We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our 2nd holiday at this resort, I've never returned to the same place before but this one was worth it. The resort is in a fantastic spot, tucked in a bay to shelter it from the winds that Fuertentura can have. It is right on the beach and next to the spa on the beachfront. The beach is beautiful and massively spacious. It has a promenade to walk along in either direction. Ice creams to be bought or bars and restaurants along the way. The resorts pools are just perfect. One large main pool and another cooler (more adults) pool. Then a third shallow kids pool. We have two young girls 3 & 5yrs but definitely didn't want to be overrun by kids all holiday. This hotel had the perfect balance of children, couples, families.

The kids club here is absolutely amazing. The entertainment staff/kids club staff are so lovely and worked extremely hard. The activities are well organised and welcoming.

The evening entertainment is absolutely amazing. I have never ever been on any holiday where it is so good. Firstly there is a kids disco/entertainment if you wish. Then a show every night from 9.30pm. They have a 2 week schedule of shows alternating between outside acts and shows performed by the animation team. All of these (including the ones we thought we might not enjoy) were brilliant. They were all very professional and entertaining.

The food was just lovely. There was always a very large choice. Grilled fish and meat every night. Pasta, salad, continental cold meats/cheeses. Stir fries, A roast meat bar, and about 5 or 6 other choices plus side dishes. Everyone will eat well here as there was so much choice. The restaurant although slightly noisy and large was always clean and tidy and the tables cleared and relaid very quickly by the abundance of staff. We never once waited for a table and the service for drinks was always fast. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

The rooms were great. We had a double room with a pull out sofa bed for the girls. This sofa bed itself was enormous and extremely comfortable. The rooms were left well cleaned and tidy every single day. The balcony was nice too, overlooking the pool. We did have one issue that the first day we booked on we were given a room that overlooked the edge of the complex (no pretty pool or sea view). This must be a very rare room because I would say that 98% of the rooms looked out over the pool or sea. Anyway I requested a move (late at night by this point) and was told nothing was available but to come back the next day and they would move me. Ericka and Daniel on reception were amazingly helpful and courteous and did in fact move us the next day as requested. The only gripe I would have is that the kettles and tea making facilities provided last year have been changed to a facility you now have to pay for. I did miss this. We also requested a late check out for our room as we left for the airport at 6pm. We got it and this made our life much easier that last day.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and would thoroughly recommend it. I would go again.

Room Tip: Block 2 is brilliant. It overlooks the kids pool but is quiet. All the rooms inside are equally love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,793
    2,683
    870
    185
    92
See reviews for
2,533
3,808
129
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,551)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our first trip to Fuerteventura. We chose this particular hotel as I'd recently had an ankle op and needed somewhere flat with everything within a fairly short walk and the beach on your doorstep and that is exactly what we got. Our room was spacious, on the same level as the pools and had a nice terrace with a couple of sun loungers. The pools were fabulous and, although many people ignored the ruling about not reserving sunbeds, we never had a problem finding one. The outside bar is nice to sit in and we found most of the bar staff friendly and helpful. The the restaurant has long opening hours so you don't have to get up too early fro breakfast or dine at what would be tea time, as in some places. The food is plentiful, although perhaps not of the best quality, but even the fussiest eater will find something. If you're having wine stick to the rose, it is by far the better of the 3. We found the evening entertainment not really to our taste and went out to Pierots, a nearby bar, a couple of evenings. We did, however, like the fact that the drinks were served at your table whilst watching the show. Shame about the WiFi but we found the Blues Bar (out the back gate and 100 yds to the right) was a nice place to sit, have a reasonably priced drink and use your tablet for free. Shame there is no evening alternative than sitting in the area where the show is taking place. Even if you don't want to watch it you have no alternative but to listen, we'd have preferred the option of outside seating/drinking some evenings. There was a lot of refurbishing work going on whilst we were there so drilling/hammering/banging noise round the pool area and outdoor bar every day. Over all a very nice hotel which served its purpose at the time but we wouldn't go back as we prefer an area with much more life in the evening and places to visit during the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poozle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This was a return visit to the hotel, attracted back by:

- fabulous hotel-run mini-club, now even better in its amazing new pirate house, which keeps kids of all nationalities happy and busy.

-very good food. First time we'd been all inclusive. Lots of variety, we all had different, good meals every day. Drinks choice on AI also broad and generally decent quality

- very clean, good sized room, comfy bed. As well as the new mini-club house, we noticed our room had fresh, new decor and some of the pool area has been resurfaced (the rest needs doing too)

- large pools, one heated, one a bit more...er, refreshing

- friendly, polite staff. Restaurant staff lovely with the kids. Cleaners etc unintrusive, and say "ola" if you pass them in the corridor.

Slight negatives:

- paying for wifi and safe. At least if you have to pay 25 euros a week for wifi, you should get logins for BOTH adult guests in a room.

- AI drinks ending at 11. Bit early by Spanish standards!

- pool bar shutting at 7. Not everyone wants to watch the entertainment every night!

- rubbish hairdryer. If you need one, take your own.



Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a relaxing break for a five nights. Our room was very nice: spacious, clean and with a nice balcony with a lovely sea view. Our bed was comfortable and we slept well for the duration of our stay. The pool areas are well presented and there are lots of sun loungers. There was the problem of people putting towels down early to reserve loungers but I think that tends to happen wherever you stay! The hotel is well located; close to the town bt also right by the beach. There was a nice bar with friendly waiters and some tasty snack food. We made use of the spa one of the days and it was very enjoyable. A nice way to chill out. The hotel has great resources for adults (and kids) with tennis courts, table tennis, mini-golf and kids clubs. There was a wide variety available for breakfast. I don't know if I could say it was all of the highest quality but there was always something you could find that was nice. The outdoor seating area for breakfast was very nice. Overall, a very nice hotel to stay in. Would definitely stay again if in Caleta de Fuste.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Once again we have enjoyed another fantastic holiday at Barceló Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa: I say "again" because this was our 17th consecutive visit and that must tell you something about the quality of the hotel and our satisfaction with it.

As fairly seasoned travellers since finding Barceló we have not felt the need to holiday elsewhere.

Prior to booking there is our usual exchange of e mails with Cristina, Erika and now Joanne, who are always happy to try to meet any special needs or request guests may make. They are absolutely superb and instil confidence even before you have booked your holiday.

Once booked we are always met with open arms and treated as friends or family.

It is not unusual for returning guests to be met by management and on this visit Maria came out to see us and wish us welcome.
Daniel at reception always takes care of anything you need and the other gentleman, whose name I cannot recall, but who is from Senegal is an absolute gentleman.

So on arriving at Barcelo your welcome provides some indication of how good your stay will be.

Many rooms have recently been renovated and are really nice with some having super new T V's.

New rooms are being made (minimal disruption - hardly know anything is happening) and these will feature Jacuzzis.

The new childrens' play area is special. It is a brilliant construction accommodating both mini and maxi clubs. Another excellent addition to the facilities at Barcelo.

The animation team do a fantastic job providing entertainment for young and old offering a wide range of activities including mini - golf, tennis, sjoelen, water aerobics, rifle shooting and archery....to name just a
few

The pools are fantastic and the surrounding areas nearly all resurfaced....soon to be finished but looking superb.

The restaurant provides a splendid and varied range of dishes every day created under the watchful eye of the head chef Mr Tomas Núñez.

At Christmas and New Year the gala dinners are gastronomic extravaganzas. There is never a meal when there is nothing that is not to your taste. ..A vast selection of food is always available.

If this was not enough the brand new poolside all inclusive eatery offers some plainer options but all of the same high standard. Once again you will find the waiters and waitresses only too pleased to be of service and whilst we cannot name all who were so kind special thanks to Lola and Omar.
Not many hotels have a full sized theatre like the one at Barceló and it is put to great use especially by the incredible animation team.

Offering such shows as Lion King, Grease, Starlight Express, We will Rock you and Les Miserables gives some idea of what to expect and enjoy.

Mini gold awaits those who want to play, along with the Thalasso Spa being available for those who wish to pamper themselves.

There is so much to say about Barceló but perhaps more than anything is the number of returning guests. This shows just how good the hotel is.

On my recent visit I happened to meet someone whom I had recommended, which was very nice; even nicer to hear how delighted they were with the holiday and they too will be returning.

It is a superb hotel; it has fantastic facilities, food and staff; it is in our opinion a second home from home and we are already booked to return another two times and looking to book our third since this last holiday; which will be our 20th consecutive visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RayGBarrowinFurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed again for a week from Easter Saturday. Although check in was fairly slow get past that and we had a wonderful holiday again. There has been some great improvements made .we liked the new all inclusive bar.the pool area is being re floored with very little disturbance .small areas each day.enter tainment just as good . We paid extra for wifi ,25euros a week .kept our daughter happy. A small price today .for the first time we went out most nights after the eve shows,great bar at pieros in the stage bar .second show usually starting at 11pm ,a good night out .all in all another wonderfull stay at thalasso spa .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jackandjill64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice hotel. Well laid out. Good Food although 1 week was enough, maybe a bit repetitive after then. Room was clean and tidy but in need of a little modernisation. Staff very helpful and polite. Entertainment very good but very busy and need to get a seat by 8.30pm which means an early dinner...! Areas of note - If your not putting a towel down on the sunbeds by 8.00am then your relegated to the beach or away from the pool. Not good if you need to keep one eye on the kids in the pool?? Pool bar/sunbed area is filthy. Tables next to your sunbed never wiped. For over a week they we never touched. The same with the floor. You end up with sticky feet and marks all over your stuff. Check in is a nightmare if you are on the coach with the "First Choice/Thomson" transfers due to amount of people checking in at once. Bar area inside for the entertainment is rammed and takes a long time to get served! Pool bar closes at about 6.30pm (April, anyway) so your left with inside bar only which is noisy due to kids mini disco, and entertainment. Would go back but only if it was at a good price otherwise I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRCS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Lastminute, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing