We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really good family holiday, though improvements could be made.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A really good family holiday, though improvements could be made.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We travelled on an All Inclusive Thompson package in May half term with our 4 and 7 year olds and my husbands parents. The resort is quite close to the airport so the transfer was quick. We arrived at about 9pm and had a little wait at reception but were helped by a very friendly staff member who suggested we ate first then were taken to our rooms. Even though it was towards the end of dinner service the restaurant offered a great selection of food which was regularly replenished and all seemed to be kept hot. Many things were being cooked in front of us. We then went to find our rooms. We were located at the far end of the resort in the 3000's. Though a quite a walk from the reception and restaurant it was a nice location. We had two 1 bed apts that were perfectly adequate, clean and well equipped. As we understand they are slowly renovating the rooms and these have not been done, which did show a little but was not a problem for us. There was a little noise from the town but that settled by 10.30.
We discovered we were a stones throw from a pool area with AI snack bar with access to the beach. Much time was spent here and although chilly on first entry, the pools were enjoyable. There is a main pool area near the restaurant though we didn't spend much time here as it was busier and a little shabbier in places. There was also a little pool tucked in the 2000's apartments that seemed to be heated (hard to tell though!). The pools were quite deep, with the exception of the kids splash pools, which was a little nerve-racking for me with a non-swimmer!
The kids LOVED the beach. Its sandy though, flip flops needed to negotiate the volcanic pebbles! The sea was calm and had little fish swimming. A 15 min walk round to the next resort offered a smooth sandy beach, though much rougher sea. We still spent a fair while jumping waves here. Worth the walk!
We did have a fantastic holiday, and perhaps am being mean only giving an average score, though we'd have had fun in a self catering apartment as long as we had a beach on our doorstep!. I think there are a few improvements required before I'd score higher though actually they seemed to be doing lots while we were there, so perhaps this will be rectified in the future. We didn't really go to the bar on an evening but it was far too small for the amount of people and a bit shabby. My kids turned their noses up at the 'entertainment' laid on for them, though my in-laws did sit with a G+T at the bar and see the odd bit of the entertainment and they seemed to enjoy it!
The buffet restaurant was good, but there were several occasions we couldn't sit together as it was so busy. We had to call and request towels on one day as ours were all sopping due to the shower screen leaking, but on other days they did clean.
The AI seemed a bit of a disappointment. We paid quite a lot extra for it and it seemed there was so much it didn't include. Although in fairness we were never hungry! Had we had upgraded to AI once we arrived it would have been much cheaper so would suggest people consider doing that.
The other thing to consider when booking is that Fuerteventura is WINDY! Thankfully I was aware before we booked but there were lots of people moaning about it. It cooled things down nicely for us, but take a jacket for the evenings!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 3000's are yet to be renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,709
    1,595
    639
    192
    106
See reviews for
2,089
1,610
62
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay with my husband and 18yr old son. Must admit read a lot of negative reports before but not sure why. We found our one bedroom apartment very clean 2 lovely balconies plenty of room for 3 of us. We stayed in the 2000 block upper floor did not have any insect problems and got the sun all day.

The restaurant was busy but what do you expect with such a big complex, but you only have to wait a short while to get a table and there is plenty of choice for meals, if you can't find something to eat then I really do not know what you expect. The restaurant staff worked hard and cleared the tables straight away and nothing was to much trouble. We found if you haven't got young children you are better going for evening meal after 8.30 you usually find it not so busy.

The only one little niggle would be the evening entertainment with there only being one bar it does get really busy and I think for the size of the complex they would do well having an adults only bar in the evening so you could just sit and enjoy a drink.

It does look like there is some building work taking place so hopefully it will be a bigger bar.

All in all an enjoyable weeks break great weather and would like to go back when building finished to see the results.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

overall the hotel, facilities etc are great. Just needs a bit of TLC, improved Check in, and healthier options in the restaurant for the hot food i.e. less oil. If the pools weren't all sea water that would be good and the tiles replaced I would have awarded an excellent rating. The food generally is great. I was prepared to eat out and didn't have to. Really close to the airport. Don't book with ABC transfers - they let us down on both trips. A Taxi costs about euros and really quick so don't bother paying before you go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank CreweSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were concerned about this hotel once we had booked because of the tri advisor reviews, we needn't have worried. The hotel is lovely, staff are very friendly and happy.
The buffet restaurant is very busy (but we did travel half term week) the salads were great, good selection of food. Our children 4 & 6 had no problems choosing food (& they can be fussy)
children's club was great, the staff were brilliant!
Location was great right on the seafront.

Evening entertainment wasn't great, the function room very poor ( but in their defence they are building a new entertainment complex.

Maid service could be more thorough im not sure our room was swept for 10 days.
Overall a lovely holiday and lovely family resort definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank nw123worcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just got back from a week here. It was a superb hotel with friendly staff and an abundance of facilities. My only very tiny gripe was lack of wifi and a few overcast days!
The new bungalows are fantastic and have a selection of UK TV channels BBC1,2,4 and ITV.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Once again I find myself looking at other reviews of a hotel I've stayed in and wondering if these people were reviewing the wrong hotel. There's not much I can fault for our week stay here and can't understand some of the poor reviews (caveat, we were NOT all inclusive)

Hotel in general : Very clean, always maids cleaning and groundsmen tidying up, making sure the whole place was immaculate from reception to pool to dining area. Shower and towels were supplied for the departure date too for those with a late flight and reception staff could not have been any more helpful.

Room 2185 : Our room looked freshly refurbished, this could explain some disparities between people's standards with the rooms, I'm not sure all rooms have been done yet. We had a 2 bedroom apartment near the pool with living room, kitchen, 2 balconies and a pool and sea view, awesome! It was immaculate and far more lavish than the money we'd paid for it, really made up (and no cockroaches all week thank God!)
The only problem (tip for hotel) is that as we were mainly self catering a dishcloth and tea towel would have come in handy as well as a sweeping brush as ants can be a problem if you don't clean up crumbs.

Food : We only went for B and B as we like eating out, but, the breakfast choice was amazing, something for all of us and that's with a fussy 9 yo boy.Can't comment on entertainment as we went out on evenings but it looked the normal cheesy stuff. Entertainment hall was packed and hot though, wouldn't have fancied that.

Pool : Kids weren't keen on the saltwater pools, but I prefer that to chlorine. Otherwise great for the kids as it was fairly shallow in most areas, not great for adults wanting a workout though.

Bad Bits .....

Can't really pick too many faults, we had one incident where an over zealous dining room attendant upset our daughter as she was copying adults toasting bread with cheese on (not allowed!!). She didn't tell the adults, just the girl!
.. and finally the pool music was a little loud

Great week and thanks to Mari on reception who was an absolute superstar.

Room Tip: Rooms near the main pool appear to have been refurbished to a high standard, but the pool music can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February. We had 2 rooms over the road from the main hotel which were both huge and had a big bedroom, a sitting area and a kitchen. The rooms in this area had their own small pool and there was a gate to get into the area. The only problem was that there were tiny ants in the bathroom but these didn't cause much of a problem.

The hotel is right on the promenade around the bay and is quite spread out. It is a short walk into Caleta de Fuste where there are loads of shops, bars etc. The main entertainment during the day was at the pool by the kids club. My daughter enjoyed the volleyball on the beach each day. The entertainment in the evening wasn't very good and after the kids disco they always had someone turn up with animals that the kids could have their photo taken with - at a price of course! The game shows were funny, especially the quiz. A special thank you to Johnny, who unfortunately has left now, as he really made the holiday for us.

The food was good, although being a buffet there was usually a queue to get anything, especially tea or coffee which was from a couple of machines. Unfortunately tea or coffee in the restaurant was only available at breakfast for some reason.

My main complaint was that all inclusive customers could only have drinks in plastic glasses, yet paying customers could have them in proper glasses. Also, the cocktails included in the all inclusive package were out of a machine and were quite disgusting.

Overall we had a really good, relaxing holiday and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhisibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
23.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 26 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing