We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, poor all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, poor all inclusive”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

April 2014

Booked through First Choice, so all inclusive. Limited drinks included. The maid service will not replace water in the mini fridge in your room - you have a choice of payment options! However, make friends with the waiters - that way you can get unopened water bottles at the end of the day and take them back with you. You can only have wine or beer with dinner - no other alcoholic drinks can be taken into the one and only restaurant.
The pool bar serves salad, pizza, chips and hotdogs - great for kids.
There is only one pool that is heated- the smaller pool, and that is the only pool anyone goes in, so it does get a bit cramped. The other pool is too cold - people jumped in, then quickly ran to the other pool to warm up!
Animation team are excellent. The outside acts are poor in comparison.
You have to pay a deposit for pool towels £10 - standard, you also have to pay to get £2 daily to get them changed. For the in room safe, a non-refundable deposit of £5, and a daily payment of £3. Doesn't sound like a lot, but when you expect to pay nothing with an all inclusive holiday, paying out £50 for things usually included is a pain.
Hotel also has no sunbeds on the beach, so you'll have to pay £10 per sunbed if you want to escape the hotel pool for a day.
Main restaurant is okay, food is typical. I wasn't keen on many dishes so the chef kindly offered to make me a different dinner each night :)
Whole hotel is really clean.
Check out is at 12pm. Every hotel I have stayed in before during peak summer months, has had another room for you (at a cost) if you have a late flight. This hotel tells you to check a couple of days before you fly. Then the day before. Then the evening before you fly. And after all that, you are told that they have no rooms available throughout the 3000 rooms! Apparently this is completely normal for them, so I would advise you to book late check out if you can as this is the only way it is available (not available through First Choice).
Hotel will also remove your all inclusive at the 12pm/check out in peak season - even if you didn't get to the hotel until 9pm on the day of arrival!
NO FREE WIFI!!!!! High charge for WiFi.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar except for the view. We had no option in room selection so looked out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,054
    2,853
    917
    199
    95
See reviews for
2,698
4,080
137
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,586)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UNITED KINGDOM
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

excellent location . Lovely complex for young children. Children love the entertainment at night. Lots of lovely pools great weather. food is good but restaurant can be very busy at times but food always hot and fresh. Great staff . Thanks for brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Block 3 nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hla83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week; room was clean with everything you need... Wifi was not very good and cost extra...food was nice with a large buffet choice for everyone.. Spa is lovely and the massage was relaxing! Little bit expensive though.. Hotel complex is huge, has everything you need including it's own beach.. Had a great time here would come again.. :D

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We visited from the 9th until the 16th of April. Upon arrival the check in queue was huge, even queuing outside the door to the hotel. This is obviously a busy time so I don't understand why they don't put more staff on. After check in we were given our room keys, no towel cards, no safe key.

The room was lovely and the beds are very comfy however it was noted that bed sheets were only changed once during our stay, which is very poor!
We went back to ask about the safe key and it's 3euros a day and 5euros deposit. How ridiculous. I thought it was all inclusive? They also charge you for the wifi with ridiculous prices, how can they say you are all inclusive? You don't even get bottles of water in your fridge and have to pay for any drinks. Nothing like the all inclusive hotels I have stayed in in the Caribbean, who even give you optics on your room walls. The room was so noisy too we were awoken in the middle of the night by cats screaming at each other. If people move about in the room about you can hear it, wafer thin walls.

The food was terrible. The aloe bar had wafer thin burgers, cold chips and plastic cheese for toasties. So terrible! The morning breakfast was poor, scrambled eggs cold and the queue for cooked eggs was always too long. The night time restaurant was even worse. They serve you once then you have to beg for another drink! They're seriously under staffed. The food was same old repeated rubbish, chips, pizza, veal and some salad choices. Went hungry and chose to eat out. Also they're old fashioned and make men wear trousers?? Ridiculous.

The pool was far too busy. Even at 8 o clock most sun beds were reserved yet no one ever come to sit on them? Strange. It's all very cramped and reminded me of Benidorm. The beach was quiet but oh what a suprise you have to pay for sun loungers. I find it deceiving that it is advertised as on the beach but you have to use your key card to get out and then cross the prominade to the beach. Rubbish! Nothing about this hotel is all inclusive, staff look at you funny when you ask for another drink. Can't even use the gym or wifi without having a superior room.

So unimpressed I wouldn't recommend anyone to visit here. Terrible service, terrible food, the weather wasn't even that great.


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LittleLaura22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A fantastic hotel with great amenities for all ages. Very clean, friendly helpful staff, good variety of food and quality entertainment day and night. Pleasantly situated with some shops and bars close by. Shall definitely be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Absolutely love this place. Second my family and I have been here. Food is lovely staff are wonderful and the hotel is spotless. Kids day time entertainment is very good which is great for them to make friends and good for quite time!!!!! I will certainly be going back again.

Room Tip: Block 3 is well away from hustle and bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is very big, it is divided in to three blocks, and consequently it can get very busy around the pools and at reception. We stayed in the lead up to the Easter holiday period and it was noticeably busier in the second half of our holiday. The hotel is clean and well maintained and our room was large, nicely decorated and had a very comfortable bed. The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment works during our stay, though this did not detract from our enjoyment. We stayed in Block 1 which was nearest to the Irish bar, outside the hotel, which played loud music late at night. If you want a quieter room then Block 3 is a lot further away from this. The main restaurant area can get very noisy, as it was very big and open plan. We usually ate in the conservatory area which was a lot quieter. The pool area can get very crowded and sunloungers can be in short supply and, of course, there is the usual problem of people reserving them early in the morning and not using them for several hours. Of course there are notices asking people not to do this which are ignored. It was irritating to be charged for a room safe, wi-fi, and for changing the pool towels. Surely in this day and age these should be supplied free of charge in a 4 star hotel. We booked a late deal with Thomson holidays and thought the holiday was value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GBSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,688 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
3,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q price, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing