We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap holiday - good value for money”
Review of Club Montecastillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Montecastillo
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap holiday - good value for money”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay here - complex is very tired and from what we saw is undergoing renovations - good value for money apartments clean - our terrace stepped straight into pool -brilliant for kids and saving money as all we needed to do was nip in for lunch and drinks in response to other reviews - yes rooms are tired and need a spruce up but it's just somewhere as a base , . Swimming pools - if u want a chill out and don't mind not so great sunbeds then the larger one at montecastillo is best the ones across the road all have new sunbeds but it can get quite busy ,
Bad points - DONT eat at the Nestor's under Zanzibar very expensive and the food in a word was disgusting !!
Fado rocks in town - amazing food amazing service and brilliant prices !!!!
If you want 5 star luxury this isn't the place for you , for the price u pay it's worth the money ,
Also we didn't see any type of flying crawling it any other insect in our room .
Another negative is that there isn't any late checkout so if you have a late flight it's a pain but the changing facilities and good . Don't get a transfer it's 13 Eros to the airport and a 10 minute - trip !! Zanzibar also has wifi and they are happy for kids to sit in there during the day !!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trollyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    46
    39
    21
    21
See reviews for
42
69
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good points.

1. 2bed apartment was a good size
2. Staff were friendly and helpful
3. Location was good if a little up hill which is good to walk off the food each evening
4. Nice quiet location
5. plenty of room around the pool(below may explain why)

Bad points.

1. Was a very tired complex
2. Paint pealing everywhere
3. Pool was dirty and edging was loose, has potential to be dangerous
4. Sun beds in a bad state better off lying on the tiles with a towel.
5. I saw rats on the complex in a rock formation near the pool was just outside our apt, thank god for the stray cats!!
6. Patio doors need replacing huge gaps top and bottom.
5. Appliances while there very old .

Overall the place was just about adequate and for the price you have to overlook some things but I must say in my opinion very little money goes into the place and good do with a good refurb to get it back to a decent and more importantly a safe standard(pool).
If you are low on money grin and bare it, next time I will be paying more for better accommodation I wouldn't stay here again in its current condition. Pity as it has potential.

Room Tip: Try for near the pool, away from there and it is run down
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

What can we say 14 family & friends just got back on Tuesday. Loved every minute. Weather was great. Malibu pool bar Phil & Gaynor were great as always. Early doors food. & atmosphere was fab! Can't wait for next year. Reception staff couldn't do enough, although the rooms could be better but for what you pay it's value for money. To be honest it was only somewhere to sleep & shower. Can't thank Gaynor & Phil enough for there time & company. See you all soon....

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of May and had a great week. The Club Montecastillo is one of three groups of apartments together that are part of the Elite Resorts timeshare group and as such you can use the facilities of all three. The montecastillo is the biggest of the 3 and has the biggest pool and it is where the reception is. We went round the big pool once but we preferred to go around either the Elite or the beach club pool. The elite has nicer loungers but the beach has a bar, and its a good cheap bar.
The apartments are up the hill, roughly 10 minutes walk from the town centre so are good if you want to be away from it all but close enough if you want to do more. They are where the original town centre was but now the centre has moved but there is still a supermarket and a few bars.
The apartments are basic but have everything you need, quite comfy beds, kettle, toaster, microwave, hob and a fridge. They are not 5 star luxury but a nice 2 star standard.
Check in is quick and efficient and you get a little map to show you where everything is. There is a night time bar called Zanzibar but we didnt go and a restaurant called Nestors which we also didnt try but heard good things about.
Caleta de fuste is a nice little resort, its not a big late night party town but has enough going on if you do want a big night. Some good places to try are Piero's Music cafe, really good entertainment in an evening, Fusion 22 is a really good Indian restaurant and El Capitan tapas restaurant is also great.
Dont bother getting a transfer just get a taxi from the airport, it cost 12 euro each way or the main bus stop is close by and goes to the airport and it is only 1.20 euro each.
We would happily go back to the hotel as its a cheap place but only if we were with others and that is purely because we have a 4 year old and there are other places with more going on. Go knowing it is cheap and basic and you will have fun

Room Tip: Stayed in B4 which is away from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Greaves79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had read previous reviews and where a little anxious about what we were going to, but what can I say it was lovely the rooms were basic but clean lots of the apts were getting renovated. There were 3 lovely pools very clean but cold ha. Everyone very friendly.15 min bus ride from the airport so obviously you could hear planes over head. Quiet location if you are looking for busy night life caleta de fuste is not the place lovely place to relax or for family. We are looking to book to go back next year with the children grandparents and cousins had a wonderful time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank kwatty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennoway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Peeling paint ,furniture tired,dampness in all rooms,cigarette burns on sofa,rust on fridge, gaps at top and bottom of back doors,font door had gap at bottom ,bath was painted as was the toilet seat ,ants ,spiders cockroaches,centipeeds and some flying insects dont know what they were .Put up with it for a couple of days and left ,booked into Risco Dorada (heaven).Club Monticastilla might be cheap but theres a reason for that its a dump .I met a rep from there a few days later and he said he was surprised we didnt leave earlier ,dont spoil your holiday by going here book something a wee bit more expensive AVIOD this place

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geordieshand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The whole complex is obviously undergoing lots of upgrading which was evident when we were there. The apartment/bungalow was ok for the money we paid. Yes there was no kettle but when I asked at reception one was given to me free of charge, as is the tv (free). Beds were comfy, and its a relaxing place. Swimming pools not heated so they were a little cold but April is still early in the season. The Zanzibar sports bar I felt was not really aimed at families, would of been nice to have a bit more family entertainment. Also a beautiful view off the top terrace of the bar of the resort would of been even better had they offered food perhaps? I would go here again lovely resort, staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 711dela_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caleta de Fuste
0.4 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Florida
Villa Florida
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 26 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Montecastillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Montecastillo

Property: Club Montecastillo
Address: C San Francisco s n 35610 | Calete de Fuste, 35600 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Montecastillo 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1 bedroom bungalows set in sub tropical gardens, close to the poolside, pool bar, Jacuzzi and Gymnasium, will accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Club Montecastillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Montecastillo Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Club Montecastillo Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing