We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but spoiled by the lack of service in the dining areas and on arriving at resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On arriving at the Hotel after an early start was looking forward to beginning my holiday but was met by bus loads of people all looking to get allocated their rooms.After waiting for 20 minutes we were given paperwork to complete and return.On returning to desk another busload arrived eventually got to desk to be told room was not ready come back in 30 minutes. Thirty minutes later was given map of hotel and room number and were left to find room for ourselves in a maze of corridors. Room however was as reqested and had a good view.On going for dinner in the evening no one explained what was on offer or where to find anything we were left to muddle on ourselves.The same of breakfast all very impersonal and uninviting. Eating was not a pleasant experience. The saving grace was the cleaning staff who were welcoming and took pride in providing a service with a smile. I would not return to this Hotel as I prefere a quieter more personal service.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peeny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,431)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,226 - 4,232 of 8,431 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and myself stayed here the second week in November, after having read some comments we requested the 2nd or 3rd block. On arriving we were a bit put out as we had to sit for about 2 hours before we could get our room key, some people had been there 5 hours. We wee given our key and after a long walk and down in a lift we found our room.....ten foot away from our outside (not veranda or partitioned off) sitting area there were miniature JCB's diggers men with chainsaws all banging diesel fumes and a lot of other what goes with a building site. We immediately called reception to be informed there were no other rooms, to cut a long story short after much discussion with the hotel , the reps and our booking agent we were moved. On arriving to our next room we found peace and quiet,. In general this is a lovely hotel, it is extremely clean and in a great location. Bad points, you have to pay for the WiFi, the food is average with very little staff on in the morning allowing people to come in and take food out as well as filling flasks with drinks, on an evening after we bought a bottle of wine and didn't finish it with our meal we were told we could not take it out of the restaurant. We got the impression the hotel was changing to a more family/ children's place and for a family it is perfect, we however will give it a miss next time we visit this beautiful island

Room Tip: Ask for block 2 or 3 and if you want a private veranda ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor also.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Wow, this was our first holiday away with our 15 month year old son. What a lovely holiday it has been, i'm sitting in the lobby now on our last day sad to leave but happy knowing we have found a place to come back to.

I could sit here and pick very tiny holes in a few very small things but i won't. This hotel is excellent for design, comfort and families.

The location is perfect, only ten minutes from the air port. The rooms are very nice, we were half board and up graded when we got here to all inclusive and superior. So glad we did for an extra 20 euros a day it was money well spent for us.

The activity people, these are the group of people who do the entertaining all day and in the evening. These people are the heart and soul of this hotel they really are. The young women who look after the children are amazing, full of energy and patients. For us they made this hotel and holiday that little bit more special.

Most of the staff are friendly and helpful. No groups of men, i didn't see one person who was drunk.

Overall 9/10 looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and sea view - rooms that start with a 3*** are the superior rooms and you receive...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a very good hotel which is spotlessly clean. It is a large hotel. The staff are cheerful and helpful and the food is very good and the restaurant well organised.
The hotel is very convenient with direct access to the promenade and the beach.
There is a large entertainment area and the professional evening shows were excellent but those provided by the hotel entertainment team were less so.
The hotel bar/lounge is big and the chairs are of a modern design. Most of them are bright yellow and are totally impractical for use in a public space. Even though they are probably fairly new they are now really shabby and need replacing.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel but the resort of Caleta del Fuste is not interesting and lets the hotel down. There is mostly villa and apartment accommodation which now seems to have been abandoned for the winter. There is a small shopping precinct with poor bars and several empty shops. The beach needs a new supply of sand as most of it seems to have been blown away by the strong winds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in block three. It is quieter. Some of the rooms in Block one overlook an Irish bar...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel has to be one of the best for customer service that I have stayed in..my parents are at this hotel at the moment (for the fourth time) and have advised that the staff are still as attentive as they were when I stayed there last year. The rooms have been redecorated to a tasteful standard and although the entertainment programme has been changed the shows are still top class.

Although there are few shops around the area there are busses/taxis to take you to the shops if you need to go but to be honest with a nice pool and a beach nearby there is no need to venture far.

If it's a relaxing break you want then I can strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim7961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel and facilities excellent food very average. Organisation and operation of dining room not good. I would certainly stay there again but maybe just for bed and breakfast. The location is ideal and it is very clean. For me the dining room was the only thing that let the hotel down.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Macthistle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I visited this hotel with my partner in September. I will make this review very brief as it VERY EASY to summarise, the hotel is pretty much perfect in every aspect.
The hotel is clean, tidy, very presentable, you get a great impression as soon as you walk through the door.
The staff are probably the best I have ever experienced, home or abroad. They are approachable, whatever the question and will do there best to make you feel at home.
A special to the staff who put the MANY sporting activities during the day, football, tennis, archery, water polo the list goes on... They are funny, fantastic characters who obviously enjoy there work, they encourage you to join in and participate themselves.
The pools are large, clean and never crowded.
There are plenty of sunbeds throughout the day, even though sad individuals still need to get up at the crack of dawn to put there towels out. Guess what most of these very sad people are English!! Get a life people!!
Rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable.
There is evening entertainment, mostly carried out by the hotel staff. Not the most professional, however nice for a night in the hotel.
Restaurant does a huge amount of food, wonderful selection and cooked to perfection. Personally we ate out a few nights, just for a change of surroundings.
To summarise a wonderful hotel, great staff and service, nice food, lots of activities, clean and tidy throughout. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,900 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,072 reviews
23.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: £101 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q price, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing