We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

All of the following reviews list some areas for improvement, however the overall holiday experience was excellent and are already looking to booking there again next year.
When arriving at the airport we had already pre booked transport to the resort so cant comment on which is better. Pre booking or getting a taxi as some other people have mentioned. All I can say is it was easy, we did have to wait for around 40 for the bus but it was clean and fairly new and overall a good experience.
Small hitch with the bungalow when we arrived, the room was not ready and we had to wait until 4pm while it was prepared, however we were all inclusive and they gave us our arm bands and we were able to use the facilities while leaving our bags in a secure room.
The bungalow 2030 was great, we had a view of the beach and a patio area which was a great sun trap in the afternoons. Small problems with the room were: bathroom door stuck half way between opening and closing which was annoying as you had to give it a bit of a push to get it moving again. Plug socket in the lounge was not working. Some stains on the lamp shades. And the bed closest to the window squeaked like mad every time you moved.
The tv only has a couple of English channels but to be fair you should be out enjoying yourselves not watching the tv.
The staff are fantastic, all were very friendly and spoke English. A special mention for the lady at reception with the very short hair, she was great, very friendly and helpful and deserves a pay raise. 
Most of the pools are seawater and were busy, however we always got a sun lounger no matter what time we went to the pool. The snack bar is also great, I would recommend taking a large plastic wine or beer mug/glass as the cups are small.
The restaurant has amazing food and we never had a problem getting a table. There are a couple of suggestions I would make such as mushrooms at breakfast and the red apples were terrible. Every one was badly bruised and over the 10 days we were there, my son had 2 apples which when cut in half was rotten all through.
The restaurant was well staffed and there was always loads of food and choice. Tables were cleared quickly and again the staff were friendly and attentive.
The entertainment was a mixed bag. While we were there the new entertainment centre opened which was excellent. The entertainment however was not quite so good for adults. We went to watch “Rock of ages” which was on one evening. The whole show was mimed and was laughable because it was sooooooo bad. But the young kids enjoyed it so if you have very young children then the entertainment is good for them but teenagers and above then just get drunk.
Overall this is one of the best holidays we have had, the venue is incredible with great facilities. There is plenty to do and the slight breeze from the sea is a god send at the weather was so hot.
Thinking of booking here? Do it, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
5 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,862
    1,690
    668
    203
    111
See reviews for
2,238
1,727
66
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Not sure where they got their 4th star from! Room and poolside 3 at best.
This was not a last minute or budget holiday, we paid good money because we expected 4 star. We didn't realise that the room wouldn't have a bath. Bit of a pain as our son is 3 and usually has a bath but it would have helped if the shower had any pressure to speak of, it mostly dribbled. Room was otherwise basic but ok apart from the odd cockroach. Good job the beds were comfortable
Pool side didn't appear to be swept or tidied at the end of day and the amount of tiles missing from the pool is shocking and looks awful. Building work going on means a view of containers on lorries on the other side of the wall.
The food and restaurant were very good (we went all inclusive) and the staff were all very helpful.
The beach is really good, lovely to sit out or pay for a couple of sunbeds and a parasol, we went there mostly, better than poolside! Just put something on your feet to go in the sea at low tide as it is very stony.
All said, we had a great holiday and would return, but not to the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank nick1nack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at the Beach Resort, having stayed there during Easter 2013 and once again we had a fabulous time.

The real joy is the 10 min transfer although I would highly recommend a taxi as we had a long wait for other travellers to get on the coach.

Check in was efficient and we were shown to the apartment which was a really nice touch.

We stayed in apartment 2118 which was ideal for the single pool by the bungalows. This was a great position. The apartment was top floor as I requested a few weeks earlier. It was a bit dated but others seem to be in the renovation process.

The all inclusive was again well worth the money for the drinks alone.

The restaurant staff were superb and always courteous.

The only complaints we had, and hence only 4 stars, were the breakfasts were cold to luke warm every morning. This year the bacon, scrambled egg, sausage etc were in pots with lids. They just did not keep the heat.

The evening meals always had variety. If going at peak times make sure you have your elbows working to battle with the other guests who clearly left their manners on the plane.

We have never returned to a previous holiday hotel before so this will speak volumes for the experience we had last year.

This complex is really best suited for families. We travelled as a couple for the first time in 18 years and felt a bit out of place.

Thanks to all the Barcelo staff for making our stay a pleasant one.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Small resort suitable for a week to 10 days. Accommodation great, block 2 was great near main pool and few mins walk to beach. Rooms clean. I went self catering and there was plenty of restaurants few mins walk away. Can't comment on food but did notice drinks were served in plastic glasses which I personally don't like. The beach near is lovely. Bring a dishcloth / tea towel if you intend to do any cooking. I would come back to this place again.

Room Tip: Block 2 or block on same side of road as the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dubfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice hotel in a good location that is close to the airport and all locall emenities. Nice looking resort which is well kept and directly on the beach. Although the tide coming in and out the beach does prevent you at times from fully enjoying the water.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 1Liburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel/bungalow for 2 weeks A/I, rooms for a start are not 4 star quality need an upgrade,reported shower not working 3 times,never fixed,so had cold shower 9 nights out of 14. Food was good though but very busy at certain times but that was fine. Entertainment was poor apart from 3-4 nights the entertainment bar is the only place that you can get a drink if you are A/I at night unless you pay at the other bar on the beach front. The place is far too small for the amount of people staying at the complex, I know they are building a new entertainment area. Pool area is in need of a clean but sufficient for sunbathing pool bar is ok too,beach is a stones throw away and very busy which is good. When we booked through jet 2 it was a LUXE holiday reason we booked but got an email 2 weeks before to say this was no longer available (Shocking).over all I would say it was a 7.5 out of ten could be better, maybe after upgrade I would consider going back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Hotel is nice and clean - but the pool area was very disappointing.
i am aware that there is going to be a new one built and then the Hotel will be better - but this didnt really help on our holiday.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
5 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,711 reviews
37.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Property: Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing