We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Dissappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge Dissappointment”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The look of the hotel from outside is really attractive and the Reception also didn't dissappoint.
The reception staff were outstanding very cheerful and helpful. The rooms were extremely basic, I would have expected more to be honest being on all inclusive such as hair dryer and kettle. The cleaning was just about average. The restaurant breakfast was perfect with every choice imaginable, but this lead us into a false sense of security. The lunch option at the poolside bar was very limited and everything was fried, not what everyone wants. The evening meals where very poor with little choice for adults, moreso less choice for children. After dinner there was a lovely bar to go to but absolutely no entertainment. With the hotel being in the middle of no where, an entertainment package should be paramount to keep guests in the hotel, instead we had to eat out everynight, spending a small fortune on taxi's and meals out. Overall very dissappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nermal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Nermal49

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba.

I sincerely apologize because you haven't enjoyed your holidays as you thought. On one side we truly appreciate receiving honest and constructive feedback from guests such as yourself but on the other side it would have been nice to know about these inconveniences on direct basis during your stay as it would have given us the chance to react at the moment and so to try to fulfill your expectations.For example, if you consider food is no appropiate we cook an special menu as we do with people who have any problem (coeliac disease, lactose intolerant,...) or directly because they do not like what we offer.

Tthanks for indicate staff were cheerful and helpful; I will pass them your impressions.

Nevertheless your comment is very important to us and I can assure you it will be considered when improving the service.

We hope to welcome you back in one of our hotels in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    383
    317
    120
    129
See reviews for
378
566
45
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Was part of group with 'blondiebits' and agree that all inclusive was good value. Plenty of choice for breakfast but the lunchtime 'pool' menu was heap and cheerful if you liked your food deep fried. Could have done with an inside option as paper plate took off in the wind a couple of times. Not appreciated by blondiebits as it ended on her plate. The buffet was themed each night so if you didn't like anything then there was no options. Hotel itself looked 'tired' but unlikely to be updated for a while. Iso our barman for 5 out of the 7 nights was brilliant and had good sense of humour.

Most drinks were included in our all inclusive package otherwise it would have been a lot more expensive holiday. Nothing much to do in immediate area but short walk to Caleta de Fuste for shopping, bars etc broke up the days. As did a hire car for the day. There is a regular shuttle and taxis were cheap too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lileth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Lileth59

I would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay in our Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba.

I feel sorry that yout did not like our menu in the dinner buffet. We do offer every night a variety of cold and hot dishes to choose, every night a different theme with its typical plates acompanied with traditional background music. Nevertheless, we are really glad you enjoyed breakfast buffet.

As you write there is a free shuttle service which takes hotel residents to the town where you can find the beach, shopping center, shops, bars and restaurants. This service leaves at several times a day.

Your congratulations for the kindness of Iso will be transmitted by myself.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend as our first holiday together, absolutely loved the resort peaceful and relaxing! however there is not much to do, & wouldn't advise anyone young! the hotel was pretty much average, we requested a sea view room but when arriving got a room over looking someone opposites balcony and seeing a naked old man isn't the first thing you want to see in the morning! the light in the room was not bright I felt like I was getting ready in the dark, and the room was very basic lacking decor and furniture, on arrival we had dirty towels however when complaining they did provide new ones on the same day, the reps are friendly and helpful with thomas cook! & all in all the service the airline included was lovely! however same couldn't be said about the hotel, there was two pools however the pool located in our hotel no one was in, & the other one was freezing! the sunbeds were rock hard & extremely uncomfortable! We were self catering so couldn't comment on the food however there is lovely places to eat! there is also a free bus outside which is helpful and gets you from a to b! the tv in our room was broken, & the whole room was infested with small ants, the shower goes from boiling to freezing making it impossible to actually wash your hair! the entertainment on the night is pretty much shocking and run by the same man all day. However he tries and is especially good with kids. The entertainment bar is nothing like what I have seen at any other hotel and is in fact old fashioned and small. The hotel is nothing like any other 3 star hotels I have stayed and is nothing like any picture in the brochures. It's just false advertising! The lady on snack bar is rude! If you want wifi go to the dog & duck below the hotel friendly staff! there is also a bar up the road next to trafalgar which has free wifi! The hotel security is also shocking as for our hotel there was no reception only in the one allowing anyone to walk in and out the hotel! All in all we did have a lovely holiday, as we made the most of what we had, however would not stay in this hotel again! and infact spent the whole week at the barcelo hotel over the road! - would highly recommend it's gorgeous!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear NikWos,

I would like to thank you for your comments about your recent staying as well that you share it with other potential customers through this website.

Unfortunately I want to indicate you that the hotel description is corresponding to Castillo San Jorge & Antigua hotel belonging to our network, so please leave your opinion in the profile of the establishment. However I will pass your information to the manager and staff there.

We are honored you have had your holidays at our facilities and we hope you come back soon to enjoy the beautiful island of Fuerteventura in one hotel of our chain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have been to Fuerteventura many times and booked this Hotel as we new the location "Calete de fuste" and on a previous trip stayed at another Elba Hotel.We recognised the the Hotel as we had walked the coastal path way many times. We arrived to find the Hotel was not the one the Holiday company lead us to believe it was they had used photographs from the San George which is in Calete de fuste.
This Hotel is in a place called Nouevo Horizonte which is a residential area and is full of half built hotels etc it is a good 3 miles by road into Calete de Fuste or 2 miles if you walk the costal path towards the San George.
The Hotel is very sad,run down and neglected although I am sure once was a lovey Hotel.
The pool was very dirty and not once whilst we where there was it cleaned!
The room was ok again very tired unloved and cold very cold! No Sun got on thi side of the hotel. The bathroom window was broken and had probably been like that sometime but we fixed that ourselves. We asked for extra blankets it was so cold it took 3 attempts asking different receptionist before we received them (3 Days). We hired a car, thank god we did,we were so disappointed with our hotel we went out all day visting different places on the island so we didnt have to stay around the hotel it was so depressing.
We meet some english people who were residents down the road and frequented the Pizza Place and Mustang Sally's (Fab Night Out - LIve Music) they advised us not to walk the streets as they were unsafe after dark!
Although we love Fuerte we will not being going back or a while as we feel we have exhausted the island on the trip due to the disappointing accomodation.
We hoped to spend our holiday relaxing and chilling be a pool instead we drove the length and breadth of the island and walked many miles!
What a shame!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jui1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Jui1934,

On behalf of the Management and the whole staff we would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on this website. Your comments are valuable to us, as we are constantly evaluating how we can improve our services.

We were therefore disappointed to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations.

About the pool I want to indicate we have an automatic filtration system, Chlorine and pH automatic injectors, an external company which certifys the quality of water, Health & Safety inspections from Canary Government and they are daily checked and reported in our pool control books.

According to your opinion about this area is unsafe, I would like to inform you that lots of us live here, no steal in my hotel for years, police drive through our streets several times a day,..., so it is really quiet. Much more you yourselves haven't referred any unsafe situation.

I also want to point out that our reception staff is always available to help you with any incidence and try to solve problems as soon as possible.

We regret again that you did not have had a pleased holiday but hope to see you back again in the future in one of our 3*, 4* or 5* hotels.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Arrived with friends for a cheap sun get away for husbands pre 60th birthday celebration. Had 3 adjoining rooms which were clean and spacious (apart from small ants) but no sunshine on balconies.

Plenty of choice for breakfast but outside lunches by pool disappointing. Difficult to eat outside by pool when very windy. Each night in the restaurant was a different theme of food ie chinese one night, italian the next etc. No choice if you did not like the theme. Some food overheated if we went in late. Chef helped me a couple of nights when I found the theme difficult (lactose intollerance).

When we hired a car for the day no one advised us when we first arrived that we could have had packed lunchs made for us.

The staff nice and friendly especially Iso. Pity no entertainment in the evenings but we made our own fun. Would not have stayed if gone as one couple.

The free bus was very good and taxis back from town no more than 4 euros.

Room Tip: Check where sun rises and sets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Blondiebits,

First of all I want to thank you for leaving a comment about your trip on this website. It helps other tripadvisor community members and future travellers to find the best location and destination for their holidays.

On one side it is nice to read that you enjoyed breakfast buffet a lot but on the other side it is a pitty that you do not like the lunch and the dinner buffet. Nevertheless it is important our chef helped you with your problem and solve it.

I share your opinion with my staff about you consider they were nice a friendly.

Your comments are noted and taken seriously to provide a better service as it is what we are working hard every day.

We hope to see you back with us and for special requirements please let us know.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here. Rooms are lovely and food fine. The pool bar does lovely fresh meals at lunchtime. Its worth the long walk down to the front of the prom to feed the wild chipmonks. There are loads of them

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibraltar2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear clients,

I would like to thank you for sharing you experience with other tripadvisor travellers an this website.

It is a pleasure to read you have visited us already for the second time and the most important thing it is you have a nice holiday again.

We hope you filled out the Fidelity card application form during your stay so you have the chance to enjoy some advantages in your future trips in the whole Elba Chain as early check-in or late check-ou for free, special attentions in the room upon arrival and free upgrade if possible. A part of that you have the chance to collect points with every stay which can be aplicated to future holidays when reached enough points. If you are not yet part of this program and you like to join please contact our Fidelity department fidelity@hoteleselba.com.

The whole staff of the hotel and me we hope to see you back soon in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any special requests.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a week here. It was exactly as expected after research on trip advisor and therefore exactly what I wanted. I did meet a poor couple from Birmingham who were having to work very hard to entertain their child as there were no other kids and no planned entertainment at all, but it still suited me fine. Plus points, fabulously convenient for the airport, Caleta and Puerto del Rosario. Lovely clean quiet pool area with NO pumping music. Very clean rooms with everything you could need in them - we had 326 which had sun and privacy on the balcony from 09.00-13.00, bliss. Great maid service, very happy with cleanliness in all areas. Lovely pool bar also serving freshly cooked lunches in the sun, thanks for the service and the smile Enrique! Plenty of breakfast choice including the nearest thing to full English I have ever been offered in any hotel out of the UK - bacon, sausage, egg beans etc if you were that way inclined. It could have been hotter and indeed you will always find this problem with Buffet food - but there is a microwave right next to the toaster for your convenience, so nuke it people and stop moaning! We went all inclusive and there was enough choice in the evening meals so that I always found something I liked which surprised me a bit, I was expecting to eat out a couple of times but didn't feel the need once. A regular free bus which shuttles between the Elba hotels. this will get you down to the nicest beach between Atlantico shopping centre and Sheraton in about 10 mins. The little supermarket in the lobby sells British papers on the day of their publishing, not a day late like most places do.

Minus points. We were told the locals call the area Beirut but couldn't see why. It looks like what it probably is, a European building project abandoned when European money ran out. The infrastructure is there, roads, coastal path etc, but there are big bare bits too. They look a lot like most of Fuertoventura in its natural state, bleak and stoney. If you like to stroll around brightly lit streets at night this is not the place for you but those who have commented on how unsafe they felt there should probably watch less horror films. Hotel furniture was rather tired and old, but clean and functional. Pool was unheated and rather cold. I quite enjoyed it once I was in but husband couldn't get in at all! Wifi only appeared to be available in the lobby area and was quite expensive, this was a shame. Still it motivated us to get up and out to places with free wifi which we might not have done had it all been provided!

All in all a very pleasant quiet week at this little oasis of peace in the sun. Wish I could remember all the staffs names, most of them were lovely. Oh, on arrival we were given a room behind the big trees in total shade - NOT what we had come there for at all! The nice man on reception basically gave us a handful of keys and sent us off to choose the room we liked best, 326 which we were very happy with, thanks! Got our break off to a good start and we are both rested, refreshed and tanned. I would happily return to this hotel. I went into the Elba San Jorges while in town for a nose and while very similar the layout of the pool area was not as nice as the Castillo, I was glad to get back!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOELBA, Manager at Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Joanna,

I would like to thank you very much for the detailed review of your stay with us at Suite Hotel Castillo de Elba.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the week and we were able to satisfied your expectations; in fact there is nothing more to add about the facilities you describe.

I will pass on your congratulations to the whole staff who are doing their best to let you feel like at home and spend a lovely holiday.

We hope to see you back again in our Hotel for a future stay. Do not hesitate to contact in case of special requests.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
1.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globales Costa Tropical
Globales Costa Tropical
#1 of 4 in Costa de Antigua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel

Property: Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Address: C/ Teniente Coronel Jose Zerpa Guevara, 8 | Urb Costa Antigua, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotelopia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo De Elba Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Castillo De Elba
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing