We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at the Barcelo Fuerteventura hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Year at the Barcelo Fuerteventura hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have just returned from spending New Year at the Barcelo Fureteventura and are already planning a return visit in August. This hotel is simply amazing. The only problems we had with our stay was that the sun did not shine enough unfortunately and the water in the pools was freezing! We were given rooms in Block 1 which concerned me at first because of other reviews but we had no problem at all with noise and the rooms were actual suites - they were massive! We stayed all inclusive and have to say that the food here is exceptional, plenty of choice at every meal - our 12 year old daughter is quite fussy but even she managed to find foods she liked. The New Year's Eve gala meal was out of this world - we have never seen choice and quality like it - very impressive. The entertainment team are brilliant - particulary the lovely Lorenzo! Ok - the musical items are mostly mimed but for entertainment value it is hard to beat. The World of Music night was the funniest thing we had seen in a long time! All the staff were very friendly and helpful too. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance if you have any particular requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,945
    2,803
    895
    194
    93
See reviews for
2,616
3,993
134
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,573)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here for Christmas 2012 and the New Year into 2013. This is the best “AI” hotel we have ever stayed in over the festive season. We booked a superior room, which was lovely (cava and chocolates on arrival) and was situated in block 3 (this is where all the superior rooms are located) which, is quiet, and has a partial or full sea view depending on your luck. (Again like many people on this site if we had been allocated block 1 we would have asked to be moved due to the location and the Irish bar next door).
Reception could have been better as we found the receptionist rude and not very helpful, we had the same person on check out (joanne) who snacthed our key cards and said “that’s It” no smile or hope you have enjoyed your stay – the only person we met who was unhelpful during our stay – this doesn’t give a good first impression though.
The food is simply wonderful. I am quite a choosy eater but I always found many things to choose from (not quite sure if the people who complained about the food stayed at the same hotel). The two “Gala Dinners” one on Christmas night and the second on New Years Eve were spectacular to say the least. Lobster, King prawns, clams, mussles, every type of meat you could think of, game, fish oh and the dessert and pudding choice – well what can I say except we don’t know how you did it but it was fantastic. We spoke to people who have come back to this hotel year after year and all said the same thing “fantastic”. As for the staff, they work flat out to provide a first class experience and we reaaly appreciated their efforts thanks to everyone for making our stay a lovely experience. One last thing to mention – the annimation team here are very good and the shows we went to were the best we have seen in hotel entertainment. The hotel has live music shows too, which are anything from bands to acrobats. The annimation teams shows are so funny though they will have you howling with laughter.
Don’t hesitate book now that’s my advice – we will return so see you there!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room as its worth it in the long run. they are in the best location block 3, prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nig14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Mum, dad and I - mum in wheelchair and dad 81. Easy transfer from aiprort (12 Euros in a cab) and highly suitable. Yes lots of kids but spacious and well designed with good food/drinks and nightly show in a large theatre like bar area/Right in centre of resort, which is what you'd expect of a resort, but with a great Spa. Only downside was noise from trolleys on the tiled floors

Room Tip: Disabled rooms on ground floor, near lift to pool and restaurant one floor below
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Just returned from an incredible Christmas and New Year at Barceló Thalasso Spa, Fuerteventura; our 13th consecutive visit....

So what can I tell you.

Arrival

On arrival, although very busy, as always the reception staff worked incredibly hard and professionally to minimise waiting time and I think most people felt that they were the only ones that really mattered, so good was the service. We were soon allocated our rooms and as always, we were fortunate enough to have been given the accommodation of our choice. (special thanks to Christina again)

We were given towels and a safe key and were soon in our rooms, unpacked and by the pool..

The following day we met Christina who works in the office behind reception and who dealt with our booking. Absolutely superb service from this lady who really cares about guests and ensures that they are encouraged to return, as a great many do.

Room

As always, the room was immaculate and included a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and some sweets on a plate...delicious and a great start. Spotlessly clean as always and I noticed that the hotel is undergoing a quiet refurbishment; painting and new decking to some ground floor rooms.

Food

As always there was something for everyone at every sitting; breakfast, lunch and dinner. I think the food has got even better and was delicious throughout including a wide choice.

Christmas Day dinner produced an incredible gastronomic delight which everyone was commenting about; it was simply incredible; in fact that does not do it justice. The choice and quality of food was second to none....or so we thought.

The following day one of the lady chefs (cannot remember her name but typically friendly) asked if I enjoyed the dinner. I said it was incredible to which she said, New Year's Eve is even better.....I thought this was impossible.

Chef Thomas Nunez simply pulled out all the stops for New Year's Gala dinner; it was beyond words. As with the Christmas day meal we were all met and greeted by him and his chefs, waitresses and waiters and invited to partake of what can only be described a feast of unimaginable tastes and an unprecedented gastronomic presentation. SIMPLY INCREDIBLE.

Omar and Lulu, to name but two of the restaurant staff were as always, superb and made time for a chat before our meal. The lady chef soon recognised that I particularly liked a cheese omelette each breakfast and even before I had time to ask for one it was being prepared and ready.....and this she did whilst catering for hundreds of guests.......personal service in a large hotel; absolutely superb.

I thought the quality of the food and cooking was excellent and could not be faulted; Barceló at its best.

ENTERTAINMENT

As always, the Barcelo animation team worked hard from morning till night. The shows were superb; Grease, Les Miserable, We will Rock You, to name but a few were all great to watch. Comedy sketches were hilarious and the incredible Billy Luigi as always had people laughing all night long. His take off of Abba is brilliant but surpassed by his antics impersonating Stevie Wonder.

Some nights entertainment from outside was used which was always entertaining.....never a night when there was nothing to watch or see and enjoy in the fabulous theatre in Barceló.

During the day kids clubs catered for most ages and adults were encouraged to participate in a wide range of games and sports. There was something for everyone.

Guests

A great many guests were people we had seen before and many return to Barceló; that tells you a lot.

There is much else I can say about this hotel but the friendliness of everyone, from Antonio the gardener, to the lifeguard, from the reception staff to management; nothing is ever too much trouble and they are always happy to listen to you and make time for a chat; you are made to feel very welcome in a way we have found only this hotel can, which is why we are already booked for two more visits and planning another already.

I really cannot recommend Barceló enough; since going there we have not ventured anywhere else.

I make these comments having enjoyed many holidays in the Caribbean, Africa, Far East, Australia, Hawaii etc; and find Barceló has a wonderful charm about it, only 4 hours away. Like anywhere, if you look hard enough or are that way inclined, you could probably find a reason not to like it; however, for us and many thousands of other satisfied guests, the reason we keep going back is because it is Barceló at its best; a great place to holiday, where guests are looked after by a superb team of staff and where the clients always come first.

Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and already counting the weeks to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RayGBarrowinFurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We arrived at the Barcelo on Boxing Day and stayed for a week. A very nice hotel - we asked for quiet rooms for our party and got them including a welcome partial sea view. Rooms were very clean,spacious and well equipped including tea/coffee making facilities. We stayed all inclusive and the choice and standard of food and drink was extremely good. The New Year's Eve gala dinner (which we paid extra for) was exceptional with sumptuous choices on offer and the drink flowed freely. The only minor disappointment was some of the evening entertainment. Several bought in acts were fine and of a good standard but on other nights the hotel animation team performed and were obviously miming and did not hold our interest for long. Overall though a very good standard hotel which we would recommend,

Room Tip: E-mail in advance and ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

we didnt stay at this hotel , we went to the buffet dinner it cost 22 euro each , the range of food was fantastic cant wait to go back . the staff were very nice and helpfull , hope to stay at this hotel very comfortable ,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brizyoc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just returned from 7 night holiday at Barcelo Fuertaventura spending christmas in the sun mid 70's. The weather was glorious just a little cloudy and a few spots of rain on boxing day. We stayed in block 1, room was large and very clean. Did not have any noise from irish bar, which we could see from our balcony. The food was brilliant loads of choice and never had a problem with it being cold. The staff were very busy but were pleasent and curtious at all times. Christmas gala night was lovely and wish we had booked to stay for new year! Entertainment was good it didnt matter that some of the shows were mimed still very enjoyable - a good variety Abba tribute, Grease, Les Mis, The Drifters, Soul singer, Magician and the amazing Bejing Acrobats. Amimation team and all staff work very hard to ensure your holiday is amazing - well done. An exceptional hotel and holiday would not hesitate to go back. Well done Barcelo Fuertaventura!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,645 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,413 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Barcelo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing