We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively!”

The Old Sport Tavern
Ranked #37 of 120 Restaurants in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: we are a family run sports bar , catering for families and large parties , or functions , Our menu has a English theme to it from breakfasts snacks to steaks burgers pasta's etc.we have indoor and outdoor dining, disabled facilities and access at the rear of the building for buggies .
Ipswich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lively!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We ended eating here one night so we could watch the football (English games shown regularly). It was very busy and was a lively atmosphere. Despite it being so busy, service was still good, and we didn't have to wait very long to be served or get our food. The food was good value. Large portions. The menu was mainly English stuff, burgers etc.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Becknaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    107
    47
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I only had breakfast here on my last morning on the advice of some friends that ate there the night before and raved about it.

But the Belly Buster did exactly what it said on the tin. It was lovely, and set me up for the long day getting ready to tavel home.

From the other side of the coin I did drink in there on a couple of nights and the beer is a good price, and good quality and its without a doubt a decent spot.

The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Its also very handy for a taxi home since its based at the main taxi rank

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GBarrettWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Standard Brekkie before 12 was 1E90. For that we both had bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms, tomato, hash brown, beans, black pudding and toast! For the money we were very happy and had breakfast her most days. The Toasties are also quite good. Soft drinks were pricey but were everywhere on the island. Our one evening meal was OK for the money but did not inspire us to have another. The staff are quite helpful with one telling us about local markets and shopping centres.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talk2jode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Visited the sports tavern a few times. Once we had lunch which was very reasonably priced but we mainly went for the cocktails which we more like jugs than glasses! Friendly staff who always stopped for a chat and they even remembered when our daughter left her sunglasses. They sold Desperados on offer which made my husband very happy. Great place if you are on a budget and for passing drinks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimKent39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, Great prices, Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Old Sport Tavern was situated on the boundary of our hotel when we stayed in April so it made sense to pay a visit once during our stay for a drink although this turned into 2 evening meals and breakfast as we were so impressed.

While we were there, my partner wanted to watch the football as there were some big games coming up in the Champions League so I indulged him and quite happily it turned out. Opting for their 2 meals for 12 euros we were bowled over by the portion sizes. A huge bowl of lasagne came with a second bowl just for the salad and their ribs (we had this on visit 2) came on an impressive platter which just about fit on the table! The starters are a bitpricey in comparison to the deals on the mains but we had the jalapeno poppers which were pretty nice to be fair (I don't like jalapenos). Local beer was 2 euros a pint and there was always deals on things like alcopops.

The staff were always enthusiastic, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They came and chatted with us while we were watching the football and if we were walking past the bar, they would always stop and say hi or have a chat with us.

Breakfast was 1.90 euros as a special but we opted for a sausage sandwich and tea at around 4 euros each - not the same as it would be made at home but again for the price you couldn't fault it.

Whilst the food may not be to everyone's taste, there is something for everyone and every budget. Not one if you don't like sports as you can't escape it but if you're after a cheap, quick meal then this is one for you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doody1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Sport Tavern also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to The Old Sport Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing