We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 star but not terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not 4 star but not terrible!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have just returned from 7 nights all inclusive with two friends and have mixed feelings about this place!
The resort is lovely; beautiful surroundings and right on top of the beach/town, there are several very pretty swimming pools of a decent size with a good amount of loungers and umbrellas, we were lucky to be fairly close to the main pool and the restaurant but even if we had been a bit further away it would have only been a short walk to the amenities.
The buffet style breakfast, lunch & dinner was a mixed bag; the food was good but not ground-breaking but there was certainly plenty of choice even if it got a bit samey after a week. The main issue with eating was the mission we had trying to get a table and then the food.....there were not enough staff to keep up with the amount of guests, tables were not cleared so we had to do this ourselves in order to get a seat, we would then have to wait for cutlery and, if we wanted to sit outside, we had to become friends with the pigeons who were eating the scraps from the unmoved plates! Once our seat was obtained we then had to navigate the child hoard running riot around the various tables of food, there was no order here at all, it was literally grab your plate and dive in head first and if you made it back to your table with some food still on the plate you were lucky, by the end of the week we had a perfectly orchestrated routine to get us through meal times as stress free as possible!
The all inclusive snack bar was fine, average junk food but a wide range of soft/alcoholic drinks were readily available and a cocktail at 11am is fine by me.
The entertainment was definitely giving Butlins a run for their money and can only be described as ruddy awful; but, thanks to more help yourself booze and making the most of a bad situation we actually found it quite funny, I mean why wouldn't you enjoy watching the same group of 5 people mine along to different musicals each night.....I'm never going to look at Grease or Phantom of the Opera in the same way again!
The main problem for us was that this is definitely not the holiday for people travelling with friends or for those who are allergic to children, they're everywhere! This is great for families but not for those who want peace and quite and a chilled out experience; we managed to find a fairly well hidden smaller pool which only had a few kids and inflatables which was fine but the main pool was rammed, noisy and had children flinging themselves all over the place - they were having a whale of a time which was fun to watch but I don't think my teacher friends were getting the 'child break' they were hoping for!
There were a few teething problems with the room (leaking air conditioning units and disappearing towels) but we had the issues sorted out quickly and apart from that I was happy, yes the bedrooms are a tad dark but the living room and bathroom were well lit and they were clean and comfortable.
Overall this probably isn't the best place for those without children and it is more 3 star than 4, but it had great surroundings, location, amenities, rooms and decent enough food; although I wouldn't go all inclusive again as I couldn't face the dining room chaos or 'entertainment' I would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you want some quiet pool time find the one hidden in the block by the gym!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Redvelvet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    1,537
    621
    187
    102
See reviews for
2,021
1,537
56
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Standard rooms dated + need modernising. However beds very comfortable + linen/towels clean + good quality. Quality of cleaning poor but when issue raised was attended to quickly, as was shower head replacement, but still did not consider room to be of 4* quality.

Large resort, very friendly staff, restaurant/food excellent. Plenty of good quality sunbeds, no need for 6am dawn rush to claim one. Our room was way too far from main amenities, especially of an evening. For a 4* all inclusive, would not have expected to have to pay for WiFi in communal areas/reception.
Building works by marina noisy + spoil otherwise tranquil surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Lissco83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We upgraded our holiday to a superior bungalow which was far from superior.
The location of the hotel is good. Staff were friendly and helpfull.
When you upgrade your holiday, surely that should include free wifi, clothes iron and room safe - which we were charged for all.
The food in the buffet was good, salads were fresh and loads of variety.
Would look to going to another hotel next time though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
6 Thank Gilmour R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a Self Catering basis at the beginning of April 2014. It was our first time travelling with our 10 month old son so we choose this hotel because it was 4 star and offered better facilities than other places, although I think that realistically the apartments are closer to 3 star. We were pleased with the location of our apartment (3082) and even though it was a bit of a trek from reception it was really close to the pool and beach which was ideal for us because it meant we could pop back regularly for drinks and forgotten baby items!! Decor inside the apartment was a bit dark and drab but it was cleaned regularly and beds made daily. Only problem we encountered was with the sheet on the travel cot being to small and our little one getting tangled up in it, but as soon as we spoke to reception about it they went straight to our room and rectified the problem.

Communal areas are where the hotel deserves 4 stars, that said they could do with making more of the pools heated because they were to cold to even get in to let alone attempt to swim in!! Can't comment on entertainment or food because we didn't use the hotel facilities.

Quite disappointed in the resort of Costa Caleta, it seems to have really suffered from all of the big hotels offering All Inclusive and a lot of it was closed and quite run down. We ate out every night and the only restaurant that deserves a mention is, '15'. I had read reviews about it on here and we found it by accident because it isn't on the Main Street. We made a reservation because it gets busy and it was well worth it. Food was very good quality and when I couldn't manage all of my lamb they wrapped it up for me to take away. Worth a mention are the fab cocktails and I had the most amazing Frozen Strawberry Daiquiri.

Overall we had a lovely first family holiday but I wouldn't return to Costa Caleta or Fuerteventura, we much rather prefer Lanzarote.

PS don't forget your cockroach spray........towards the end of the week we were getting them in our apartment on a daily basis and we saw a few whilst out and about on an evening :(

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank becs010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Poor damp room,. poor cleaning service - we had to ask them to clean after 4 days, charge 25 euros per device for Wi-Fi per week, poor evening choice of bars with AI package - ie 1! and it's cheap and not cheerful. Not enough tennis courts - 1 only. Food is good though and location is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Castillo beach resort from 2/4/2014 - 12/4/2014. 7 of us in total age 48, 40, 34, 17,15 & 5. Before we traveled here i'd read loads of reviews so was a little worried as so many bad points were mentioned in reviews! we had such a good holiday so felt compelled to do a review! We arrived at 12.30 pm, the 2 bed apartment we booked was ready but the 1 bed wasnt, only had an hour to wait so went to look round and have lunch, the all inclusive buffet was good (not the best we've had but up there with the top few!) lots of choice. Breakfast was good omelets, pancakes croisants pastries as well as fresh fruit, yoghurts and hot cooked food fried scrammbled and hard boiled eggs, bacon sausages etc! lunch and dinner were also good with fresh fish and meat pasta salads rice dishes potatoes paella one night we had some lovely sushi!
The pools were clean but cold! theres on small heated pool, which we used every day! the snack bar "la pizzeria" which is by the small heated pool wasn't included in all inclusive! which annoyed us a bit as its owned by the hotel, so in my opinion if you've paid for all inclusive you should be able to get a drink from all of the hotels bars!? so to get a drink it was along walk back to the all inclusive bar!
rooms were clean our beds were changed 3 times over the 10 days.
Its 10 euros deposit for a towel (which you get back at the end when you give towel back, so long as you don't lose the receipt!) it costs 4 euro to change it for a clean one during your stay, we've never been charged to have them changed at any other hotel!
entertainment was good, the entertainment staff work hard and do a very good job, they make you feel very welcome and treat you like a friend!
kids club was good lots of activities very much enjoyed by my son!
DON'T pay for transfer before you get there we got a taxi for all 7 of us for 12 euros each way,and only took 5 minutes to get to hotel! as you come out of the terminal there a taxi rank, if theres not a taxi big enough the man radios one we waited 1 minute and he was there! others we spoke to had paid 60 euros each way for transfers for a family of 4!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Arrive before the check In time. As a repeat customer they were very friendly and accommodating with my room request. The young blonde lady on reception is a credit to the hotel and went out of her way to help. However the other lady should be honest with her estimates as then you know whether to leave the reception area or not.
The hotel grounds are immaculate and there are a choice of pools. There are refurb works occurring to puerto Castillo but the hotel are due to close this area soon. There is a new harbour are planned and they told me June 1 is the completion .
The rooms have been recently refurbished In some of the blocks. The 2000 numbers about 3 years ago but great quality. It's gated with key access for security/ the new 5000numbera are the premium and look amazing. I'd book oneof these next time. There is a mini market on site which is by reception. Lots of all inclusive visitors and the staff work hard with entertainment .i would travel again and I'd choose this place for apartment and self catering whilst In caleta every time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
23.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing