We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A weeks All Inclusive, but Self Cater would be better value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A weeks All Inclusive, but Self Cater would be better value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have just returned from a weeks All Inclusive holiday with my two sons, (12 & 14). Having read previous reviews I choose this hotel for its "value" and the fact that the rooms had recently been refurbished. So let me start with the positives, the people and staff are extremely friendly, hard working and when needed always attentive. The restaurant offers a daily selection of choice all of which is well prepared, supplemented by a poolside snack bar throughout the day. If your children are under twelve then I would suggest the animacion team provide plenty to keep all occupied. The rooms are a good size and well equipped if a little basic. Disappointingly our room wasn't one of the refurbished but despite the rather basic furniture was certainly comfortable enough.
The two pools are perhaps a little small for the size of the residence, and certainly if you want to spend the day by the poolside then you will need to locate your sun beds by around 8.30am to guarantee a spot.
If I were to make two constructive comments then I would say management could do a little more to make the restaurant choice a little more interesting. I was surprised there appeared to be no daily fresh fish selection and if you happen to be vegetarian you would be very limited for choice for the week. Secondly the wifi situation is very poor. Both the weekly room option (€25) and the daily option (€7) failed to work and I have to say I wasted the money trying to use wifi in and around the hotel. The free wifi is limited to one hour a day and only in reception. Perhaps you could argue you shouldn't need wifi on holiday, but with two teenagers that simply isn't living in the real world. Could do a lot better.
I decided not to have every meal in the hotel and certainly the choice in Caleta de Fuste, just a ten minute stroll along the boardwalk, is excellent. My advice would be not to go all inclusive again but sample the restaurant fair in town. Even better, hire a car and go explore, there's lots to see and do outside of the resort itself.
Finally a quick shout out for the Dog & Duck. Not part of the hotel itself but on the same site. Very good place for pre dinner drinks if you are eating in or out of the hotel.
I will certainly return to Caleta de Fuste, it's certainly warm and pleasant. Perhaps not to the Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, but largely through personal choice rather than the hotel itself.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are in the Residence San Jorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SEJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear SEJC,

thank you very much for your detailed review and for your constructive comments. Your feedback is the best way we have to know if we are going on the right path or we can improve something.
I appreciate your mention about our staff, our restaurant and our miniclub, we know how important are the holidays for your kids.
I also note your suggestions and we will keep working to give every day a better service.
In case you decide to come back will be a big pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    988
    402
    143
    97
See reviews for
1,089
1,127
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We're just back from a fabulous holiday! There was a group of 16 of us 4 families each different experience
When we arrived we were lucky enough to get checked into a room I say lucky as one family of our group with young baby didn't get checked in for few hours....
But it does state check in from 3pm....
Anyway
We had a booking for San Jorge...
Arrived at desk with my sister and friend we all got checked in straight away in Antigua side...I asked if any sea rooms available unfortunately there wasn't...I said I have the fidelity card but still no...my friend got upgraded to bigger room and my sister was told that drinks were in her fridge!!!
I asked about drinks and was told yes they would provide some because of fidelity card....but nothing arrived...I did mention again following day ...still nothing, so my fidelity card stood for nothing!!?? Disappointed....

Room was spotless. Beds fabulously comfortable.
Bathroom door wouldn't close...but I'm not a fuss pot so never said...towel rail falls off....bedroom door needed a big bang to close it!!
Pity no full length mirror...
All silly fixable things...
I would recommend to bring usb stick as tv can take one for films etc!!
Only English channels were news and sport
My friend who got upgraded had true movies also???Don't know why it wasn't on all tv's...
My fridge worked perfectly!! But my sister complained 3 if not 4 times before they changed it as every thing defrosted and went sour...in hers.
Pool was fab entertainment was ok...Great for kids not so much for adults!!
We were self catering so can't comment on food...
Overall beautiful place great hotel just needs a few tweaks..
I would stay again and recommend anyone to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VERYIRATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Very Irate,

thank you very much for writing this positive review and for choosing us for your summer holidays!
I'm sorry about the misunderstanding about your fidelity card, will not happen again; fortunately your stay has been enjoyable and is a big satisfaction for us to know that you would like to return! Thank you as well for recommend us to anyone!
Next time please contact to me before you arrive, will be a big pleasure for me to manage personally your reservation.

Sunny regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the elba San Jorge for 2 weeks self catering (upgraded to half board) August 2nd until 16th. Family of 4, 2 adults 2 teens. I must say we had a really nice break and the hotel was lovely. Situated on the stoney coastline the views from the sea view rooms we had were fantastic. A 10 minute walk to the beach is well worth it but make sure you ask directions from the rep or reception or you may end up taking a lot longer if you follow your nose. 5-10minute walk to shops and restaurants with the "Trafalgar" being our most preferred eating hole (2nd restaurant you come to) portions were very very generous and food quality was top class, there's a lovely lady there who we nicknamed "rusty" because when she laughed everybody laughed!
Food in the hotel was also very nice and all 4 of us had different dishes everyday and we are normally extremely fussy eaters!
Staff throughout hotel were top class, always smiling and helpful.
Rooms were very nice, well maintained and very comfortable.
We can't comment to much on the entertainment as we didn't see much of it due to lack of seating area at night and no sun loungers whatsoever in the day but when we did manage to get to see it did look ok, the animation team are really good. The setting for the evening entertainment is lovely and is held in the centre of the hotel Antigua.
Pool area is nice, main pool area is quite windy but it's still nice. Good luck getting a sun lounger! If you like to take advantage of being on holiday and having a nice lie in everyday, going for breakfast at around 9:30 then go try get a sunbed after, good luck. The hotel decided to lock the sunbeds up as people were reserving them at 2/3 in the morning!!! This kind of worked a little but when I got up early one morning it was just embarrassing watching people stood there waiting at 8 in the morning wrapped up in their towels standing in the spot they want their sunbeds until they came and unlocked them at 9:30 then it was rush rush to get the beds set up how they wanted them even though the hotel staff are supposed to set out the beds. People would then put towels on the beds and sometimes not come back for hours! We managed to get 3 beds between 4 of us one day at about 12pm (in the shade though) and the beds next to us were covered with towels all afternoon. We just gave up after a few days and hit the beach instead where 10.50euro gets you 2 beds and umbrella for the day.
There's a cracking little on-site pub called the dog and duck it's very very friendly with free wifi, cheap beer, pool tables, full size snooker table, table tennis, darts and some retro Atari games machines.
If you fancy a bit of some good old karaoke and party then there's a small bar called the bar4 it's really friendly and fun but also very small. If you are expecting anything else in the way of nightlife then I'm sorry there isn't much else in caleta other than eateries and hotel entertainment.
Bike hire at the hotel is worth a go for something different, 10 euro per bike per 24 hours is really good value but if you struggle to get one then there's a place called cool runnings only 10 minutes walk away that hires bikes for the same price. Don't worry about locking them as there's bike park where you can lock them up at the hotel.
There are supermarkets called Dino market they are pretty good value for money and there is one about 5minutes away. If you want a good exchange rate then there's a little gift shop directly opposite the nearest Dino market and I was told that they do the best rates with no commission.
I've tried to cover as much as possible (as you do) and I hope that it's helped you guys out but one thing that I really must say is please be careful of the sun combined with the wind. Many, many people burnt while we were there (us included) you just don't feel yourself burning because of the wind. I'd check the ingredients of your sun cream as well because some clear sprays main ingredient is alcohol and just makes it worse if you put it on in the sunlight.
Overall we loved the hotel and everything about it, would we return? I'm not sure, but only because we like nightlife and the wind was annoying at times. But the hotel itself is fantastic. If you've booked already then relax and look forward to a really nice break away but, like us try not to let silly little things bug you.
Tips:
sign up to their fidelity card (it's so easy) it's elba hotels website.

There are some rooms where balconies are right opposite each other and are right on top of entertainment and pub, if you don't want a room like that and (unlike us) want peace and quiet then best to email the hotel and ask if possible for pool view/sea view or even road view and you should avoid them.

Good luck and happy holidays!

Thank you to all at Elba San Jorge for making our holiday enjoyable.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
21 Thank mattjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Mattjarvis,

first of all thank you very much for your positive review about your experience in our hotel, is a big pleasure to read your kind words and we are so proud to have met with your expectatives.

Your feedback is the best tool we have to know if we are going on the right way, I'm also happy to know that you appreciate our facilities and for writing such a complete review!

The best reward is to read that you would like to return, I hope to see you back soon.

Best regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a week from 23rd July on a self catering basis with my three daughters. I booked a one bedroom apartment with a sea view in the San Jorge section. It was very clean and quiet. The only annoyance was the fact that all of the sunbeds were "reserved" by 9 in the morning. We just headed for the lovely sandy beach approx 5-10 minutes walk away and paid 10 Euros for two sunbeds and a parasol. A very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xxAnniexx1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear xxxanniexx1967,

thank you very much for sharing your opinion on this web site and for this good valuation!
I note your suggestions, and we are doing a big effort to achieve the best solution possible about sunbeds policy, will not happen again.
Hope to see you back!

Best and sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good holiday, although you do need the rooms with both the bedroom and the living room facing the outer balcony as the sounds of people pulling suitcase past early morning is a little frustrating. Good entertainment team, who worked hard all day to entertain the kids. food was okay, and being able to get ice cream and yogurt during the day was a bonus for the kids.
not much noise from passing planes, as your not on the flight path don't understand some of the previous complaints.
Nice beach a 10 minute walk along a pleasant beach path, with few sellers!!!

Room Tip: The free wifi is only for 1 hour a day and you can only take it in reception. lots of local shops f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear johnstephens,

thank you very much for sharing your experience of your stay, but over all thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
I'm so glad that you have spent a good time with us, is a big proud to know that your stay have been enjoyable.
I have also note all your observations in order to keep improving, your opinions are our priority.
Hope you decide to come back and visit us again, see you next time!

Best regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed a week here with my girlfriend. We got lucky and got a room overlooking the seafront with a beautiful view. Some of the rooms however that overlooked the pool would have been alot noisier. Although we were told it was a self-catering apartment. It was a hotel room with a fridge. No kitchenette as i expected. This didn't bother us but if we were there with kids i can see this as being an issue. The Place needs A/C in the rooms also.

I would recommend this place but pay the extra and get a room with a sea view.

Room Tip: the hotel seems like it was once 2 separate that are now one. The Antigua is the main hotel with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear froggerdonkey,

thank you very much for taking time to write this nice review, I appreciate your kind words and I note all your observations in order to keep improving our services.
I hope you decide to come back and visit us again, you will always welcome at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua.

Sunny regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have just returned from a week stay all inclusive with the family and we all had a great time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was nice, and the family entertainment with Oswald and the rest of the team was excellent and definitely one of the highlights of the holiday. The location next to the sea is nice with the black rocks and is good for a few photos, especially if you can spot the chipmunks. It can also get quite windy here, as well as in the hotel at night, and you may want a long sleeved top if enjoying the in-hotel evening entertainment. The beach is about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel, pleasant and quieter than expected, although there are a number of rocks/stones which make walking in the sea uncomfortable. There were a number of bar/restaurants, shops, commercial centres around the beach and hotel, and we did stop at a few of the bars for a change and found the food equally as nice. However the shops were a bit average, with mainly low quality goods, not dissimilar to Skegness. Thinking back on the hotel, the room we had was acceptable, but nothing special or exceptional, and check-in took around 30 minutes, although this might be expected as we did arrive with a large party. Whilst the hotel operated a policy of not allowing deckchairs to be reserved, this was largely ignored, and we would have to get down with our towels by 7.30am to ensure a spot. Somebody must have complained though as on our last full day the deckchairs, which were usually just piled up, were padlocked, resulting in a queue of people waiting for them to be unlocked after 9am, and an uncontrolled free-for-all. All in all a great week and Oswald et al deserve everything they earn and more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gameover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTILLOSANJORGE, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear gameover69,

thank you very much for your nice and positive review!
I'm so happy to know that your stay has been enjoyable and we have met your expectations.
Thank you for mention our facilities and our good location, and I will personally take your greetings to the animation team.
Hope you decide to come back soon!

Sunny regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
Barcelo Castillo Royal Level
#2 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 28 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua

Property: Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua
Address: Franchy Roca s/n | Urb El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Caleta de Fuste and only 500m from the Castillo beach and town centre, the Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua suite hotel has everything you need for your self catering holidays. The town centre boasts several shopping and leisure centres, while the beach offers a variety of water or beach sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castillo San Jorge / Antigua / Caleta De Fuste
Castillo San Jorge
Castillo De San Jorge
Suite Hotel Elba Castillo San Jorge & Antigua Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing