We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !!”
Review of Caleta Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caleta Dorada
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great !!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here ( the first 2 we stayed all inclusive ) this time we opted for self catering as we were not impressed with the meals the last time we visited. As all the sensible people have said ' if you want 5 star then pay for it ' rooms could do with a lick paint but they are very clean. Reception staff are very helpful. The sizzling pig bar just behind the complex is very friendly and has happy hours ,shows all sports and has free wifi. Good place for a very reasonably priced winter sun holiday.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank mags1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    897
    643
    284
    217
See reviews for
1,208
775
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Central to all amenities staff and services great. Breakfast was very good bungalow was very clean and all pool area's were cleaned every day.peaceful break.local bus and mini train service's on time and good value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was worried about going here after reading the reviews on here, but if you are going here fear not you will have a great time !!! I think there are people who pay 3* price and expect 5* for whatever reason??? The bungalow was perfectly adequate and cleaned three times in the week, yes it could have a lick of paint but it was CLEAN and ANT FREE!! I expected an infestation after reading other reviews. The food we found was great. Yes a bit samey, but you are going all inclusive so not quite sure what people expect? Lots of salad, different meat every night, lots of fish, breakfast best meal, absolutely fab. Kids loved pancakes and omelettes. Main pool area had great little water park on for kids, nice kids entertainer doing her bit with mini disco and bingo and usual parrot shows and stuff, all good for kids. Pool was fab, warmed up as week went on. It was only end of March so didnt really expect it to be like a warm bath. Saw it being cleaned every morning. Great location. We booked excursion to lanzarote for the day to see volcanoes really good for the kids. Found all the staff really friendly and nothing any trouble. Get the usual queues for drinks as with any all inclusive I have been to. If I had paid 5* for this place I probably would moan, but overall we had a fantastic holiday at a flippin fab price. There are lots of planes going over but to be honest drinking a cold beer in the hot canarian sun, we couldn't give a monkeys!! Dont bother paying lots for transfers from airport, taxi only 12 euros. Main beach OK but not got the wow factor, wander along to the right further up to the atlantico centre (two pyramids) and beach gorgeous there with a lovely little bar out on a wooden walkway overlooking the sea. If you are going here, you will have a great time, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Together with my Spanish boyfriend, we decided to buy an all inclusive trip to go away from rainy Uk in March. We have been in Corralejo area before and enjoyed so much, so we picked this place very quickly without reading any reviews, thinking will be similar but unfortunately not. We chose to have a transport from the airport to resort, but we had to wait 1,5h for us to be picked up with others, as the bus was waiting for more planes to land and dropping people to many different hotels. We were concerned that we will miss the dinner, as it was finishing at 21:00!!!!! Very early!!!! Just as well the receptionist at the check in, gave us a wrist band straight away and said we could go and have some dinner by leaving the luggage in the reception!
The room was specious, clean with cooking equipment, however when we walked in, the smell of cigarets was terrible. We found one BIG cockroach in the toilet, but that's normal as it volcanic island, so no surprise for us. Most of the week we missed breakfast as timetable was only early hours (8-10). Honestly, who gets up at 8 am whilst on holiday, so we had to wait until lunch. I was expecting more local food like seafood, traditional dishes, Spanish salaad etc. Instead of what we found was: pizza, chips, loads of deep fried food, everything was either pre- frozen or tinned, including even desserts. Also don't expect to have a proper coffee machine, to enjoy the expresso which is a basic thing (machine) in Spain to have. The staff in the restaurant was very misserable, especially one girl. I am surprised with crisis in Spain , not even a smile and hello to attract customer to come back.
The next day I went to reception ask for the wifi but it was 7 euro for a day or €25 for a week! Never seen high prices like that. Plus only one free Spanish channel on the TV, as the other free didn't work and the rest of channels was €20 for 7 days or €4,5 for a day!!!! It's seems that it's all inclusive and you have to pay for everything. The bar (the only one which was open), didn't seemed to be very good. Only 2 drinks allowed per per person, why? With all inclusive? Local alcohol, which you didn't know what you were drinking. No bottle water in the bar neither so with all inclusive again, you had to go to the shop and BUY a water. Animation very good, every day something different: singing, karaoke, bingo, quizzes.
Swimming pool water was extremely cold so we stayed at the terrace sunbathing.
The beach was 15/20 minutes walk but it was too far, to keep coming back for lunch and dinner. The area is typical for English people: expensive, English food, including British doctors, shops and I would say - everything else! Even a Canarian supermarket we found was without a typical Spanish food like orchata, fuet or chorizo!!!!!!!
I wouldn't recommend to come to this area (mainly) and the hotel at all!!!!!

Room Tip: Room on the other side of the swimming were nice and not far from reception nor bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asiczek_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

First of can I state we paid a mere £230 per person for 5 nights all inclusive including flight and transfers and thought we got fantastic value for money. The accommodation is basic but clean - what more do you want for that price?

The food was plentiful and a large selection - for breakfast there was cereals, continental, full English and fruit. Lunch there was a selection of salads, pizza and pasta, hot food cooked to order and for Dinner there was always salad, 3/4 hot choices, an Italian section and again there were breads etc.

There were 3 pools all clean (cold but clean) - yes only one of the pool bars was open but that was around the largest pool and there were always sunbeds available if you wanted to sit and slug larger all day. The other two pools were quieter. We walked around all the accommodation and none of the bungalows were further than a 5 min walk from any pool, restaurant, reception.

The people who are moaning about steps and no kettles - come on - how can you call this a valid complaint - a few steps is either life nor death and there are pans to boil water if your that desperate for a cup a of tea.

The location was 10 mins walk from town and 15 mins walk from the beach.

The staff were helpful and yes you had to pay for WiFi and the TV but you are meant to be on your holidays so why would you even need this?

No this hotel is definitely not a 4* it is more of a 3* however that is reflected in the price you pay and anyone with any common sense and half a brain would recognise that.

Overall I thought this hotel was cracking value for money. I would not rush back as I don't think the Island itself has much to offer but if you are a fan of the place and are on a budget I would definitely give this place a try.

Room Tip: A Block has a lovely quiet pool and is close to reception and the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica Scarlet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Was really amazing! Island is very small, so try to hire car, its not expansive, This hotel is the best choice, becouse is on the middle of Island, so if u want to go on north (Grande Playa - the best beach in the world!!!!) then u have just 20 km - and amazing view on the way!!! To other side, i mean south u have just 35 km - so u can see hole island - best acces from middle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Mariusz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We came back last Friday from this accommodation and cannot complain about anything at all. We paid very little for all inclusive, lovely pools, pool area very clean.

Pool bar under cover, but also this is where the main entertainment is on a night and as it was very cold on a night, we had to wrap up to keep warm. All inclusive snacks included hot dogs, tuna and sweetcorn sandwiches and cheese and ham toasties, fruit, biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cappuchino all day too. Hot sandwiches made while you wait. 2 drinks allowed each time at the bar, the bar man was really funny as each time we went to the bar, he gave us all a shot and had to drink it in front of him before he would get your drinks!

The restaurant was basic, get what you pay for., Food always hot and meat carved in front of you, usually turkey, pork, beef which was all nice. Usual cooked breakfast and omlettes cooked as you wait, cereals, fruit etc. Salad always looked and tasted fresh, but not lots of choice for main meal but there were 10 of us in our party, and something to please everyone!!

Rooms were cleaned and bedding changed every other day and towels were changed daily while we were there. Rooms very spacious, has fridge, microwave, we had 2 bedrooms that were both spacey and bed quite comfy. Small terrace with table and chairs to sit out.

I would go back here as we travel on a budget, but just not in March as it was too cold at night. There is a small gym with a squash court, loads of bar areas in the complex that I believe would be open in high season, and there are two beaches in Caleta De Fuste that are both beautiful, one is about half a mile walk and the other more beautiful coves are about 2 miles away, well worth the walk to spend the day there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TopazJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.5 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#18 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Dorada

Property: Caleta Dorada
Address: C/ Barrilla, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caleta Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caleta Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Caleta Dorada Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Caleta Dorada
Caleta Dorada Hotel
Caleta Dorada Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing