We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very average hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Holiday 30 Nov to 14 Dec 2013. We stayed in one of the so called Superior Bungalows. The smell in the bathroom was terrible every day. Cockroaches were frequent visitors in the evening and at night.The lighting in the rooms during the evenings was totally inadequate to read. We were self catering and found the kitchens very poorly equiped. We had no room maid service on two days.
Noise from the road outside the bungalow kept us awake at night.

Room Tip: Do not choose a superior bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    1,471
    598
    179
    101
See reviews for
1,929
1,474
53
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We staye the day we arrive in Fuereventura. Hotel is 15 minutes from the Airport in Puerto Del Rosario as we rented an apartment in Morro Jable an hour south on the island. Rooms we good and if you ask for room 2009 it is near a pool, restaurant, and a lovely beach. There is All inclusive here and the food is plentiful yet average, the restaurant was much better but I have experienced this at many all inclusive hotels. They have lots of activities for kids both on the property and downtown. The staff are all fabulous, many different backgrounds and they speak many languages so communication was not a problem. Internet was marginal in the rooms depending how har away from the lobby you stay. 73 degrees every day and with humidity.

Room Tip: You can book online without paying until you arrive with no cancellation fee. Look at the property o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calzinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Just arrived home after a weeks stay at this hotel.
We had a two room bungalow at the heart of the complex (2000-area).
The closeness to both the reception and the heated pool was excellent. The bungalows are good sized and quite enough for 2 adults and 2 children.

-The heated pool was heated... during sunny days, for some strange reason it was not heated during those days that were cloudy. The heat were turned off and no hot water came in to the pool.

-Cockroaches. There are tons of them! Keep your lights on and your food well sealed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islander739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siauliai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel was very cosy and fine.Food was excellent and different every evening. nice restaurant.Staff was very friendly and helpful .I would recommend it to my best friends.The environment was very nice.Close to the beach.Our apartment was very spacious, you have everything you need in the kitchen, but we had HB, so didnt use it:)

Room Tip: We had the superior bungalow -it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Egle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo Castillo between 30/11/13 & 6/12/13. The hotel, being in a man made resort is pretty bland with no Spanish feel whatsoever. Beach was not particulalry clean, although if you walk further around clearer water and cleaner sand can be found. To be honest we found the staff rather unfriendly but the worst thing about the hotel is the food in the restaurant. There is a good variety but everything is served tepid to cold. We found ourselves using the microwave everytime in order for the food to be palatable. Other guests however did not seem to think this and we met someone for whom this was their 7th visit so something must be right. I don't think we are particularly fussy, we simply want hot food.
The hotel aslo charges for Wifi which is only available in the reception area. Do not waste your time purchasing this, there are free Wifi spots available further round the beach.
On taking a trip around the island we found the best beaches were in the North West-Go here for a great beach holiday. Avoid this hotel unless sitting around the pool is your thing. This area together with the entertainment one is being upgraded soon so things should get better.
Looking at other reviews we do seem to be in the minority about the quality of this hotel but I'm afraid it wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Ask for Balcony room in the "5000" block. We did but unfortunately were not offered one. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin36101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Barcelo Castillo in a bungalow. This was our 4th visit to the complex. We have stayed at hotel and apartment then twice at a bungalow. The superior bungalow on 1000 area opposite the seafront was a reasonable size but very basically equipped. Bedroom very dark in fact the whole bungalow poorly lit. No dressing table or work top space too little drawer space. We stayed 2 years ago in a standard bungalow and to be honest this one was no different except it had been painted and had a larger tv and was more expensive. Food ok but but basically tastes much the same each night though supply of fruit good. I agree with a previous review that there was little meat or fish. Bad that no free Wi Fi even in reception and safe was 21 euros a week which is ridiculous. We have stayed in other 3 or 4 star hotels in Spain where the safe is a digital setting you set yourself and is always free. Surely a hotel wants its guests to relax and feel that their valuables are safe at no extra expense? Didn't see entertainment as went out each night. Lots of good places to go in the area in the evening. Sugar bar upstairs Tommy Nutters and Lord Nelson our favourites. We love Caletta and will go again staff friendly and complex spotlessly clean.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SueSpongeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Big believer of you get what you pay for so take this as more of a personal observation rather than a moan. We stayed at the Barcelo "Main" hotel next door in February and was impressed with the level of service (drinks served to you at meal times and waiter service in the evenings around the bar) and quality of food for an AI hotel (easily could eat 2-3 different main courses each evening). Not ones for going back the same place again thought we'd try the Castillo Beach as still a Barcelo group complex and about the same money having upgraded to sea view suite. As with the rest of the reviews, it is tired in places and the food quite poor quality (never eaten so little meat and fish) when compared with next door which was really disappointing. Evening bar and show area is very poor (again compared to a full A/C theatre next door). In short, spend the little bit extra and go to the main hotel.

Room Tip: 2000 block (sea view) ask for 1st floor not ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustybin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing