We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas and cheap drinks in the happy hour!”

La Taberna del Capitan
Ranked #12 of 123 Restaurants in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Spanish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tapas and cheap drinks in the happy hour!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a great night here and enjoyed the delicious fresh tapas and the price of the drinks was even better, 2 large beers for 2.50 euros or 2 local spirit and mixer 3.50 euros! There was a band on that evening which gave a really good atmosphere. Would like to go back to try different tapas dishes as the selection was huge!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sammy2297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    472
    126
    52
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

After reading the positive reviews we decided as a group of 7 to visit El Capitan on Saturday 28th July. We arrived and just seemed to hang around for ages before any member of staff approached us. We were then told the only table we could have was inside. The lady then walked off and once again left to our own devices. We walked through the restaurant and eventually found the table. After sitting down in a very stuffy, hot corner we waited and waited and waited. No sign of anyone even taking a drinks order. Needless to say we all got up and left. We were very dissapointed as good customer service is the bones of any establishment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ianrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“prepare to queue”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

brilliant happy hours, 2 pints for 2.50. However gets busy, and in typical spanish fashion in no rush, so queues were common. Locals were given preference and cold frosted glasses all the time as welll.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank neilludgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“happy hour”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This not so small but cosy place was great, 2 for 1 on selected wines, beers and spirits. The selection of tapas was great, really tasty food, loved it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank diydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent value, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Well deserving of the number one spot, came here on the last night of our trip and was not disappointed. The waitress was indeed very helpful and suggested some excellent dishes (majority of which I had never tried before) and all were absolutely delicious. Service was fast and the atmosphere was relaxed, with live music playing in the background. We went during happy hour so a jug of sangria was only €5 as well! Would reccomend to anyone after a good quality tapas bar that is great value for money - all 5 of our tapas dishes were only €16!

Helpful?
1 Thank Corrinne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taberna del Capitan also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to La Taberna del Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing