We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 January 2014

On arriving at the Barcelo Castillo we were allocated bungalow 1042 which is out the front of reception and 200 meters up the street on the far side away from the main block .there are no facilities on this side just 100 bungalows enclosed by a boundary fence. the bungalows are clean and modern but the lighting is very poor especially in the bedroom where at night you need a torch to find items in the dark wardrobe, there is also no drawer space for storage.The terrace ,dining area,kitchen and bathroom were all good.The weather whilst we were there was very bad which resulted in the television screen freezing on the English language stations.Overall we could have got accommodation as good as the Barcelo for half the price as only a chosen few get to look and walk to the beach from outside there bungalow door.I would not return nor would i recommend the Barcelo Castillo bungalows to friends

Room Tip: stay on the reception side of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank higgy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,196 - 3,202 of 5,380 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is in a brilliant location facing the Caleta Beach. The complex is spread out and very flat.
The hotel has many good points and a few that need improving.
Firstly our room was superb. We were in block 500 with views over the beach. The room was very modern. very comfortable beds, 2 flat screen teles and cleaned daily to a high standard. We had a large balcony with our own sunbeds. The only thing that lets it down was the design of the shower which leaked.
The staff are all friendly and work very hard. The place is kept clean and it looks like the building work is nearing completion.
What this place lacks is a decent bar where you can sit in comfort. At night they use an old outdoor arena with poor chairs and plastic cups. This is not 4 star. Maybe its part of the ongoing improvements to sort this out?.
Also the main dining room does not seem big enough and struggled to cope at breakfast and dinner.
But overall this is a nice hotel in a super location with excellent rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We didn't pay a lot for our holiday but we wanted a cheap, self-catering break in the middle of winter. Even though the flight was quite long, the transfer was quick - only about 15 minutes and that's including a couple of drop-offs before us. The queue to check in was lengthy and could definitely have done with some more staff but there were pleasant and friendly. For some reason we were given a band that we were told must be worn even though we were self-catering however nobody asked to see it during our stay. We had requested a sea view room but unfortunately there were none left. We given a bungalow next to the road at the furthest away point from the beach. Immediately we said we did not want to be on the road and they moved us to a much better apartment. Facilities were adequate and we had everything we needed for the week. (A pair of kitchen scissors may have helped though!). We had a nice sized patio area which got the sun all day and it was sheltered which gave us a nice break from the blustery wind. A real sun trap and having sunbeds here was much appreciated in addition to the usual table and chairs. The beds in the room however were not very comfortable - at one point I was tempted to lie on the floor as there was a real possibility it may have been more comfortable! Cleaners came everyday and we had fresh towels twice. All in all we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abitrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very good hotel perfect for family vacation. we had children in age of 1 and 4. The miniclub for older kids where excellent! Amazing staff and our son enjoyed the activities very much! Negative food description( wrong label on the meat and not fully described what a content a dish had) and beds where very hard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Esrat Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Arrived at the resort early, so were given our all inclusive wristbands and told we could visit the snack bar near the pool. The snack bar food is pretty average: burgers, chips, rolls. There was a bar and bartender and there was dispensers for soft drinks (fanta lemon is so good!) and a beer and a few wines. And slushes. We then were given our room key however were not happy with our room standard, so went to the reception and requested different rooms. The staff were happy to change our rooms, so I reccomend doing this, and getting rooms on the 2nd block. The pools were always clean, salt water pools were great, however not good for serious swimmers, however there is a chlorine pool near the 2,000 rooms, which wasn't really busy. The resort was always so clean, and so was Fuerteventura. The wifi is very cheap however the areas you could access it from are limited. The food was good, was very pleased with the all inclusive buffet, breakfast lunch and dinner. The non-alcoholic cocktails and alcoholic were great, bartenders were lovely. Definitely will return for a chill holiday again. Recommend Fado Rock's and the waterpark at Corralejo. Also recommend the Irish bar just a short walk from the hotel, and there is some lovely tourist shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Absolutely Fantastic Week! The check in staff were very flexible as we requested a room near to our friends and were put in a bungalow only a stones throw from them. the hotel and accommodation, pool and grounds were immaculate and there were plenty of staff working continuously to maintain them to this high standard.

The food was superb, plenty of choice and the staff were very attentive, assisting wherever they could - we were with friends who had children and all the staff interacted with them.

the pools whilst a little chilly had plenty of space to lounge and play, our friends actually taught their daughter to swim whilst we were there, a great sense of community with all the guests, happy to have a chat and exchange recommendations of places to dine out etc.

great mixture of nationalities as well.

the hotel complex is right on the beach front and it took us no more than 3 minutes to walk from our bungalow to the beach, less than that to walk to a pool! out of one of the many gates we were five minutes from bars and restaurants which again were all very friendly and for some strange reason insisted on giving us a shot of some spirit when we paid. very reasonable prices as well.

bungalow room was generous size for two of us, very clean and housekeeping was very prompt. any problems were dealt with immediately - not that we had any ourselves.

i cannot praise this place enough and for the time of year the weather was great, mid 20s all week and still mild in the evenings, it was very peaceful in the evening as well!

we have already looked to book to return next year

one word of warning though, the market isn't worth a visit - full of cheap rubbish nothing traditional or authentic - if you want a fake football shirt or knock off watch then go but we were thoroughly put off.

Room Tip: all rooms are great however if you can ask for one of the beach front complex as the entire complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lincoln_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have just returned from a holiday here with our 3 year old grandson. The weather was not the best which made it more important that the Hotel provided things to do for a 3 year old. They failed to deliver. Given that the weather prevented much play on the beach my grandson just wanted a playground. We had to go out of the complex for this. Last year we stayed at the Atlantis suites in Corrolejo, I wish we had returned there, as the entertainment team worked tirelessly to ensure that all holidaymakers were happy and entertained. This Hotel fell very short for us. I would send the entertainment team to Atlantis for training and motivation techniques. There were some good things, The Heated Pool was a godsend, at least we could go swimming daily. The food was OK but the system for getting a table in the restaurant was farcical. Antonio, the Head Waiter was very nice and tried hard to sort things out. We had a tv in the room which had some English channels, another bonus. It was also a great location. Not enough bars for all inclusive, if you are at the heated pool prepare for a 5 minute trek to get a drink. Small dingy entertainment stage and bar, luckily most people don't bother going to watch the evening show. Hotel ok just not enough for a three year old to do, in fact, not enough bars restaurants or meeting places, especially in bad weather. Expected better..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
863 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
37.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing