We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We travelled to the Barceló Thalasso Spa in Fuertaventura for a week in May 2014 with our two children (one aged four, the other aged five months). It was the first time we had been abroad as a family of four. The hotel is located very close to the airport. The transfer was less than half an hour.

The hotel is very clean, looks recently redecorated and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was very nice, although it was a bit cramped with my wife and I in the double-bed, our son in a fold-out sofa bed and our daughter in a cot. The cot, by the way, was the first big plus-point for the hotel. We didn't have to order the cot, they provided one automatically because our daughter's age appeared on the booking. And when we got to the room the cot was assembled and made. When our son was a baby we stayed in hotels which forgot to provide cots we requested or just left a collapsed cot for us to assemble. Our room was on the ground floor right across from the kids club.

The hotel itself is quite large. I don't know how many rooms it had but there were several wings which were up to four stories high. There were two swimming pools, one kids pool and a new children's play area. This had a shallow splash pool with a pirate-themed water slide. There was a kids club next to it. The kids club ran every day and would look after children aged 4 - 12 for two hours in the morning and two hours in the afternoon. The staff that ran the kids club were very nice and great at entertaining the kids. On Friday evenings they ran a babysitting service (although we didn't use the service). There were also a different musical/show on in the hotel theatre every evening, but we didn't go so can't comment on how good they were. The hotel organised excursions too, but we didn't go on any.

The hotel is right next to the beach. There is a promenade going along the seafront which runs for several miles past other hotels and restaurants. There is also a miniature golf course right next to the hotel (not run by the hotel).

There was a buffet restaurant onsite. It served a variety of different cuisines and had themed evenings. But if you didn't like the Mexican/Moroccan/etc. themed food there was always a burger and chips on hand. The quality of food was very high. They also had lots of fresh fruit and fish. More importantly, there was always something on offer that our four-year-old wanted to eat! If you didn't fancy the on-site restaurant the hotel is right next to the town centre and there were any number of restaurants to go eat at. A lot of them fell in to the "greasy spoon" category and didn't look that appetising. There were also a number of small supermarkets next to the hotel with a shopping centre approx 20 mins walk away. We stocked up on bottled water (as you aren't supposed to drink the tap water), snacks and lunch stuff for our children.

We did have a few minor quibbles about the hotel. The first one was that a lot of things that you might expect to come as standard cost extra. We had to pay for wifi (this isn't that uncommon and, to be fair, it was reasonably priced). We asked for a kettle for our room to make formula for our daughter (BTW, it is OK to boil the tap water and use that to make formula). That was extra. We ended up using the bath towels provided in our room when we went to the pool as beach towels were extra too and we couldn't figure out where you were supposed to get them from.

Our second issue was that our checkout time was midday, but our bus to the airport wasn't until 7pm. We asked about late checkout, which is available, but it's a bit of a lottery. You can only request late checkout on the day before you leave and if your room happens to be booked out immediately after you leave, you can't have a late checkout. The hotel was not full, so we were a bit annoyed that they couldn't accommodate us. They stated that we could use the gym showers to get changed if we wished to use the pool but the gym area is under rennovation or being refurbished and it didn't feel safe or secure. We ended up sitting in the hotel lobby for seven hours until our transfer arrived.

You might want to know that the hotel is located directly under the flight path to the airport. Planes flew overhead every hour or so. This didn't really bother us and the planes didn't fly that late in to the evening. It provided extra entertainment for our son!

All-in-all we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with young children. The transfer from the airport is short, there are lots of activities for kids and the food is good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank airfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,849 - 3,855 of 8,591 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Second visit to the Barcelo for 10 nights. Had two teenagers aged 16 who also had great time. Superior room lovely amazing comfy beds, free Wi Fi and robes and slippers nice touch. Spent many days in the Thalasso spa which is free if you have a superior room. The food is amazing - fresh smoothies, love the pancakes and lovely dinners with some theme nights. The entertainment team work very hard and enjoyed Grease and The Lion King plus some professional shows. Did yoga, aqua aerobics and other sports on offer. Very clean and staff all friendly. Hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHelen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Clean, modern, friendly, big, bi-lingual hotel.

Everything about the hotel is new, for example all new furniture and sun beds around the pool. New mattresses, lighting, sofas, showers.

Friendly staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Smart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes, fabulous location, entertainment amazing, food really good for all inclusive and staff so friendly. Only five mins from the airport. I will definitely be back. My wife and two boys had an amazing time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Fergus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

just back from a 7 day half board stay,hotel was ideally located right on the beach,there was plenty of sunbeds at the pools,every thing was a couple of minutes walking distance,restaurants/pubs/market.
would definitely be back.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Waking up to a beach less than 20 seconds away and a town round the corner meant we were in the perfect location! Hotel was so clean and entertainment is good! 99% happy with hotel but pool is to cold

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful hotel and would highly recommend. The staff were friendly and spoke good English and always gave you service with a smile. The room we stayed in was ground level so therefore we had sunbeds on a terrace which was great, very pretty and brilliant for our children. Maids cleaned the room perfectly everyday and were very pleasant. Evening entertainment is of such high quality, lion king, we will rock you, Celtic dancing all done by the animation team, perfect. They really do work hard and this truly shows. We saw an il divo tribute act which were absolutely fantastic, infact all the professional shows were exceptional. Food was delicious, you would never go hungry! The variety of food is huge, with some evenings having a theme ie, italien, Chinese, Moroccan. The service from the restaurant staff was again brilliant. Pool area was fine, we stayed mostly around the kids pool as our children are 3 and 7, very safe with lifeguards always watching. Sunbeds are super comfy with options to raise ur knees up or keep ur legs straight! We hired our pool towels at a deposit of 10 euros a towel but we got this back when we handed the towels back, u can also pay 2 euros a towel to get a fresh one. We didn't do any trips and spent most of our days around the pool or on the beach, the beach is just a stones throw from the hotel. Weather could have been nicer! Very overcast till late morning on most days with some days being overcast all day. It would have been good if the kids could have used the play area in the kids club during the day even without the team there working, there is no park or kids waster slides so my children often got fed up and bored with the children's pool which just had a mushroom style water feature in it! The kids club however was good but I had to stay with my youngest as he couldn't be left on his own as he was under 4, my eldest is quite shy so he only went to the kids club once and that was with me, the staff are fantastic though and make kids feel very welcome and have lots of different activities for them. We were able to keep our room on as we had a late flight for an extra 37 euros which I feel was adequate and I was happy to pay this. Flights were all on time and with just a 10 minute drive from the airport made the travelling a little bit easier and less stressful! Thank you barcelo thalasso for a brilliant family holiday, I would highly recommend you and would love to stay again. We booked through Thomson and stayed half board.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,121 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,992 reviews
23.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Avenida de El Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: £103 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q price, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing