We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just back from our third trip to this resort. We got the room we requested so we were happy. No cockroaches or creepy crawlies. The resort is lovely, great beach. The restaurant serves an amazing array of foods for breakfast but there is a queue for coffee and the toaster is a challenge. The restaurant was very busy in January when a lot of the apartments were empty. I imagine it would be a squeeze in summer months. Now the evening buffet is not brilliant. On one occasion they served a lovely roast of lamb but nothing suitable to go with it, Loads of different things on offer but none amazingly good. They would do better to do less dishes but do them to a higher standard. Staff are pleasant but very busy. Juan Carlos is still serving guests with a smile and a joke while still clearing tablets at speed. Will definitely go back again.They need to do something about the wifi. Still charging 7 euro per day. 25euro per week. Its not brilliant and you usually have to stay in reception to use it.

Room Tip: Not the 3,000 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meemoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,555
    1,471
    598
    179
    101
See reviews for
1,929
1,474
53
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

having read a few trip adviser reviews i had a few doubts about this place boy was i wrong.My partner & i travelled xmas day for 2 weeks with my son daughter in law & grandaughter aged 5.We booked it all independantly Monarch flights & accomodation online.We checked in staff were very helpful you got a swipe card with no room numbers on for added security.we were in bungalow 1066 across the road from reception & resteraunt.The bungalows have had a full refurb all very modern & nice,separate lounge;sofa ,chair,table & chairs t.v the tv was annoying kept freezing or no reception on english channels my husband likes to watch the news for football results!! ,bathroom shower loo sink hairdryer.Kitchen had 2 electric rings kettle toaster microwave & all utensils,we were b&b but you could do snacks & cuppas etc so best of both worlds, bedroom 2 beds pushed together & fitted wardrobes,everywhere was spotless didnt see 1 cockroach the whole stay!The only negative thing i can say is the lighting in the bungalows was very dim,the reception called it relaxing lighting i called it diificult to see lighting ha!ha!
Caleta de fueste is a lovely family place, lots of places to dine & drink the best places we ate at were Grill & garden,Nestors, no.15 & Tapas & indian resteraunt,its very reasonable to eat out for instance a huge seafod platter with bottle of house wine at Grill & garden 25 euros amazing.there are a couple of bakeries everything lovely & fresh.Theres a bar 2 min walk called Legends dedicated to Man utd you could watch the footie during the day or elvis etc at night the place is a shrine to 60's memoribilla beatles, who,stones etc & loads of Man utd & football mementos the guy who owns it is originally from Wythenshawe (manchester)was in the band the Mindbenders.
The resort gets very chilly at night take a cardigan i had to buy one! & its quite windy during the day.

We went to the sister hotel each evening as they had shows on entertainment was excellent drinks were quite pricey.

I would reccomend Barcelo castillo for all ages no outsiders can get on the site as the swipe cards open all gates truly a lovely place to stay,has plenty of swimming pools a snackbar ice cream stall shop etc childrens activities.

We got a bus to Corralejo large main road into it shopping malls resteraunts etc very busy, On the seafront it looked very much Cornish lots of cafe bars resteraunts etc.much preffered Caleta de fueste more laidback,beaches are manmade sand from Saudi beds& umberellas 9 euros a day

Room Tip: bungalows on the reception side of road are near the sandy beach opposite side of road more shaded
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was self catering at its best. Asked for a sea facing room near reception and got room 2053 which was very big, spotlessly clean, large private patio,large shower and right on beach. Thanks to all the staff for their help efficiency and friendliness. We usually avoid buffet restaurant dinners but the variety and quality provided on the night we ate here was so good we went back twice more. We were entitled to a free glass of wine each but nobody told us. The complex is huge so it took a while to find things.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Have been in lots of hotels and apartments, but this was the best, excellent value. We were in one of the new delux studios, ultra modern and comfortable. The apartment had everything including 2 large wallmounted tv's with English channels. The bed was festooned with large comfy cushions, and the mattress was divine. The food was of a good standard. Would thoroughly recommend. First class

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Lindyhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Very dissapointed with our stay. 25 Dec-8Jan 21014. Arrived mid affternoon, slow checkin. Appt, 3007 must of been standing for a while with no occupents as was very dusty on arrival. Reported Bathroom basin leak on 26 Dec, was still leaking when we left, also bedroom lamp x living room lamp mot working x no tv channels. Must say the tv was sorted out straight away. Handles hanging off kitchen cupboard doors. Fridge was old x rusty. Tv stand x tv thick of dust all our stay. Stairs upto apt never swept x no lighting, pitch black, or balconys swept x cleaned for the whole of our stay.Beds made 3 times all our stay, maid service very poor. Kitchen facilities very poor. Had 1 clean bathmat for the 14 nt holiday. The list is endless. Could be lovely but housekeeping needs addressed. Would not stay at theses apts again. Area lovely but overall very dissappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthnevison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 times last year Easter then again in May then a family holiday in October and every time was like the first. The reception staff are great and very helpful cleaners are very good rooms cleaned every day. Animation team are fab pools are great salt water overall a great stay here

Room Tip: Email them before u go and they will accommodate you to try and get the type of room u want
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 46Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton England
Level Contributor
484 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have just returned from a January break. The hotel complex is huge but manages to be friendly. Our maid was truly wonderful. Accommodation was self catering in bungalow at rear if complex - perfectly quiet, pretty gardens, spotlessly clean, although the place was full it was peaceful and never felt crowded. Would recommend - especially if you like eating out - but you need to book local restaurants as most were packed by 8pm. Wifi available free in most bars but not hotel. 35€ too much for a week. Didn't fancy the buffet style restaurants cat hotel although a la carte available.note if travelling with budget airlines (we used Thomas Cook) make sure your bags are well under 15kg allowed - we had to pay excess of 100€ on way back! no problems going out and we came back with less stuff :-(

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateharmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Booking.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing