We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote location but easy access to the town”
Review of Castillo Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castillo Beach
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Reviewed 12 September 2009

The apartments are located 1km from the main resort. The immediate surrounding area is somewhat rundown but the apartments are clean and well furnished. If you are happy with walking, the main beach and restaurant/pub area is only 15 mins. away and golf courses and modern shopping area 30 mins away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

Was here in 2008 and i would advise you NOT TO GO HERE. There was supposed to be kids entertainment on at night and there wasn't any at all, not even one night.We had 6 & 7 year old girls with us and they were bored stupid. The restaurant got robbed one night we were there, they sacked the restaurant manager, there was no one even in the restaurant. One night there was a parrot show and i think there was 7 people there and that included the staff. It was bout 15 mins walk to the beach and the lighting down from the apartments were awful. It was very badly run down and not much for the kids to do, all in all i would highly recommend you don't go here unless you want to get mugged.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SatzenbrauDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

I stayed at the the Castillo Beach Club with my husband in March 2009 – a time of upheaval in the world’s finances and so there were not as many people around as we had expected. The Beach Club is situated on the side of a steep hill on the outskirts of the town of Caleta de Fuste, and is only about 4 miles/6 km from the airport. It is directly under the flight path so there is very noticeable aircraft noise during the day. As it was “low” season when we visited the flights did not start until 7:30am and were finished mid-evening. However, there is a considerable amount of expansion work going on at the modern airport so there are obviously plans to expand the tourist business of the island with more frequent flight arrivals and departures, and the noise of the planes could become very intrusive.

The Beach Club has five separate complexes: Sol, Lake, Moon, Vistas and Park. We stayed in the Lake section which has the timeshare units and is possibly the oldest section. The apartments are designated as single bedroom/sleep 4 but unless you are very fond of the other couple they are really only suitable for 2 people as the units are quite small. There are two single beds (pushed together) in the bedroom and a (very hard!) bed-settee in the lounge/dining /kitchen area. The kitchen is quite well equipped with enough crockery and cutlery for 5 people plus microwave, oven, coffee maker, toaster, kettle and fridge although there are only two hotplates. The quality of the furnishings is pretty basic and the bathroom towels were among the worst I have ever encountered as they were quite small, very thin, and lacked any absorbency. Each unit has a patio with table, 4 chairs and a parasol and the units are situated at angles to each other along a series of winding paths. Parking was on the road outside and although we had no problems finding space as the complex was only about half full, it might be a different matter in “high” season.

There are two very large swimming pools and a clean pool area with some rather tired and sagging sunbeds. The Tropical Bar serves light food with a “meal of the day” but there was no restaurant facility when we were there. (However we can recommend Gambrinus restaurant – near Tony Roma’s - in the town for the best steaks in Caleta de Fuste!) There is a mini market nearby and a much bigger shopping area with hypermarket about a 5 minute drive away at the Atlantico complex.

The Castillo Beach Club is best suited to older, more active couples who are happy with basic standards of accommodation and don’t mind the walk to the town and excellent beach (it took us about 20 minutes to walk to the beach). It would not be suitable for families with very young children as there are no play areas or facilities for them and the swimming pools are both designed with adults in mind so are quite deep and most of the poolside area is taken up with sunbeds..

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Winner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We made a relatively late booking to these apartments so that we could spend Xmas in the sun. We booked through a web-site that linked into flights and then transfers so it was a good way to book.
We flew out with Thomas Cook early on Xmas Eve, taking off late but landing 30 minutes early. Good flight and so swift passing through arrivals. The "Shuttle" transfer was waiting for us and seemingly minutes after landing we were at Castilla beach Bungalows.
The bungalows themselves were basic but very clean. There was a seperate bedroom with good wardrobe space but could have done with more shelving or draws. The beds were comfortable and had extra pillows and blankets available in the room. The living/kitchen are was a fair size apart from the tight squeeze past the TV and breakfast bar - wall mount TV please? We had a good sized sofa , doubled as third bed if needed, and an arm chair. The kitchen facilities consisted of a 2 ring hob, fridge with freezer compartment and a microwave. The latter proving handy for the Xmas pudding and rum sauce, eaten nicely outside on our own sun terrace. This was furnished with a table, 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers. No fighting to get by the pool then!

The apartments themselves were positioned in a quiet side street some 150 metres from the beach and 250 metres from the start of the commercial district. There were a few supermarkets close by. Suggest you walk to the Atlantic centre rather than use the very expensive but local Netto outlets. The Spar supermarket there was really good.

The staff at the apartments were a credit to the complex. The receptionist greeted us speedily and in a very friendly manner. She would always have a few minutes for you. We had a problem with the shower. Within 15 minutes of reporting this to reception a young maintenance man came and repaired it. The cleaner was always singing away to herself and as well as being diligent at her job cheered us up each day.
There is a bar on the premises run by an Irish lady named Susan. If we return to Caleta it will be to these apartments if only for the Craic in the bar.

We had a brilliant time and would suggest these apartments are well worth staying at.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SCFCTunstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

The first thing to point out here is that there are many variations of hotel called Castillo Puerto and it is really hard on the reviews to tell which one is which. We thought we were staying at the nice Castillo Puerto apartments attached to the Barcelo - how wrong we were. We were in Castillo Puerto (according to Thomas Cook) but when you get there the official name is Castillo Beach Puerto.

Our holiday was quite cheap (£270 each 1 wk self catering) and we weren't expecting great things but we were VERY dissappointed.

The apartments are very dated, the towels are threadbare, the beds are very uncomfy, there are drafts from the window letting in the cold, the kitchen is about 20 years old and had ants. However the complex is actually quite niely laid out - most apartments set around the pool.However the quality inside is sub standard and really needs udating it is NOT worthy of the 3 star that Thomas cook gives it.

The complex is owned by 2 british couples who initially were very friendly. However after 24 hours they were harrassing us every time you pass the bar asking why you're not eating there, come to the BBQ, complaining there's not enough money in the till.The attitude put us off going to the bar as we couldn't be doing with the constant harrassment.

Calta de fuste is quite nice, good restaurants (the italian and tex mex expecially) and the apartments are well located.

Make sure you know exactly which Castillo Puerto you choose and do not end up dissappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just got back from Castillo Beach Park and I have to say despite reading plenty of bad reviews I feel that there really is no problem with the place.
The apartments are basic and dated but are cleaned regularly as is the pool and pool area. We did have ants in the apartment but they only appeared when food was dropped or left out but no real problem there. Unfortunately we did find two cockroaches in the apartments and had to relocate them but the next day a member of staff came and sprayed the apartment and we then saw no more of them.
The maid was fantastic, very friendly and very thorough as was all the staff, as per previous holidays we find that staff abroad are far more helpful if you try to communicate with them in their language, it is their country after all!!!
One blot on the landscape was that on the complex the restaurant (Mirador) was not open ( although staff were working feverishly to get it cleaned and painted and stocked to get it open) nor was the mini market but there is a Netto at the Montecastillo centre about 5 minutes walk away.
We ate every night at the Montecastillo centre and would highly recommend Argentinos and Chaplins there.
Argentinos is very friendly and the food is excellent combining typical English food with more mediterranean fare and the prices are very reasonable.
Chaplins is very much English but again extremely friendly and welcoming, the staff there are all english and the food is superb. It is very clean and ideal for families and couples, the owner even does quiz nights and free bingo.
Caletta is very nice with a lovely sheltered beach and a small harbour with watersports and excursions to see whales and dolphins.
The apartments are about a 20 minute walk up a hill from the beach but there is a "wally" train that can transport you for a euro each.
Overall a lovely holiday in accomodation that is ideal for a tight budget.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kellyboyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

We stayed for a week in February 2008. We are four adults and so we booked two one bedroomed apartments. We stayed in the LAKE complex, which is the Timeshare part, as we are members of a holiday club.
Absolutely nothing wrong with the apartments. Very well equipped and clean. Reception staff were very friendly.Pool and garden areas were very well maintained. Apartments cleaned every day except Sunday.

Caleta de Fuste is a nice town, with good shopping, nice restaurants, a lovely beach and two good golf courses nearby.

A little train goes up and down from the town to the apartments regularly, all day long if you have no transport, or don't feel like walking. We actually found it was a nice walk.

We had a car for the week, and spent a day in the south in Jandia (beautiful beaches); a day in the centre of the island at Betancuria - (a very picturesque little town) and a day in the north at Corralejo - with great views over to Lanzarote. The road system on this island is better than we have experienced anywhere.

(There were a few stray cats around, but they were not a problem - quite well behaved in fact. And some very tiny ants - but so long as we didn't leave any bits of food on the floor - again, no problem.)

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Banksjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.6 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#20 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuerteventura Beach Club
Fuerteventura Beach Club
#15 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
5,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Beach

Address: C Espino, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: £28 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castillo Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Onthebeach, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Beach Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing