We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, but you get what you pay for.”
Review of Hotel Costa Caleta

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Costa Caleta
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed, but you get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just back from 5 days all inclusive at this hotel, cost £520 for my wife & I,we have had 3 other holidays this year, in 4* hotels,Club Del Sol,Puerto Pollensa,Bahia Primncipe Coarl Playa, Magaluf, and Fanabe Costa, Costa Adeje, and this 3* plus was way down in comparison, the 3* Miami in Es Cana,Ibiza is also much, much better.I only mention these hotels by name as reviewers often say "I've stayed in better" but don't say which.
Good points!
Nice quiet, large roof terrace, 2 pools & 2 jacuzzis, help yourself to beer, soft drinks, tea & coffee.
Excellent size safe, 2.50 euros per day,
Not so good points!
Room (2020) was basic, beds not up to much, sheets barely big enough to tuck in, so end up in a tangled mess by the time you wake up, no extractor fan in bathroom, bathroom mirror & room windows, inside & out were not clean, pictures on wall had no glass or perspex in them, patio table legs were so rusty it would have collapsed if we'd put anything on it, room was on a corner so had a lousy shaped balcony, TV,old fashioned 14" portable on wall, had to be paid for,2-3 euros per day + 10 euro deposit for remote, we didn't bother as we only tend to put it on while getting ready to go out.
Restaurant appeared to be OK on first couple of visits but we soon learned that things could and should be a lot better.Some food is labelled but not all, veg selection is seperate from main course choice,at other side of room, out of 4 evening meals,fish soup twice and a 'coastal mess' i.e. veg & seafood mix once, salads not inspiring, empty food not always replaced as quick as it should be, lettuce & tomatos empty, had to go ask for more, took the lettuce bowl first and obviously had to chop some more, brought that out and then took the tomato bowl to do the same but we got fed up of waiting so did without, chef doing too many jobs at once,queues built up for food while he was cooking meat, frying chips, baking pizza & carving meat, once carving immediately after using the same knife to cut into some pork kebabs he was grilling to see if they were cooked through, he wasn't over generous with the portions of carved meat he gave you, I felt like Oliver Twist, holding my plate out for more after his first offering, butter was never in the same place twice, could be with the bread, near the toasters, with the deserts or not out at all, as on one occasion, deserts consisted of cake, mousse, jelly, ice cream & melon, same every day, soft drinks, beer, juices,wine on serve yourself basis, but if you weren't in restaurant early you had to make do with plastic cups, not good , particularly for your evening meal, who wants wine or beer in plastic ?. soft drinks were only local cheap brand, no fanta or coke,tablecloths paper, just a knife & fork and a napkin placed on it, so have a starter, go for your main and return to a cleared table, no knife & fork, go get your own. Staff weren't smartly presented, black trousers & polo shirt for all meals.
Hotel had no pleasant, comfy, quiet seating areas, bar area was very bright & sterile looking, again too many plastic cups used there.
Finally, sunbed reserving is rife, you cant beat them , so join them !
We felt this hotel is being run to a very strict budget and is being held back from being much better.

Disappointed also with Costa Caleta as a resort, main beach, man made, is poor, no good for kids sandcastles, shallow & hard to walk on, the sea bed was stony, apart from a small area at the marina end, not child or adult friendly for entering the sea, though beach & sea were better at the Sheraton Hotel end of the beach.There were many closed shops & bars in the resort, extremely quiet especially in evenings, you have to walk up to the main road if you want to catch a bus anywhere, they could easily come down into the resort centre.Corralejo is a much better, lively resort & has access to some wonderful beaches.

Just our opinion. Back to 4*

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    1,043
    779
    338
    207
See reviews for
923
1,352
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Got back last Friday, had a great week, yes the beds do need replacing, but they still weren't bad enough to stop me returning. I can't fault the food, service or the staff, nothing was too much trouble, the AI drinks went down a treat, the entertainment staff made the best of what they had got to work with and alot of the guest's seemed to enjoy it, the rest just enjoyed the delight's of the bar, with the most friendliest bar staff I have ever met in an AI hotel, always smiling no matter busy they were. i can understand the comment's made about the pool, but as we spent our days on the roof terrace, with Amstel on tap it didn't bother us. All in all it does what it says on the tin and I for one would love to go back next year, 5 star it's not, but great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on all the good reviews and the cost wasn't exactly what you would call a bargin so we had high hopes for our £1046 holiday 2 adults 1 child nearly two years old
Pool was that cold my sons lips went blue the sun doesn't shine into the kids pool area in winter months
Heated pool does not exist!
Our double bed was horrible springs popping Alnight worst weeks sleep ever.
The food was always cold to Luke warm selection was poor.
Kettle 10 euro deposit plus 10 euro for the week
Safe 37 euro for the week
Towel 10 euro for the week
Wifi 2 euro per day plus deposit down non existent signal
Even the two computers in reception wer rubbish.
This Hotel is rated 3 plus stars this defiantly needs re evaluating
We spoke to many nice people also staying at the costa caleta
Many mentioned the beds and food but said they weren't ones for complaining. More fool you!
All drinks served in plastic cups even in evening a big issue for us was the safety of our child there were locks on doors in room but even when locked maids were still able to get in and my son was able to get out the first day he wondered out on to the corridor very worrying also no child safe spaces ie garden.Our comments were greatly received by Hannah our rep she was brilliant and did everything she could to help
Overall our holiday was disappointing
We visited the north of the island correlejo and that was very nice should we ever return we would go there or jandia
As for the hotel costa caleta, we wouldn't stay there again even if it was free
DO YOUR RESEARCH B4 BOOKING

Stayed November 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caleta de Fuste hotels

Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We spent the first week in November here. Food more than adequate better than a 5* riu hotel in dominican Republic. Rooms a decent size. Air con not so great but ok for this time of year. Pools do need a bit of tlc and aren't heated but plenty of people using them. Roof terrace proper sun trap with a jacuzzi and plunge pool. Ai drinks. Lager amstel so good. Wine not great but drinkable and the spirits where fine. Staff friendly and helpful a little spanish goes a long way. The entertainment staff work VERY hard . most of the time to a dead room and it takes balls to stand up every night when they are so young. The hotel is spotless and if you are looking for a well positioned place on a budget give it a try. First hotel review where we would go back to and recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband & I are just back from a week at this hotel & loved every minute! The bar staff were fantastic (we spent a fair amount of time with them!), hotel was very clean & food selection excellent. One downfall was the beds, the springs dug into our backs, definitely need replacing!!! Also, the maid service could have been better, although we came back to clean towels when needed, the sheets could have done with being changed & it was obvious some days that the bathroom hadn't been cleaned at all. Not a huge issue as we didn't spend much time in the room. The hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of the town, with the beach & marina only 5 minutes walk away, and there were plenty of shops & pubs on our doorstep. Although we were 'all inclusive', it was great to get out and about each day, and not to have to walk too far if you don't want to!!! evening entertainment was very 'hit and miss', although this is probably because it was more geared towards children (being school holidays), so not a complaint, so much as it is worth noting if you're planning a couples holiday. Beware - make sure you attend the 'welcome meeting' with your holiday rep! We missed ours & unfortunately the reception staff tell you absolutely nothing at check in. If you know what to ask about, they are only too happy to answer your questions, but we got the feeling we missed out on a lot of info! We had a great time overall, and although we may not go to this particular hotel again (we'd probably opt for a 'adults only' resort), we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends & family!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 3091, lovely view of the sea and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just got back from a great family holiday, the weather was brilliant and we are all very brown! The hotel was clean and most staff very friendly except the receptionist who was rude and just wanted to argue with all of us I believe, when I asked if the golf clubs were available she acted like I cursed her.
Apart from the receptionist I have little bad things to say about the hotel the location is great, food is good but make sure you eat out at least once or you will feel very bored by the end of the week.
That's all I can say, had a great holiday, won't be going all inclusive again as I didn't think i made the most of my money. Also please make sure you know what you sign up for! I thought wifi was free and all food! Ended up spending over ten euros just on crisps and peanuts at the bar! Also I never realised you could get pizza and other snacks anytime of day poolside so please do your homework.

Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Big Thanks to Drina who is the most accommodating reception host I've encountered. She went the extra mile for us. Lovely lady! Great hotel. Good choice off AI food. Breakfast particularly good. Stayed in room 3082 with Pool view which was awesome. Rooms immaculate and maid service faultless. Sun bed wars was good fun with the rush to grab the "best" spot for sun each day but that's only due to only some of the Pool area getting Sun all of the day. The bar service was all super quick and friendly. All staff were friendly and made you feel welcoming.
Met a family of Mackems who made us laugh all week and also Clint Eastwood was there (lookalike!)
This hotel is Ronseal. It does what it says on the tin and it's quality! Definitely would return.

Stayed November 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caleta de Fuste hotels
0.5 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#9 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Sara
Hotel Elba Sara
#3 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#14 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Caleta

Property: Hotel Costa Caleta
Address: Avenida Alcalde Juan Ramon Soto Morales s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Caleta 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Costa Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Costa Caleta Hotel
Ocean Costa Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Costa Caleta Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing