We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Risco Dorada formally Castillo Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Reviewed 25 December 2013

On the face of it a perfect place for a quick holiday to Fuertaventura, the reception staff are first rate, and the reception area is perfect. Thats where it ends. The rooms were clean but badly needed a lick of paint, and plastering where the various pieces of furniture had been scraped against the wall, particularly in the bedroom.
The breakfasts were quite nice, but it takes experience to get into the mindset that the bacon can be taken from the serving tray and re-introduced to the grill to 'crisp it up'. The eggs can also be fried fresh, you don't need to eat what is on the 'warming plates' which don't keep anything warm.Apart from that the meals weren't all that edible. The soup was very hit and miss. Varied from clap cold to merely warm , from uneatable to fairly tasty. It was obviously why the microwave oven was on the worktop. The food generally is fairly uneatable. The 5 bars were not available to AI,only the Bufalo saloon which is large and atmosphere less.

Room Tip: Try for a seaview room the ones over the bars can be very noisy until about 3am
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
There are newer reviews for Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights A/I at the Aparthotel Castillo. After staying in The Hotel Tropicano for the previous two years, we thought we would give it a try as we knew where it was situated. The room was in desperate need of paint as most of it was flaked off and patchy, the bathroom was stained in bath and in corners of floor. As for it being A/I the meal at lunchtime consisted of toasted sandwich with a few chips and salad if you were lucky. The choice of food in evening was disgusting, there was salad, and one choice of dinner that wasn't even cooked properly, on two evenings there was no soup. It wasn't as if the place was busy as there were only a handful of peole there. We go away about three times a year and always go 3 star and yes you get what you pay for, but you get nothing in this hotel, we had to buy food from supermarket every day and eat out at lunchtimes. The plus side the staff are very nice and helpful. lots of complaints from others staying there.

Room Tip: Not this Hotel !
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilary88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights whilst touring around Fuerteventura. Our room was spacious and clean, although pretty "tired" with a corner balcony overlooking the pool.

The pool is clean and big but the water was pretty cold.

The hotel is in need of refurbishment but is reasonably priced. Antigua is a resort that has not been completed and offers little in terms of restaurants and facilities. We walked along the coastal path to Caleta de Fuste for our evening meals and found good restaurants there. (It took us about 45 minutes....so we took taxi back to the Elba!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a nice peacfull week away from the crowds by the pool. The room this time was ok. The choice of food not huge but I always found something to enjoy. This is not for you if you want to be entertained or be by the beach. If you want good service and time to yourself it might be for you, it was for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It's interesting to read the other reviews of this place - they vary between love and hate. I think the important thing to take into consideration is how much you are looking to pay. If you want a high class hotel, you have to pay a lot more than you do for this place. It's reasonably priced, but the star rating is probably about right.

We went out of season, which meant the hotel was not very well occupied. It is situated in a little suburb, surrounded by holiday flats and houses (most of which are empty or for sale). You can just about see the sea from the upper floors, but the views are mainly focused over the pool area. There is a free bus service to the local shopping centre, where you can access a nice beach.

We were in Room 106. A ground floor room with access to the pool area. The two single beds needed new mattresses as the springs were quite noticeable. Some redecoration wouldn't go amiss, but the room was basically clean and tidy. Like other guests, we found that the rooms and communal areas were inhabited by tiny ants. We just made sure our tea and stuff were kept out of the way.

If you want to watch TV, you'd better start to learn Spanish, as the set in the room only receives local channels. There is wifi access, but you have to pay for it.

The pool area was clean and tidy, but beware of banging your head on one of the thatched sunshades. I learned to my cost that they scratch! The pool water isn't heated (or if it is, it's not heated very much) so be prepared.

The pool bar serves food during the day - a small selection of snacks are available. Breakfast is a choice of the usual English stuff or a continental option. Dinner is a buffet, usually with a choice of meat and fish, together with vegetables and potatoes/chips/rice options. The food is served hot, but some might find the lack of choice restrictive, especially if you have special dietary requirements.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, with a good grasp of English and a patient understanding of our poor Spanish.

The sports facilities looked impressive, but we didn't get to try them out, so I can't comment.

If you book an apartment, take a travel kettle with you. There are cups, plates and other bits and bobs, but the kettle is an optional extra that has to be paid for at reception.

The hotel is very close to the airport and if you're making your own arrangements, I'd probably recommend a taxi. We booked a transfer with ViajesUrbis, who run lots of services from the airport and had to wait about an hour after we landed for the coach to arrive. Given that you can see the runway from the back of the hotel, it's a long time to wait. On the subject of planes, the hotel is close to the landing approach, so there is some aircraft noise, but it isn't intrusive.

In summary, the hotel is suitable for a quiet sunshine break. There is no intrusive music blasting out and no entertainment team to disturb your sunbathing! The staff are hard-working and friendly. The food and drink are adequate and the rooms comfortable but in need of some sprucing up. Bear in mind that it isn't in a central location or near a decent beach, so don't be disappointed if there's nothing to do but relax.

Room Tip: Third floor room balconies get the sun for most of the day, if you don't want to wander down to...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We arrived in Fuerteventura at 6pm on a Saturday. We had booked a studio apartment at Suitehotel Castillo de Elba. Outside the airport we gave the taxi co-ordinator the paperwork relating to the hotel. The taxi driver was instructed where to take us. When we got to the hotel we were told it was the wrong hotel and that we had actually booked for its sister hotel 3 km away nearer to the airport. Other travellers have commented in other reviews about this confusion, and if the local taxi drivers get it wrong what hope have tourists got? It cost 12 euros to the first hotel and another 6 euros to the second.
Check in was fine. The room was tired and basic. The sliding door to the balcony stuck and was difficult to open. However we settled in for the night. The room was very hot and there was no air conditioning. We could have hired a fan, but along with various other things like a kettle and the TV remote control, they have to be hired from the little hotel supermarket would not be open until Monday. The young man at reception did offer to lend us a fan for the evening, which we declined.
We had brought tea, coffee and breakfast supplies with us and put them out in the kitchen. The next morning tiny bugs were crawling all over the sink, and in all the supplies, which had to be thrown away.
I rang Thomas Cook to see if we could be moved to another hotel and was told that they couldn't do anything until Monday. On Sunday morning we managed to find another apartment in Caleta and checked out.
We didn't complain to the hotel staff as none of it was their fault. However I believe that more people will be misled into booking this hotel believing it to be the one in Caleta de Fuste, not as it turns out in Costa Antigua.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Jean-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were moved here due to our initial hotel not being to our liking, and we were pleasantly surprised. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel was a little tired and could do with a bit of a make over. Pool clean and tidy, pool bar cooked lovely lunch fresh for you, quiet with plent of sun beds. Restaurant food basic not much choice but could normally find more than enough to eat. Excellent tennis lessons available and a very good price, well worth taking your trainers for. A lovely place to relax in a quiet environment in the sun.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
1.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,516 reviews
1.2 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,377 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Globales Costa Tropical
Globales Costa Tropical
#1 of 4 in Costa de Antigua
1,864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,030 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#6 of 27 in Antigua
4,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel

Address: C/ Teniente Coronel Jose Zerpa Guevara, 8 | Urb Costa Antigua, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: £57 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo De Elba Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Castillo De Elba
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing