We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice break”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is about 7km from the airport, which is about 12 euros by taxi, we attempted to go by bus but gave up. Everyone (except the taxi driver???) spoke english, to varying degrees of quality, but atleast it was english. I hardly speak any spanish. We arrived on the 8th of April, and were surprised by how nice the temperature was, warm, but with a pleasant breeze. The daily average was about 25 degrees, much better than 11 back in Lancashire.
Our room was a double with a sofa bed, the double bed was more like a king. The room is open plan, with a sink and mirrored wall to one side of the room, and a balcony to the other side. The actual toilet/bath/shower room is not open plan, gladly.
The main pool was rather cold for my liking, but the secondary pool was heated and much nicer, although neither are deeper than about 1.2m, and both are very very salty, I assume this is instead of chlorine.
The sunbeds as per usual are mostly taken by 10 am. -.-
The breakfast is the largest breakfast variety I have ever had at anywhere that i've stayed, they had kiwis, melons, other fruits Ive never eaten, bread that you can slice yourself, smoothies made infront of you, really nice chilled fresh not bits orange juice, doughnuts, bacon(not back bacon but hey ho), and pancakes. Loads of other items at the breakfast that i've forgotten, but I had so much at breakfast that not paying for the dinner didnt matter.

Room Tip: The beds are massive,but if you choose a room with a double and a single bed (a twin), you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mydwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,943
    2,802
    895
    194
    93
See reviews for
2,615
3,991
134
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,572)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Don't expect to be treated with care if you have any issues. This was the worst experience of our lives. My wife slipped on the slope leading to the toilet next to reception and broke her arm in two places. PLEASE WATCH OUT FOR THIS IT IS LETHAL. First choice reps waste of time apart from filling there report they weren't interested in the welfare of my wife and never asked how she was after the accident. The hotel management were just has bad if not worse. Worst repetitive food(also cold) we have ever had unless you like pork. No seasoning everything tasted the same. Wouldn't recommend. The best thing is the bed very comfortable.Cant say anything else good about the hotel, ignorant staff , poor bar service, poor entertainment. DONT GO THERE. This holiday was booked to celebrate my birthday. What a birthday that's when my wife broke her arm 2nd day of our holiday.

Room Tip: Don't go the best advice I can give you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was really pleasantly surprised by Fuerteventura, the resort of Calete de Fuste and Barcelo after reading mixed reviews.

The hotel was lovely, yes the check in was a bit hectic but only took about 20 minutes. We had a room in Area 1 that some of the reviewers said to avoid but we found our room clean, comfortable and the view of the sea was fantastic. As it was a tiled block you could sometimes hear people walking up and down the hall or the cleaning trolleys but the children slept through this, wasn't too disrupting and was quiet on the whole. I don't know if the other Areas are not tiled and this is why other guests say they are quieter?

The pool area is very well done, yes some people put their towels down early but we never could not find a lounger and with two young children we wanted a space in the shade anyway. The Pool bar is nice and looks out onto the pool and sea, it seemed to close quite early though but perhaps its open longer in the summer.

The children's play area and children's team were amazing they were really good with the little ones and had lots of varied activities. You can leave your children with them or stay with them while they enjoy the facilities.

The entertainment was fantastic I was very surprised that's they had shows such as Disney's The Lion King, We Will Rock You and Grease on. Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy them as our children were in bed by 8.30 every night! I did catch a glimpse of a couple of the shows whist my husband minded the children and was impressed.

The food will cater for most dietary requirements, I'm vegetarian and could find something different most nights. I especially enjoyed the Mexican themed night and there was a childrens food section that was also different each night. The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and really made of fuss of the children, its a really family friendly hotel.

I also had a massage in the spa and would recommend it, the facilities were great.

I would recommend this resort to anyone with young families, it is fairly small but seems very friendly and secure. The views are beautiful, there are some lovely walks along the beach and promenade to be had, there are a few little play areas for young children. The shops and restaurants are not going to win any awards but we were half board so only really used them for lunch. My favourite restaurant was Cafe Nero which did freshly made salads, crepes and pizzas. I couldn't find any authentic Spanish/Tapas restaurants unfortunately.

We did hire a car and visit some of the other main resorts such as Corralejo but were really pleased with the resort and hotel that we chose. We are not usually the type of people to return to the same resorts/holiday destinations but I would definitely return here!

Room Tip: Area 1 is fine, don't believe the hype! Just ask for a room that overlooks the sea or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellabella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel was very good but only because we took advice from a previous traveller, we ask for a room in block one or two. We did not want to be right down near the beach, if you do block three is ideal. The food was good, and it is right near local shops and bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank kat712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Major complaint: The hotel does not enforce the "no reservation of sunbeds" rule and as a result it is almost impossible to get a poolside sunbed and you have to use the sunbeds is shaded areas.
Minor complaint: Reluctance to offer a second glass of wine with meals in the main restaurant.
Otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely week away with my partner, the hotel exceeded my expectations! Normally I would book an all inclusive hotel mainly for the drinks, however the food at the hotel is outstanding, a huge range of choice (for breakfast,lunch and dinner!) Dinner had all different meats to pizzas chips, to salads, cheese and biscuits, fruit, cake, chocolate foundation and so on. I was very surprised! The entertainment team at the hotel are superb, they work very hard and put on great evening shows which we really enjoyed. Booking a standard room I was worried, but did not need to be, the rooms are lovely. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, Staffs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Absolutely first rate large hotel comprising three main blocks arranged around two swimming pools. The hotel offers either half-board or All-Inclusive using the usual wrist-band concept. We were half-board as we wanted to explore the surrounding eateries but when we visit again, and we just might, then we'll opt for all-inclusive because the choice and quality of the food on offer is truly excellent and almost cruise-ship standard! The hotel is just located yards from the pleasant little town of Costa Caleta and from a very extensive promenade that runs for miles along the coast giving the opportunity for pleasant walks where you may even spot the local ground squirrels known locally as chipmunks. The only drawback is the constant wind that is always prevalent on this island but it is a warm wind and you do get accustomed to it.

Room Tip: We were fortunate in having a balcony that faced both the mountains and the harbour that was always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cochrane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,645 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,412 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Property: Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing