We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relief - had a great time”
Review of Caleta Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caleta Dorada
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a relief - had a great time”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just spent the last week at this resort and have had a brilliant time . We are a family of 5 - having 3 boys ages 4, 10 and 14 were so worried after reading various reviews of what we were going to walk into.
The apartments are basic but we stayed all inclusive and only showered and slept in them - they were clean and had everything we needed - didn't bother hiring a kettle the pan did the job ! Cleaned every other day with fresh towels provided and a seating area outside with a patio.
The pool areas were also clean and the boys really enjoyed the slides, sunbeds were always reserved with towels which was annoying, even pushed my husband out at 6am one morning to find people had already put their towels out the night before ! But always managed to get a couple even if it wasn't in the desired area .
Food was excellent - an all you can eat affair with different choices daily always fresh and plenty to choose from , breakfast pancakes were the boys fave
We found if we arrived there was always a table with very little or no queues, staff working hard to keep tables clean and tidy and always smiling
Snacks at lunch by the pool were basic chips and hotdog and a bit of paella thrown in - but the kids liked the simplicity.

Plenty of drinks available and all great - only queues were after 9pm and it was for no more than 5 mins - there is a 2 drink rule but this didn't bother us and happily can only drink one at a time
Entertainment was fine - more geared for younger children and the team worked so hard with the children all day and offered games by the pool and in the evening the disco was the highlight of our youngest son and we even had to buy the CD !
Staff friendly and always smiling and nothing is a problem

Location not bad - short 10min walk to the beach with water sport options like diving jet ski boat trips or slightly further along the coast another beach with a shopping complex we walked and paid 4euro home in a taxi
Ate out one night in the Wild West steak house - food and service excellent
Market day tues. And sat and offers cheap versions of sunglasses hats jewellery and more

Hotel has a booking agent to book trips if you want to spend a day out and if you tell reception the night before thy will arrange a pack lunch for you if you are out on a trip or the beach !
Wifi is free at the local bar outside complex called the sizzling pig - again cheap drinks and brilliant service

Would I recommend to a friend this holiday - yes !
For what we paid we had value for money and the boys loved every minute, we stayed busiest time and didn't have any problems. Only disappointment were some of the rude visitors who thought they deserved more - quite frankly I was embarrassed and if you want 5 star luxury you need to book a 5 star resort and pay what it costs
This hotel was clean friendly food and service great at a low cost

Don't be out off by negative reviews



  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Thecodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caleta Dorada, responded to this review, 12 May 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for the detailed feedback about your experience with us at Club Caleta Dorada. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments, which ensures us that our efforts to provide an excellent service are showing a return. Thank you again and I hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Club Caleta Dorada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    876
    628
    276
    211
See reviews for
1,150
772
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Spent two weeks at this hotel in August, two adults and one 15 year old.
Check in very quick and easy - quite late in the evening so we were sent straight to the restaurant for a meal.
One bedroom apartment - plenty of storage space, basic crockery and utensils in kitchen. Apartment cleaned every other day and beds changed twice over two weeks.
Location excellent - bars and shops nearby and main town and beach 5/10 minutes walk - lovely beach and promenade, Town lively and fairly busy in the evening - great atmosphere.
Great fun watching planes coming overhead to airport.
Food in hotel very good, lots of choice and hot food always hot - both at lunch time and in the evening.
No umbrellas around the pool although there are some sunbeds under a canopy.
Entertainment in the evening left quite a bit to be desired although the bingo was a big hit - 1 euro a ticket - full house prize around 180 euros!
Bar in the evening very busy but bar staff work really hard and there is a very orderly queue so everyone is served in their correct turn.
Day time entertainment seemed a bit limited.
Didn't see any cockroaches but had a plug-in bug repellent.
Would we return - yes!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caleta Dorada, responded to this review, 12 May 2015
Dear customer, We would like to thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again. Regards, Club Caleta Dorada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

were a family of 5, three children age 12, 10, 6. we arrived for 2 weeks all inc on the 11th aug 2014. on arrival we found out we had been double booked, we had booked a 2 bed bungalow. the lady at reception said sorry, so we've upgraded you to a villa with your own pool. no extra charge. great ! it was a fantastic apartment, very spacious, pool, jacuzzi, snooker table, the lot !! so we have no complaints on the accommodation at all.the maid came every other day, cleaned and gave us clean towels. so onto the food. all five of us had no problem with the food at all, even the snacks at the pool bar were very good, when your getting a drink in the evening there can be a queue of 20 people or so. but its only a 2 or 3 min wait. no big deal. but on 2 nights the queue got a lot bigger and the wait was about 7 or 8 mins. the night entertainment is'nt very good, but you make friends and enjoy yourself. they have bingo, karaoke, snake/parrott show, music. the usual all inc stuff. we all enjoyed the pool with the slides and splash park and the children made lots of friends and played all the activities football, pool, darts, polo, etc etc. all in all a very good holiday. thanks for the fun jim,fran,susan and karaoke keith....up the clarets !

Room Tip: get a viila. villa 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lloyd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caleta Dorada, responded to this review, 12 May 2015
Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel. Regards, Club Caleta Dorada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Like many others I read reviews about this place and thought I'd messed up booking it. In all honesty, from the moment we got there to two weeks later when we left we had no problems with the accommodation at all. Yes there were ants, but they were easily dealt with. There were cockroaches; I killed 4 but as they were trying to get into the apartment. They certainly weren't trying to build a home there. Cleaners were great and ensured that towels were changed every two days, which in high season and at such a large complex is excellent.
The food - plenty of decent stuff on offer at all times as long as you don't think that 3 star money = 5 star choice. The drink - decent beer and soft drinks all day (spirits as well I think). Only criticism about the whole place for me is that the main bar is too small, particularly during the evening.
I would wholly recommend this complex, and would also like to add some tips:
Water Park trip - avoid. They've only got 7 slides and they try to sting you on the food and drink.
Beaches - the main one near the harbour is very shallow but rocky underfoot. Best beaches are near the Sheraton Hotel - beautiful sand and cracking waves.
Bars - The Old Sports Tavern is decent, as is the Beach Cafe near the Sheraton. For the warmest welcome and the best advice regarding the island you have to visit Cactus Jacks towards the top of the complex. There is a lady there from Cheshire who is absolutely wonderful.
Restaurants - Aberdeen Steakhouse is fantastic value. 3 course meal for just under 9 euro, and the food is good.
Swimming with sea lions - 30 euros per person but absolutely worth it. Incredible experience.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday, and I would recommend both Caleta Dorada and Caleta De Fuste unreservedly.
One last thing (I know I'm going on a bit), I cannot believe that people have criticised the members of staff at the place. The staff are one of Caleta Dorada's greatest strengths - they work incredibly hard and are always civil. Then again, Chas and Dave got it right for some holidaymakers when they sang 'There aint no pleasin' you'.

Room Tip: we stayed in A3 which was right near the quietest pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caleta Dorada, responded to this review, 12 May 2015
Dear guest, Thank you for your review about your recent stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward too seeing you very soon. Regards, Club Caleta Dorada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hi, I stayed at Caleta Dorada from Tuesday 12th August until Tuesday 19th August with my husband and two children (5&7), also we travelled with 8 other people.

When we were dropped off at the hotel it was roughly about 20.30pm and we were served first at reception, the gentleman spoke very good english so it was a very smooth check in. We were given rooms C2&C3&C66 for 12 people.They were all one Bedroomed apartments with two single beds pushed together and a fold out sofabed which turned into two beds.

The rooms were basic but nice, 2 hobs, Microwave, Fridge with a small freezer, cooking utensils, pans,plates, glasses, knifes&folks etc. Every room also came with a small kind of back garden? Somewhere to air your clothes on the clothes hose that they supplied&somewhere to put the garden furniture (table and 4 chairs)
The bathroom was clean, but the bath is not a full sized bath, only suitable to use with the shower.

The rooms C2&C3 were right next to the big pool with the slides and the main bar (really good location)
But C66 was across the road (still a nice room just away from the rest of our party)

We only used the main big pool and the splash park, The water was constently freezing cold! beyond anything ive ever expeienced lol you had to pluck up the courage to go in! But once your in your fine!
My daughter who is 7 decided to go on one of the slides on her own and neally drowned because the slides were located in the deep end of the pool! I had to rescue her and couldnt touch the bottom of the pool myself and im 5foot 6! So as you can imagine she didnt go near them again.

The main bar does get VERY busy, to get a decent seat you have to get there for roughly about 18.30pm as the childrens disco starts shortly after that and youll not get a seat otherwise. The bar staff are nice and polite and it is 2 drinks per person but if you are getting two drinks for yourself but drinks for your children they dont seem to mind.
The food in the main bar isnt very nice, you get hotdogs&chips and toasties all the way through the day from 10am until 18.00pm (if your all inclusive)

The entertainment in the bar at night is rubbish but they children seemed to love it, as they joined in with the kids disco everynight, each to there own really

I did see ants in our room, it was when we left something on the benches.. if we went out and came back a few hours later then thats when they would appear. My mum in room C2 did find one cockroach on her lastnight and neally had a heartattack lol but we were given some ant and cockroach spray that reception said would keep them away.

We hired a safe which cost us 25euros for the week but we got 5euros back on the lastday,
We also got a spare key which cost 10euros for the week.

There is two supermarkets opposite the hotel (next to block C), a spanish supermarket and a british supermarket which you can spend british pounds in! (handy as they sell only british imported food)

Our room was cleaned 3times in one week,

Overall the hotel was alright, nothing special but at the end of the day for the price we paid we didnt expect anything else, I wouldnt go back but thats just me.

Meal times were: Breakfast:8-10.30am Lunch:1-3pm Dinner: 7-9.30pm

Room Tip: Try and get a room in block C near the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmandaHarleyHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caleta Dorada, responded to this review, 12 May 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. Our guests opinions are very important to us. Regards, Club Caleta Dorada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great hotel , great location , friendly staff and clean rooms.
If i had to choose a negative about this holiday it would be the lack of bars/entertainment on an evening. The one bar area was no where big enough to accomodate the number of guests.
this was not much of a problem as we were with a party of 16 so we would go up to the supermarket , stock up and go to each others balcony for the evening.
Another tip is think before you buy WIFI as you will struggle to get a signal in the room, only place you could get it is reception area and dining room. our kids used to go upto the bars near the complex , buy a drink and get their WIFI password.
Would definately return and the price was bang on which although we were all inclusive, allowed us to eat out when we wanted to

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JANE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caleta Dorada, responded to this review, 12 May 2015
Dear guest, Thank you very much for rating our hotel very good. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are glad that you had an overall good stay with us and would be very happy to welcome you back. Regards, Club Caleta Dorada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

very nice place to visit but the pool near the pool was discusting not cleaned and staff quiet rood not very polite loverly b each good market full of british people also has a English food shop there but supermarket is cheaper

Room Tip: ask to be near restaurant as other wise you will walk forever to get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickyseale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Caleta Dorada, responded to this review, 12 May 2015
Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. If you’re traveling to our area gain soon, don’t hesitate to call us. Regards, Club Caleta Dorada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.3 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#14 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,448 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Dorada

Property: Caleta Dorada
Address: C/ Barrilla, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caleta Dorada 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Onthebeach, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caleta Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Caleta Dorada Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Caleta Dorada
Caleta Dorada Hotel
Caleta Dorada Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing