We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, but no entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, but no entertainment”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed for 10days over Christmas. We decided to go self catering after reading reviews, and are grateful we did as all we heard was complaints from AI guests.
The down side of SC was there was no kettle/only 1 saucepan and limited cutlery, HOWEVER this did not really affect us as we were out for meals every night. The rooms were huge and your typical Spanish SC apartments. There was always plenty of hot water. Maid service was every day, except Sunday and Christmas Day, which was more than acceptable.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, pool area was lovely to relax around, though being SC it was a pain having to go to reception to pay for drinks, to go back to pool bar, we got over this by buying our own drinks at the shops.
Yes the hotel looks tired and could do with a lick of paint. Only real complaint was we were there for 10days over Christmas, place was busy yet the hotel offered no kind of entertainment, no music around the pool/ nothing to encourage you to remain in of an evening. But we did enjoy and the location was fine, 15min walk along well paved, lit coastal path into the town.
A must is the Stoners Irish Bar, Bobby and his staff are lovely, welcoming and can't do enough for you, 2mins walk from apartments. There is 7restaurants/bars within 5min walk, all lovely and welcoming.

Room Tip: Pool view is a must and 3rd floor (top) would be best round the pool to appreciate the entire surrou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    396
    322
    125
    134
See reviews for
389
587
46
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Have just returned from this Hotel (the one in Antigua) after spending Christmas and New Year there. On arrival in reception the first thing I noticed were the dreary armchairs, the stray cat and the receptionist with the hem hanging down on her skirt. From there it got worse. The complex is very badly maintained. Patches of bird pooh never cleaned from the ground, broken and dirty sun loungers (and not even enough of them), walkway to our room was up stairs where lights were broken - broken tiles (which I fell on). In our room the towels were ripped, there was not enough pillows or blankets (it took 48 hours to get them) the phone didnt work, the tv didnt work - I fixed the lock on the patio door with a knife as it was hanging off!. The staff ( with the exception of the gentleman on reception in the evenings who was very helpful and polite) were uninterested in complaints as it became obvious that people were constantly at reception complaining. It is staggering that this complex has been allowed to become so run-down, when it could be really great. It has tennis courts (with a Tennis Pro for lessons if you want), badminton courts, squash courts, volley ball courts etc, but the rooms and main hotel are beyond grim. One one occasion a cockroach ran over the countertop in the kitchen, causing hysterics. The bath was covered in rust stains and there was no plug even if I had wanted to use it. The food is very bog standard, but certainly not the worse I have seen (even though we were AI we started eating out all the time. I cannot think of one person who would find this hotel acceptable.

Room Tip: If you are going, ask for a ground floor exiting onto the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbfDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Been staying for a week during xmas and new year, huge disappointment. All-inclusive should start at 10 but first bar opens at 11!!! Then first food you will get from it around 11.45 as "machine must heat up"
Food is terrible at buffet and breakfast finish 9.30, then dinner start 18.30 and for lunch you only getting poor choice of food at pool bar.
I paid for all-inclusive but eventually I spent double this money by eating and drinking outside! Made a complaint to reception and manager supposed to see me but I was ignored.
Staff do a great job to make you happy but they are powerless as its always one bartender in bar doing drinks as well as food so you end up waiting for long time.
Speaking with many people and all where upset with whole this place, many times heard arguments with receptionists or bartenders due to service.
Basically, avoid this hotel!
On second day paid 25 pounds for week WiFi only to find out that is not working properly, after complaint receptionist agreed to this and said he will cancel my login and return money to my paypal account- just found out that he did not!!!
Good job we had a great fun with friends outside otherwise holiday would be spoil by this hotel!

Room Tip: best room is in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pivcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

On the face of it a perfect place for a quick holiday to Fuertaventura, the reception staff are first rate, and the reception area is perfect. Thats where it ends. The rooms were clean but badly needed a lick of paint, and plastering where the various pieces of furniture had been scraped against the wall, particularly in the bedroom.
The breakfasts were quite nice, but it takes experience to get into the mindset that the bacon can be taken from the serving tray and re-introduced to the grill to 'crisp it up'. The eggs can also be fried fresh, you don't need to eat what is on the 'warming plates' which don't keep anything warm.Apart from that the meals weren't all that edible. The soup was very hit and miss. Varied from clap cold to merely warm , from uneatable to fairly tasty. It was obviously why the microwave oven was on the worktop. The food generally is fairly uneatable. The 5 bars were not available to AI,only the Bufalo saloon which is large and atmosphere less.

Room Tip: Try for a seaview room the ones over the bars can be very noisy until about 3am
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have just returned from 7 nights A/I at the Aparthotel Castillo. After staying in The Hotel Tropicano for the previous two years, we thought we would give it a try as we knew where it was situated. The room was in desperate need of paint as most of it was flaked off and patchy, the bathroom was stained in bath and in corners of floor. As for it being A/I the meal at lunchtime consisted of toasted sandwich with a few chips and salad if you were lucky. The choice of food in evening was disgusting, there was salad, and one choice of dinner that wasn't even cooked properly, on two evenings there was no soup. It wasn't as if the place was busy as there were only a handful of peole there. We go away about three times a year and always go 3 star and yes you get what you pay for, but you get nothing in this hotel, we had to buy food from supermarket every day and eat out at lunchtimes. The plus side the staff are very nice and helpful. lots of complaints from others staying there.

Room Tip: Not this Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilary88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopsteignton
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights whilst touring around Fuerteventura. Our room was spacious and clean, although pretty "tired" with a corner balcony overlooking the pool.

The pool is clean and big but the water was pretty cold.

The hotel is in need of refurbishment but is reasonably priced. Antigua is a resort that has not been completed and offers little in terms of restaurants and facilities. We walked along the coastal path to Caleta de Fuste for our evening meals and found good restaurants there. (It took us about 45 minutes....so we took taxi back to the Elba!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a nice peacfull week away from the crowds by the pool. The room this time was ok. The choice of food not huge but I always found something to enjoy. This is not for you if you want to be entertained or be by the beach. If you want good service and time to yourself it might be for you, it was for us.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
1.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Globales Costa Tropical
Globales Costa Tropical
#1 of 4 in Costa de Antigua
1,807 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel

Property: Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Address: C/ Teniente Coronel Jose Zerpa Guevara, 8 | Urb Costa Antigua, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo De Elba Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Castillo De Elba
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing