We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the visit.”
Review of Caleta Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caleta Garden
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Reviewed 27 January 2014

On arriving at the appartments ,we was greeted by a member of staff who said you cannot check in till 2pm. went for a walk till then,on coming back we collected the key to a studio appartment,and told where to go we went to the studio and first looked at it,i would not unpack i went to the desk and asked if we could move or upgrade to another appartment.The answer was no so i went around checking other hotels which was all booked up,on returning back i thought make the best of what we had.The fridge was rusty and so was the microwave the table you was supposed to eat your food of was unsafe,the appartment was like a prison cell you looked out on to the patio and all you saw was a brick wall . So i thought make a cuppa tea no kettle you have to hire it as well as a toaster,never heard of hiring kettle in a self catering holiday.This was the worst holiday in a self catering holiday that i have had,so i will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
There are newer reviews for Caleta Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

When reading some of the previous reviews, I was a bit cautious as to what type of hotel I was staying in, and infact I had a fantastic stay!! I really pleased with everything this hotel had to offer, a nice pool, outside area, restaurant and entertainment!! Plus the facilities in the rooms were great! My appartment was nice and spacious with a lot of room for others :) I really felt that the hospitality from all of the staff members was really great and I just want to say thank you :) Coming home from the beach to have a cleaned room with fresh towels and bedding to sink into a lovely bath and then to sit on your private balcony sipping wine was just heaven!! I am so happy I came, as I felt welcomed by all, and if I needed help, thenI would of easily been able to recieve it!! I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I plan to come back in the summer :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
8  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monoborracho2014, Director General at Caleta Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Dear sir,

We are very grateful for your comments, as we motivate much. We try to give the best service to ensure that your stay at our hotel enjoyable.

We take note of them and I assure you that will help us to work harder to keep up with new demands.

Regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Wonderful value for money. The hotel is old and could do with refurbishment but was spotlessly clean and looked after very well by the cleaning staff; they cleaned our room 3 times in the week we were there and the towels were changed as well. The hotel staff could not be faulted, especially Fermin, a very helpful and pleasant young man - nothing was too much trouble. We ate out every night, so cannot comment on the food. Ask for a room at the back (not near the bar) when the weather is hot; it was very noisy even with the windows closed - and we were right in the front. Our only criticism was that no kettle was provided even though we were self catering; we used a saucepan to boil the water so no real need. The mattress was a bit lumpy too although one man we spoke to complained about his and it was replaced immediately. Make sure you ask in reception about things you should know - we found out too late about the free bus into the main town. Don't book transfers; it is so cheap and easy on the bus which leaves from right outside the airport. There is a 10 minute walk from the bus stop at Caleta de Fuste to the hotel; if you don't have too much luggage it's easy. The bus fare is only 1.40 euros. We bussed around the entire island - saw everything really cheaply and easily. The resort is a mini-Blackpool but with plenty of eating houses providing a lot of choice, some of it very cheap, so don't go all inclusive. The El Capitan bar served very good tapas and happy 'hour' (from 8.30 to 10.30) served two drinks for the price of one. Plenty of good company here and we were never short of anyone to talk to. Altogether a very pleasant surprise; I had read some reviews and feared the worst. Our apartment with separate bedroom cost us about 114 euros for the week and was fantastic value for money. Even the flight on Norweigan Airlines was comfortable with enough leg room for us and we are tall! Well done Low Cost holidays! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back of the hotel away from the bar overlooking the pool and as high as possible...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazza233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monoborracho2014, Director General at Caleta Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Dear sir,

We are very grateful for your comments, as we motivate much. We try to give the best service to ensure that your stay at our hotel enjoyable.

We take note of them and I assure you that will help us to work harder to keep up with new demands.

Regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

You pay for what you get we were ground floor 115 room was ok no bath plug this was sorted in minutes of telling them also few Ants again sorted very quick staff are great very friendly Freddie is super they work very hard The Food is as we Expected its not the Ritz The sun terrace up top is prob best place to sit most of the sun beds are broken I have walking problems found all ok to get around Try to get a room on the left from the bar that is the most sun room was cleaned every day sheets changed once in a week stay overall we felt we had value for money

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SylviaSSGtYarmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had two great weeks here on a self catering basis. Kitchens are a bit sparse no toaster or kettle, these can be hired. Room TV is expensive. House keeping was very good with regular changes of bed linen and towels. Reception was first class and we saw more than one person/couple with walking prob's helped up the ramps which are a bit steep. Once they knew there was a problem they acted straight away. It would seem that the all inclusive food was not great, bar prices reasonable. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: All outside rooms are good
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyrowming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monoborracho2014, Director General at Caleta Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dear madam / sir,

We would like to thank you for your friendly comment. Feedback helps us to improve our services and we are pleased to read that we have met your expectations.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Himar Silvera
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

just back from 2 weeks at this place, room 153/4, xmas and new year. my sister was with me and has to use a wheeled walking aid. the ramp from reception to the first floor was a '1 in 4' ( 1foot up over 4 feet in length) when the UK max. is '1 in 12'. she could not get up it and had to use the lift and then go all the way round to get to the room, hers was next to mine. if you look at the ('hotel' and 'the noisier end') photos with the pool table in the middle, you can see the ramp on the left after the tables.
bathrooms are very small with a shower inside a 2-3 foot bath( photo 116). no chance of a lie down and soak.
microwave too high... at or above 6ft high,1.8mtrs.(photo high microwave)
bedding changes were minimal and at least one cover had a cig burn on it. i put the bedding changes down to festive holidays.
tv has 4 free channels and the rest is 'Roomy Tv' wich is 4.50 euros per day and 37 euros for 14 days. my recollection may be wrong about these prices but it will be very close.

the food was not good and the breakfast menu was the same every day. they refused to make omelets! very few choices and very repetitive.chicken was always chewy. as for third course, sweets, same every day, instant delight kind of stuff and only the flavour changed( you can see this in ;little cakes' photo 107), tinned pear halves and pineapple rings. xmas 'gala' dinner was just a buffet, nothing startling. supposed to have xmas pud (on the menu) but wasn't there. new years was just the same as every other day. we went out to eat very often even though we were all inclusive.

the kitchen is located behind the bar and stage with a passage between them, (see photo..All underhållning var för britter...) they have to carry the food from there, through the lounge to the restaurant, past the stage. very unhygenic. when they get the fresh food to the restaurant they just pour it over the old, cold, food that was left.
at the end of the stage, nearest the bar, there is a black curtain and behind it is a wheely bin. this is for the empty bottles. now, remember that this bin is about 3mtrs from the people sitting in the lounge, and when they THROW the bottles in, they smash VERY loudly. they give everyone a fright when they do this as there is no warning.

no a/c or heating in the rooms and nothing to boil water for tea etc.
they rent out some of the rooms and one woman who lived there had a small dog that yapped all day, at the Wood Pigeons, which annoyed people siting at the outdoor tables.
only one half of the pool gets sun at this time of year and all of the beds on that side were 'booked' before 9am.

please look at all of the Trip advisor photos before commiting to go to this hotel

the staff were fantastic and i had a lot of laughs with them
i know i got a cheap holiday but... cheap AND nasty .... come on. on the up side we got 2 weeks of brilliant sunshine and most days it was over 20 degrees C, over xmas and new year.
Calleta De Fuste was nice and i would go back but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: for wheelchair users avoid the floor containing 153 as the rooms on this side have 3 sets of steps i...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ballog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed the first week of January and having read reviews were prepared for it to be not very good... when we arrived we were greeted nicely at reception and changed our room but this was not their fault (they had no record of us booking a double and we got a twin). The issue was resolved straight away and we settled into our room on the 2nd floor.
We had a great stay overall and I think some people are being a little unfair about the general experience of staying here. Ok, its not the Ritz but its in a great location, the all inclusive is generous and everyone we encountered, staff and other guests were really friendly.
On the roof there is a sun terrace so climb the stairs at the rear of the building as there are more sun loungers up there AND a hot tub!!
In terms of the food, best way to avoid cold / unappetising meal is to get there at the START of each service although the food is refreshed regularly and there was such a generous choice of meals and desserts and drinks.
The entertainment in the resort was also good, bingo most nights, parrot show etc. We would / will return here as we felt the overall experience was good and transfers from airport are so easy because the airport is so close (a taxi is 15 euros at the most so bear this in mind when you book your holiday as going by taxi saves waiting / having to stick to a timetable)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel get best sun - but we can't remember the room numbers! Beach is 5 m...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank em2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monoborracho2014, Director General at Caleta Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Dear madam/sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your suggestions and would like to thank you for comments, as it helps us to improve our services.

We are happy in overall you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in future.
Kind regards,

The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.2 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caleta Dorada
Caleta Dorada
#11 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Garden

Address: Avenida Alcalde Juan Ramon Soto Morales 15, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range: £60 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caleta Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caleta Garden offers an outdoor pool, apartments and studios with balconies. This complex is located 200 meters from the beach in Caleta de Fuste and has tennis courts and a whirlpool. Caleta Garden is located 5 minutes walk from shops, bars and coffee shops of Caleta de Fuste downtown. The Fuerteventura Golf Club is just over 1 km from the complex and the Airport is located 15 minutes drive from the complex. At the reception there is a currency exchange service, option to rent safe, fans, kettles, irons and hair dryers. We also have a prepaid self-service laundry. There is WiFi at the reception and communal areas of payment. The Caleta Garden buffet restaurant serves traditional Spanish and international cuisine. They also have a bar service in the resort pool with drinks and snacks. It consists of a tennis court. There are 2 professional shows a week and various activities for adults and children throughout the day. All apartments and studios at Caleta Garden are well equipped and have a livingroom with sofa bed. The kitchen includes a microwave, refrigerator and stove. All accommodations have bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caleta Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Garden Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Caleta Garden De Fuste
Caleta Garden Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing