We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very boutique, tranquil and on trend place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very boutique, tranquil and on trend place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

When arriving at this hotel I wonder where the driver was taking us through Spanish old towns and narrow streets which led to a beautiful hotel with paramount views.
On entering the hotel there was a 15 min wait at reception then a further 25 min wait for your room to be available. The hotel add put on light refreshments and it gave you time to take in the shabby chic surroundings. The furniture was like home from home big sofas and slouching chairs in vibrant colours and a pink bar that stood out.
Once in the room first impression was Faboulous, very on trend with all mod cons, however the room was on the small side as everything was very compact.
Very clean with fluffy towels. Nice size telly and some English channels as a bonus.
We had a sea view room which was spectacular although balcony only small. Recommend you get one of these room. Spectacular. When the cruise liner pass.
Hotel had entertainment but I thought it wasn't for me. The entertainment crew was young and inexperienced.
Food was standard although lots of variety, at times it was cold. Breakfast was good with full English.
Staff were very friendly and hotel manager Naches was very helpful.
The pool on was on the tiny side and siting out there you felt like you were on show.
Roof top jacuzzis were good but again it's only a small place so I recommend you get up there early to reserve your Sunbed.
On a night if you walk out of the hotel and go down slope right there are so bars & walk round to the end you reach a little harbour which is very quaint. ( only 10 min walk )
Your quite a distance away from other resorts so I recommend hiring a car to get you out and about.
If you want a chillax holiday and not wanting to do much then this is for you , however if you like something a bit more exciting and lots to do without the driving then I Don't recommend this for you.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
Green Features: Had so things that was enviro friendly like saving on towels etc
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    1,471
    598
    179
    101
See reviews for
1,929
1,473
53
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

booked a long weekend break for me and my partner through using our tesco points and was abit worried at first on what to expect after reading some very mixed reviews on here-
wow is all i can say! where do i start: the beach is absolutely lovely and the grounds are stunning.

from the airport get a taxi, its only 10 mins down the road and will cost £12

on arrival we got checked in within 5 mins, the reception area is quite nice, got given room 3099, self catering, went to our room and it was ok, abit dated but nothing horrible. the room did smell abit of stagnant water but thought it would go,
went out for dinner and what a choice- there is so many nice restaurants and bars only a 5 min walk away if that, when we got back to our room the air con was leaking and water was running out of it, went straight to reception who apologized and moved us to a different room. We got given room 5118! omg! it was the best room they had i think, sea view, the newly refurbished ones, was so lovely didn't wanna leave, we got to stay there till the end of our break, was very happy, they even sent some of our clothes that got wet from the leaking air con to be washed and dried, was very impressed.

there is so much to do round the area all the little shops, and the market on a Tuesday and Saturday a 5-10 min walk is really good to get a bargain,

the beach is so lovely and because there is a nice breeze u can sit there all day, we didnt go in the pools as i porefer the beach but they looked lovely and there were kids in them all day,

we ate in the wild west, fabo steakhouse, the indian, irish bar for breakfasts really nice,and afew more but cant remember the names and the best bar ever is the cave bar! such lovely men who run it,really nice place and cheap drink, always gave me a bowl of crisps with my drinks :)

I cant wait to return with my kids, they will love it,

We had our picture drawn by a cartoon artist he was really good, and u never get hassled by the ppl selling things which makes it nicer when ur walking about,

hiperdino the supermarkets there are good get everything u need

overall had a really good experience with our first time here and am definalty returning nect year, we are now thinking about buying a villa our there, as we met a couple who have one and love it,

Room Tip: the new rooms are stunning 5000 plus room 5118 was what we had the best position, view ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank haydal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for 7 days with Thomas Cook from 18-25 June 2014.

- The hotel has just undergone an absolutely massive rennovation and this shows - the reception upon checking in is glass fronted, with high rise wooden ceilings and modern furnishings. You get a great first impression when you turn up.

It is located a 5 minute walk from the main "Centro Commercial" which is where the bars and restaurants are. It is a 10 minute journey by car to/from the Airport. Out of the way, but not too far to feel isolated. Very nice.

- We stayed in a standard room which was lovely. It is set out in a Canarian style and has nice light colours throughout with canvas photo's on the walls of local beaches and scenery. The bathroom is very modern, with a rain shower and tiled walls with a large mirror and lights either side of it.
There are also room upgrades which are available towards the main pool in the hotel and to be honest, they didn't look any different. They look to be in a newly built part of the resort and although the bottom row of rooms had jacuzzi's, i'm not convinced they're worth the extra money.

- The resort itself is beautiful. There are 4 pools in total, all of which are salt water which may be a problem if you're not in to that kind of thing. There is a quieter pool which is tucked away from everything towards the other end of the resort, which is a sun trap and has a jacuzzi. It did not tend to get busy at all when we went. The whole hotel is right next to the beach in Costa Caleta - it is literally a stones throw away. The gardens and lawns within the hotel are perfectly kept and you regularly see gardening teams maintaining the quality of everything daily.
There is a supermarket on-site (Hiperdino) which offers everything you need - the essentials such as Water etc are cheap and always available 7 days a week.

- There is a main restaurant which is located right next to the main pool which is where Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are all served. This also looks brand new; it is set in a dark stone style, keeping it nice and cool out of the sun. There is also a snack bar which is just by the main pool area which serves hot dogs, ice creams, drinks etc all day.

- The food was the highest quality I have ever had at an all-inclusive hotel. It is set out in the typical buffet style, with 2 large grills at the end that serve fresh fish and meat. All of the food is piping hot and regularly replaced and replenished. There is more choice than you could wish for - with continental alternatives as well as the standard bits. It is all freshly cooked and nothing comes from a packet. Brilliant.

- Entertainment wasn't great, but to be honest, there are plenty of bars and terraces near and in the resort which give you an alternative in case you don't fancy a Beatles tribute act... haha.

All in all, this is without doubt the best hotel I have ever been to. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Good family resort but not ideal for couples who want somewhere quiet. We would go back but perhaps in November (as other couples there told us it was better then a lot quieter) Food very good and varied. All inclusive drinks were excellent just help yourself if you wanted spirits just ask the barman no problem. Overall a good holiday but not sure if this resort was for us. Don't let this review put you off. We stayed in a bungalow just over the road from reception which was in an ideal location for restaurant, pools and beach but some accommodation was quite away from amenities as it is a huge resort, so would advise to check how far away you are.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Another fabulous holiday at the Barcelo. Cannot fault staff at all levels. They were very courteous at all times. Nothing was a problem to reception staff regardless of the time of day or night. Slight hiccup with our accommodation on the second evening, this was resolved immediately. Looking to return for another wee holiday later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fantastic week. Great 2 bed room 1104. Very quiet and spacious and well cleaned. Food great so much choice and variety at very meal, sun lounger available every day. Salt pools great. Will go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
6 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Love these apartments and they have and are doing loads of building works to the harbour and surrounding area, when finished will look brilliant and nothing interferred with our holiday. we stayed in room 2053 and was a great potition, the reception staff were very helpful, absolutely love the Bar Staff, especially Joselle and Santiago. cant wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaraCroftCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Priceline, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing