate names. We were due to stay at Castillo Beach Park but found ourselves moved to Castillo Beach Vistas.

This group of complexes can be found by keeping left from the bottom of the footpath which starts north of the bus terminus and is actually easier to walk to (unless you have walking difficulties) than you might imagine from its hilly position. From the bus stop there is frequent access to the airport. There is a free weekly bus to Rosario although Reception denies it - you might wish to enquire at other complex reception areas for details!

The bungalows in the different areas are not the same and in fact many of the features/equipment that our agent advertised were not present in our allocated bungalow and we had great difficulty in persuading Reception to provide that for which we had paid. Not all equipment could be provided because our bungalow was not fitted with the advertised oven - we were provided with a microwave instead!. That we had not been allocated what we had paid for what was eventually acknowledged by the booking agent. Because some of the equipment was provided by extension leads it might have been deemed unsafe should there have been children's little fingers poking around. Having said that the out of season price paid would be considered value for money.

Cleaning was undertaken and towels changed regularly but strangely our sheets were not changed for the whole fortnight of our stay.

Would we stay here again? The answer is yes, provided the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was not in pressed by our apartment. We had no microwave,no draw or shelf space for clothes.Our apartment was open to the road so no privacy.Was told it was a 10 minutes walk to the beach but was in fact 20-25 minuets down a steep hill.We are fit and walk a lot and it still took us that long.Our apartment was right next to the enclosed football area and the noise was very bad,the people playing kept kicking the ball up onto the roof and were climbing up onto the roof via the window sills of the apartments.We complained several times about it but nothing was done.When we go back to Fuerteventura next year we will not be using these apartments.They were nothing like the photo,s.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PazoDoRio, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Castillo Beach, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear customers,

We regret that the location of the apartment was not to your liking during your stay, on the front desk can always request a change or upgrade if you wished. About the distance from the beach, they can check with google maps the distance is 1.4 km in a straight line, it is usually done in 15 minutes

https://www.google.es/maps/dir/28.3986674,-13.8711918/Calle+Peatonal+Orchilla,+7,+35610+Castillo+Caleta+de+Fuste,+Las+Palmas/@28.398446,-13.8696491,16z/data=!4m9!4m8!1m0!1m5!1m1!1s0xc47c119888fafc3:0x77a49aa284a12790!2m2!1d-13.8585326!2d28.3964044!3e2

If you really want to go back next year, we would love to offer a special apartment, please contact us: recepcion@castillobeach.com Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

stayed here feb 2014. would not book again very dated we went half board on the first night went in for food and there was just 2 items to pick from on the menu although the food was good . you got a pasta salad starter then it was clams or duck then a pineapple desert. like i said it was nice but if you had kids i dont no what they would eat has next time we went in it was squid after that we ate out. every night. cleaner only comes 3 times a week so dont throw your towels on the floor. 10 15 min walk to beach and town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet19571957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.6 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#15 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuerteventura Beach Club
Fuerteventura Beach Club
#17 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Beach

Property: Castillo Beach
Address: C/ Espino (Al Final de la Calle), 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castillo Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Onthebeach and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castillo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Beach Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing