We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation ,good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation ,good location”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Overall a good place to stay - we had superior bungalow with balcony with beach / sea view looking onto beach volleyball area - did not appear to be one of the refurbished bungalows (old kitchen handles, side of bath chipped etc)
British TV channels if you need to catch up on what's happening back home - basic kitchen area good for breakfast - only things to pick on were :
- non-availability of sun umbrella (we were advised prior to arrival that you could rent for €10 / week but cheaper to buy one from the local Chinese shop yourself)
- towels replace daily but bathroom not cleaned daily
- woken twice by noisy cleaners talking outside accommodation at 0830am
- no free wifi (unusual for a hotel nowadays) - almost all bars / cafés / restaurants in Caleta offered free wifi
- no free check- out out time extension (€17 per two hours extension)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,713
    1,601
    641
    193
    106
See reviews for
2,092
1,619
63
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a fabulous stay earlier in the year (mid-March). Really enjoyed the ambiance. We travelled out of school holidays, however, it was clear it's a very family friendly location. I imagine at the height of season it would be full of kids.
At the time we went it was quiet and relaxing, with good facilities on site and only ten minutes from the airport. The local area and surroundings towns were good for days out sightseeing, walking or shopping.
Our accommodation was a ground floor apartment on the beachfront facing the lovely natural bay. There were unobtrusive bars, restaurants and shops dotted around. A few yards off the beach are further places to eat, drink and shop. There's an occasional local market which was 'interesting'.
La Perlita Bar was a particularly favourite haunt, overlooking the beach a minute from the resort itself. Must recommend that.
Some building going on but clearly of the improving type, not a major problem and signs of success as the resort seemed to be adding to and renewing their facilities (some of which did look a bit tired). When we asked at the reception, where details appeared in a video being played almost constantly, they said a 'grand plan' was being put in place, although there was a playful rolling of eyes.
Food in the resort was buffet style, which also became interesting at times although usually went off without a hitch. Food was plentiful with many choices. A little more quantity over quality but good enough given the range of options.
All in all a lovely place to spend some quality time and just relax a bit, we'd recommend it without hesitation.
Susan & David.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room numbered 2000's excellent position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_Scene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely resort. Great holiday. Stayed in Junior suite bungalow overlooking the ocean. Great views and great room. We had a jacuzzi in the garden area but to be honest only used it once, wouldn't necessarily need one in any future stay.
Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, towels changed daily. Resort generally clean all over.

Only criticisms would be the entertainment was in a small building(2/3 star) drinks in plastic glasses and not that good. I do understand that this is going to be improved and didn't spoil our holiday as just didn't partake. The entertainment in sister Hotel was much better and more of a comfortable environment(four star).
Swimming pool near to entertainment needed some improvement to the pool.

Plenty of spaces/beds for sunbathing and no need to get up at the crack of dawn to save a bed.

Food was good/plenty of choice and most of the time was still hot.

Staff on reception/around the pool and in the restaurant were really friendly.

Excellent location for a great holiday

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea at the front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely complex of small bungalows bit like butlins Spanish style, fantastic location, loads of pools and right on the beach, Nice for relaxing holiday as there's not much there, good hotel entertainment for kids and adults not that we seen much as we ate out most nights, good few bars and restaurants, Italian in the square really good and the Taj Indian restaurant excellent,
Rooms are a little dated, beds are lovely and comfy as are the pillows, few English programmes on t.v if you want quiet night in, plenty of choice in buffet restaurant, we were half board but went out most nights for something to do, really chilled, few pools to choose from and plenty of sun beds, wi-fi €25 for the week signal not the best in some parts of complex but go by reception for good connection. We are a couple mid 40's and really enjoyed our stay and would return. Staff very friendly & helpful, beach is fabulous nice shallow water for little ones.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped at the BARCELO CASTILLO BEACH RESORT from 21st May 2014 for 7nts.
We flew from Manchester with Monarch who have very new aircraft and wonderful crew. Flying with a 5 year old and a 15 month is not easy however; the crew secured us a further row so our children could sleep. Very good customer service!

On arrival, we went to the transfer desk (Viajes Urbis Desk (No.10) as we booked with Travel republic. We booked a direct share 1-4 people. This is not what you get so, don't be fooled as we were. You're on a bus which is not there on arrival. Not only that, it can be up to three drop offs before you get to the resort. My advice, get a Taxi as we did after the bus had not arrived after 30 min. €12 in the taxi which took less than 10 minutes.
On arrival to BARCELO CASTILLO BEACH RESORT, we were thrilled with the modern look of the hotel. What a lovely reception with three members of staff helping you to book in. It did take a little time, almost 30 min to get to the front however; the staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly. Explained the site to us which is massive! You're given a map and you can also have a chaperone
to take you to the room. (Another tip. you can get a trolley just outside reception for suitcases).
In the dark, we missed our room as the door numbers are on the wall and not lit however; this was a very minor detour.
We stopped in room 2061 which is close to the restaurant and main pool but, not to close to be noisy or busy. You also have a sea view.
You have a outside light at your apartment and the door is operated by a card door key. As you enter the apartment, we found it very spacious. There is a kitchen and living room, bedroom and bathroom. There is also a patio with your own sun loungers, table and chairs.
Starting with the kitchen, very clean and modern. There is a fridge, microwave (also works as an oven) and normal kitchen utensils. If you're self catering, you may struggle however; we went All inclusive and so, this was fine for us.
The living room has a flat screen TV, single pullout bed from the settee, table and cabinet. Again, modern look and great for storage. There is also a dinning room table for 4 people in the open plan apartment.
The bathroom is massive with a lovely sink and cabinet unit. There is no bath but, a lovely shower. Be careful with the hot water because it would often go hot and cold.
The bedroom is again spacious with built in sliding wardrobes. The safe is located in the wardrobe and is operates by a key from reception. You have to pay approx. €24 for a week and you get €7 change on checkout. There was also two single beds and bedside cabinets. We also had a cot for our daughter and there was plenty of space in the bedroom. The cots are very clean and modern however; they're travel cots never the less.
There is room service daily and you can have as many new towels as you like. Beds are also made everyday.
From our room, it took less than 2 minutes to get to the restaurant. The restaurant is very modern and is all self service. (IMPORTANT:- men have to wear trousers for the evening meal. Please make sure you pack them as you won't get in).
The food on offer was fantastic. The restaurant staff are very quick to clean your empty plates too.
Drinking in the restaurant is self service. There is white, red and rose wine all from Fountain. There is the local beer (tropical) which is good. All soft drinks are the Coca-Cola brand. Fanta etc. there is also water.
Never had a bad meal and lots of option.
There are several pools dotted around the complex and unfortunately, they are salt water pools. The pools are very cold and usually, I don't moan about the pools but, they were very cold. There is a smaller pool with a bubble pool which was slightly warmer but, the bar is not AL. It's a two minute walk to the other, larger pool where the bar is AL.
All the pool bars which are AL are all self service. There are snacks and ice creams. Again, all name brands.
Entertainment at night is ok with a kids disco from 8:15pm. If you want to sit in the stage room, be quick as there is limited space. The kids entertainment is a typical Animations team with the usual kids songs. Very good for the kids and the team were funny and approachable. We never watched the adult entertainment as we walked into town every night.
The whole site is lovely and warrants a 4* rating. There is some building work as the site is having a massive overhaul which, from the video in reception will be fantastic! There is a mini-supermarket on site which is cheap. You can buy cartons of growing up milk for under 3's. There is also normal milk and other day to day items. Beer and spirits are also fairly cheap there. (My advice would be avoid buying spirits at the airport as they're not as cheap)
Going into town takes 5-10 min walk. There are a few shops and nice bars. There is a bar which have live entertainment and all the bars have free Wi-Fi. The food and drink is fairly cheap too.
The beach is lovely and for €10.50 you can have two sun beds and and parasol all day. The sea is clear and if you walk around the harbour, you can go on the glass bottom boat. Costs €20 per adult and €10 per child. Haggle and you will get a child for €5. Lasts 30 minutes and is really good. You can also rent jet ski's and swim with seal lions!
Checkout is at 11am on the day of departure and the AL is until you depart. You do have the option to keep the room on from €17-€35 however; this is not always possible. There is secure suitcase storage in reception and a shower room to get changed. The towels are provided by the hotel.
Overall, I believe the hotel is lovely and a very good for families. Not so good for couples if you're looking for a quite resort. I would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank hardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

After careful consideration I chose Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort for our family holiday and it did not disappoint! We booked the all inclusive 1 bed apartment package through Jet2holidays (whose service was excellent, no delays, bags on the carousel straight away, minimal queues)
Firstly the accommodation is fantastic, spacious and well equipped. We were given room 2004 which had a separate living room with pull out bed, kitchen (with fridge, job, microwave, utensils and kettle/toaster etc) bedroom (2 single beds pushed together) and gorgeous bathroom with large glass panelled shower (no bath). Both the living room and bedroom had air conditioning units (single remote controlled them both) and there was a tv which showed English kids tv channels! Plus terrace area outside with table/chairs and x2 sun loungers.
Secondly the location is stunning!! You are never more than a minute walk from the beach which is just gorgeous. There are a few small stones in the sand but it's not a big deal, we managed barefoot or with flip flops/beach shoes. There are 3 volleyball pitches which you can use and a water sports place at the harbour next to the main pool area (jet ski, wind surfing, scuba, glass bottom boat etc) but the hotel have such a huge array of activities on offer that you won't get bored! From 10am to 4:30pm they off all sorts of stuff from aerobics & yoga to archery, volleyball, water polo and everything in between! There is excellent nightly entertainment following the mini disco for the kids. We saw reptile/bird of prey/parrot shows, dancers, singers, comedy. There is something for everyone! Just be sure to have some cash on you as they will offer pictures with the animals (€6-10 each but worth it!)
Thirdly the food is very good. It is buffet style with 3 sittings ( breakfast 730-10:30, lunch 1-3pm and dinner 630-930) There is always a great selection to choose from which is renewed often. Nothing sits there for very long! They also offer bar snacks from 11am to 5pm (burgers, hot dogs, fries, salad -all self service) plus unlimited wine, sangria, beer, cocktails. Some of the cocktails incur an additional cost of €2.50 but again, it's a small cost and worthwhile, especially for the Bloody Mary!
The staff are friendly and very helpful although upon check in at 930pm we were given directions to our room and felt a little bewildered but found it easily enough. We managed to order good at the Per-lita bar for which we had to pay but get a 30% discount.
There are multiple pools, all salt water and all pretty cold except for the one closest to our room which had a jacuzzi in it do was warmer than the rest ( this is located behind the per-lita bar)
There are lifeguards on duty and tennis courts, mini golf etc to keep you busy. There are no issues with reserving loungers as the hotel forbids it. (We didn't have much trouble finding loungers if you arrive before lunch time)
Even upon check out, if you have a long time to wait for your transfer, the hotel offers showers, towels and toiletries for your convenience plus a luggage room which we took full advantage of!
The only slight drawbacks for me were that the pool/pool areas are in need of maintenance. The flooring is gritty and gets all over your feet at the main pool so inevitably ends up in the pool us the tiling is patchy and the sides of the pool were a little grubby for my liking. However, this didn't stop me from using the pools not are they unsafe. The second minor drawback was the maid service, the beds were made daily however I noticed that they didn't change the sheets or clean the floors. Think dirty feet and sweaty sheets! (I noticed this on abt the 5th day so can't be sure if it was just that day the sheets hadn't been changed) They did deliver clean sheets promptly when I requested them though.
All in all this is an excellent hotel and one of the best holidays I've had. With a little more care and attention from the hotel, it really could be first class. I'd recommend this place for couples and families. Everything closes at 11pm so not good for people looking to party. I will be returning again soon!!
Oh, it can get a little breezy and they have a slight issue with flies and pigeons around d the food areas but this really is only a minor point and not a problem. :o)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GinaG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just returned from a short break here with my new wife for our honeymoon. We had a great time in the resort overall, but there are a few things I wish we had been aware of before booking into this hotel. None of them ruined our holiday, but nevertheless I feel better hotels would not allow their standards to slip in these areas.

PROS:

1. Huge complex. It takes a long time to walk around, but the reception is situated pretty centrally so you shouldn't have to walk for miles regardless of where your room is. A range of different room types.

2. Several swimming pools. They were all clean, plenty of sun loungers, a lifeguard there constantly while in use, the hotel gets this part spot on.

3. Rooms were modern enough and clean. We didn't experience any of the issues other reviews mention (dust, cockroaches etc). Although I agree that they feel very much like self-catering apartments, which isn't a negative thing per se, but it's also not really what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

4. Breakfast selection is huge, and about as good as you can expect on the continent. The sausages were poor, but I accept that you can't expect everything to be "full english" style in a spanish hotel, and there is clearly a lot of effort put in to accommodate brits/irish in fairness.

5. The grounds of the hotel are all immaculate, 10/10 on that front, and the illuminated palm trees around the swimming pool at night is a great touch.

CONS:

1. The reception staff. Most seemed friendly and helpful, except for the one lady we seemed to constantly have the misfortune of dealing with. First of all they had no record of our booking through hotels.com. They did manage to book us in to apparently the same room type however (superior bungalow).

2. The beds. Very comfortable, but we specifically asked for a double bed. When booking it offered this option, and as far as we were aware that's what we were getting. But upon arriving in our room, we see two single beds sat a foot apart. We went back to reception and complained, only to be told - despite their website advertising it - that there are no double beds in the entire complex. At this point I loaded up a photo of a double bed on my phone from their website. They informed us that this photo depicts two single beds joined together, and that they could "zip them together" for us. We settled for this, only to discover - not to our great surprise - that all they had in fact done was push the the two single beds together and put a double sheet, duvet etc over both. The beds were in no way joined, and I spent the next 3 nights sleeping in a separate bed to my wife on our honeymoon, because the only other option was to both sleep falling down a crack between two single beds. This is simply false advertising, and I'm frankly amazed they are getting away with it considering all the couples and families that stay here.

3. As mentioned in other reviews, our room was very dark and dingy partially due to the direction it faced, but also both windows were covered with thick wooden shutters. There is a powerful air conditioning system in the room so we felt the shutters were redundant and only made the place feel gloomy.

4. The wifi is an absolute joke. No free wifi is provided. Not only do you have to pay €7 a day for it, the signal range doesn't even extend to rooms more than a few feet from reception. So you're expected to pay a king's ransom and then have to walk down to reception each time you want to go online. If you plan to use internet here you are better off pre-arranging a data roaming plan with your phone network at home. Again, for a 4 star hotel this is simply unacceptable. I've stayed in some dives in my time, but free wifi in the reception is pretty much a universal standard and if you pay for wifi the very least any self-respecting hotel should do is ensure it works in the guest's room.

5. Pack your own toiletries because the maids don't seem too sharp on replacing the complimentary toiletries in the bathroom.

6. The TVs have a lot of channels, but the English language ones are pretty scarce (fair enough there's no obligation in a foreign country). The main problem was the English channels were constantly out of sync, the video was ahead of the audio. Although it made Coronation Street more bearable, since it was actually quite amusing for a change.

7. The bathroom was too dark even with the lights on. Instead of a door there is a sliding glass screen that doesn't fully close which doesn't provide too much privacy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Niall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
23.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 26 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Barcelo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing