We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely fine and adequate for our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Cala'n Bosch
Newcastle
Level Contributor
143 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Completely fine and adequate for our needs”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having spent two summer seasons as a holiday rep on Menorca many years ago, I am more than familiar with the island, it's resorts and Menorcan standards. This holiday was my first visit back since 2007. I booked the villa through Travelrepublic at a cost of around £100 a day. Travelrepublic are an agent and as such they sent a voucher advising the villa was booked through somewhere2stay which is part of Monarch.co.uk. Upon arrival I needed to go to their local agent which was Viajes Magon and collect villa directions and key information. We were allocated Villa Sigfrid and would be collecting our villa key from a small safe box on the wall there, upon arrival. Be aware that Villas Cala'n Bosch themselves are not actually a complex of that name with the facilities of reception and so on. Basically it just means you will be allocated a villa somewhere in Cala'n Bosch, however in the main, most villas are to be found in the Cap d'Artrutx area, which looks more or less like a housing estate of villas, about a 15 minute walk from the main marina area of the resort. We found the villa fairly easily, it was located on Carrer Migjorn, which is parallel to the only road into Cala'n Bosch. You can use google street view to check out this area in advance which is a really handy tool if you want to see the location you are thinking of visiting.

We were advised the villa would not be available until 3pm, but we arrived just before 1pm and found the villa locked up with the keys in the small lock safe on the wall so we went on in. Our villa had a high hedge all around it, good for some privacy as our garden and pool were street facing, like all the others on our side of the street. Low level typical Menorcan gates could be opened to allow for a car to park on the drive. The pool itself was quite large and could easily accommodate a very lively family along with associated rubber rings and so on, however on this visit it was just two of us. The only access in and out of the pool was at the shallow end, and this was three roman steps (no ladders). The pool was almost two metres deep at the deep end, so that may be something to bear in mind. A life ring was provided for extra safety. A pool man came twice during our week to clean the pool. On the terrace there were five plastic adjustable sun loungers, which were a bit rain stained, which can be common in Menorca, as they often have what is called "red rain" nonetheless the loungers was functional. There was also a sun parasol provided for extra shade. We had an outside, brick built barbecue with electric point. On our sheltered terrace was a large plastic patio table and six chairs. Entrance to the villa itself was through the shuttered patio doors directly into the living/dining area. The sofa was brand new and could seat three and also be lowered to make a double bed, the added bonus when lowering the back was you could lock it into various angles on its travel to horizontal, meaning you could recline the back of the sofa to your liking, which we did on the rainy days when we were stuck indoors watching tv. There were two wicker chairs, a sideboard with plenty of storage, an LCD tv with a freesat box which picked up all the freeview channels from home, great if you have bored kids, as they could watch all their programmes. There was even a DVD player, though it looked a little rusty! All the furniture including the kitchen units was pine thoughout, and very trypical of your average holiday apartment, but this being a three bedroomed villa it was on a bigger scale. I wouldn't say it was basic, but it had few frills, however it was adequate and exactly what I was expecting. I have looked at some private villa sites and yes there are some stunning properties on Menorca, with equally stunning prices, so I believe I am quite realistic about what to expect from our stay. If you are realistic and don't have delusions of grandeur you won't really be disappointed either. Kitchen was equipped with a ceramic four ring hob, convection oven and grill, extractor, double sink unit, large fridge freezer and plenty of good standard pots and pans. Utensils were fine for our needs but not particularly extensive. The tin opener was the old continental style that most Brits can't figure out. We had lots of crockery and a small amount of ovenware, salad, bowl and so on. There was a two slice toaster, kettle, microwave and a coffee maker also provided. Maid service had also left us some washing up liquid and two tea towels. The utility room housed what looked to be an old though functional washing machine, just off the utility room was a door to the small outside utility area which had clothes line, mop, bucket and brush. From the living area there is a corridor with additional storage, a fire extinguisher and leading off this corridor is the main bathroom, a double bedroom with en-suite and two twin bedrooms. The living area and all bedrooms had ceiling mounted fans. All the bedrooms had built in wardrobes with hangers, extra blankets, the main bedroom had a safe which was free to use located in the wardrobe. Each room was furnished very simply with some bedside furniture. Functional in essence. The en-suite bathroom was a good size, both bathrooms had large mirrors, toilet, bidet, sink and shower over the bath with enough towels per occupant. We had one change of towels during our week. The main bathroom did have an old bath which could do with being replaced as it was starting to peel, but we did not have need to use this room as the en-suite was fine for our needs. All of the windows in the villa were modern double glazed and shuttered externally to allow you to get a breeze whilst maintaining a degree of security. Each villa appeared to have a good size plot and with plenty of space around the side and rear of the villa, meaning we did not feel like we were on top of our neighbours and likewise.

In the immediate areas there were several large bins for all the villas to leave rubbish. You could walk within five minutes to the rocky coastline where it would be possible to see up to the western point of Menorca and the resort of Cala'n Forcat and also across the sea to Majorca. This was an ideal spot to watch the sunset. This area of villa's is serviced by a very small cluster of bars, 2 Rocks and the Big Apple being popular spots. There are three small supermarkets. The spar seemed to have more choice than the other two. Walking into the marina area where there is so much more to see and do, is an easy enough walk provided you are generally fit, there are no steep banks as such. You will find another supermarket called Top Markets which has some more choice, many more shops, bars, restaurants and kids play areas, such as Goody Goody. The beach in Cala'n Bosch is beautifully clean and the sea crystal clear. I definitely recommend this resort for families with young children looking to have a fun though relaxed time. There are many excellent looking places to stay in the resort, but why not choose a villa such as this for that extra bit for freedom. Also if you are going to go to Cala'n Bosch, I highly recommend a trip into Ciutadella, either by car or bus (there is a bus stop at the end of the road from Villa Sigfrid). The bus service does run quite late. Ciutadella by night has to be seen. If you don't leave Cala'n Bosch, you really have not seen Menorca. any questions about the villa or my stay I am happy for you to contact me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TandWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
25
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This villa was filthy, poorly equipped and dreadfully furnished. Grey, horrible bath towels were offered, the windows did not shut in the bathrooms as they did not fit their rotten frames and the fridge was held together by rust. Yes- these villas are rated as 3 star, but that does not excuse the poor cleanliness. There was no air con as promised by the operator who we booked it with and one naff desk fan to service the property. The bidet was dirty containing unmentionables. To their credit, the company moved us to a better location with ceiling fans. Do ensure that if you are holidaying to this area in July/August that you go for air con as standard. I would also advise that you book through owners direct or similar; we had 4 fantastic holidays in private villas before this one- the personal touch makes all the difference. I went for this one to save a few pounds, but trust me, if something seems too good to be true, it normally is!! Villa Elsa is especially lovely, but book early!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The villa was sub standard to say the least. It was dirty from the previous guests when we arrived. The beds hadn't been changed and the whole villa smelt awful. It was booked through Thompson holidays so u would expect the reps to be helpful but this wasn't the case for us. The sofa was broken as was the umbrella outside everything was so old and out of date. We will never stay here again. The area is quiet for families but not much to do in the evening. Not reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claire0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Not sure if this review belongs here, but we stayed at a villa in Cala'n Bosch in the Carrer Migjorn, Cap D'Artuix area so not a million miles away.

Villa was booked through Sunshine.co.uk, and seemed to be part of the Cosmos / Monarch group. It is rated as 3* and I wouldn't disagree with that, it was simply furnished with 2 comfortable pine sofas, a pine sideboard and table/chairs in the main living area, and three bedrooms, two of which were good sized, one smaller but still big enough for two single beds (the pine theme continued with beds and side cabinets). More than ample storage space with built in wardrobes in each bedroom and a separate bedding cupboard. The beds were on the firm (some would say hard) side though. Two bathrooms, one en suite, both having full size baths with showers above.

The villa was spotlessly clean when we arrived and despite what the agent told us, towels were changed every 3/4 days and a maid came in at the end of week 1 of our 2 week stay and as well as cleaning she changed the sheets. The pool guy also came every 4 days or so to clean the pool. There is a need to keep on top of cleaning in the kitchen in particular to prevent an invasion from the army of small ants that inhabit the gardens (common in most hot countries).

Extras - there was satellite TV which could pick up all UK terrestial channels and limited English satellite channels including CBeebies which helped keep the grandkids amused when they were too hot to sit / play outside. The kitchen was well equipped, with full size oven/hob, fridge with small freezer compartment on top, microwave, toaster and plenty of utensils and crockery. Only gripe was the small travel sized kettle which only managed two mugs of tea at a time. A separate utility room housed a full size washing machine, which the OH used to wash all clothes before we came home.

We did spend most of the time outside - the pool area was great, a good sized kidney shaped pool 0.7m - 1.8m with usual patio furniture including umbrella in a part covered patio area including 6 sunbeds and a separate brick built barbeque which we used several times. The gardens are very private with high hedges all around.

We would probably pay extra for air con next time, as it was unseasonably hot during our mid September visit, and whilst there were 2 air con units in the villa they were remote controlled and no controller was available (to be fair it wasn't advertised as having air con). There were good floor standing fans in each bedroom though and the double glazed windows could be left open with the shutters closed to allow some air in / through at night, but as the villa backed on to the main Cala'n Bosch - Ciutedella road, there was some road noise, but it's not a busy road.

The walk to the marina takes 15/20 minutes with kids, the supermarkets on the estate and a small number of bars 5/10 minute walk. We tried several of the restaurants at the marina and had good meals at all, and they were all child friendly with kids menus and free lolipops (adults got a schnapps type shot) at the end of the meal. Our favourite though was Piccolos which had the best pizzas and excellent skewers, and best toys with the kids meals.

We really enjoyed our first visit to Menorca and will definitely return (with the grandkids), the whole island seems very family focussed, and of course being just 2 hours flying time away is ideal for younger kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scouselatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed in villa Jero this summer for our family holiday and had the most brilliant time! The villa and resort were just perfect. The villa is in a quiet part of the resort but only a short walk away from shops and bars, it was clean and had everything we needed for our family stay. The owner was very helpful when the kettle broke, was there within an hour with a new one. The grandchildren loved the pool and spent almost every waking minute in it!

The resort was ideal for the children as it has lots of child friendly restaurants and lots for them to do in the resort. We loved the beach and spent all our time either on the beach or in the pool at the villa, apart from one day when we did one of the boat trips from the marina which we all enjoyed and thought was quite good value.

This was our first villa holiday in Menorca but will definitely return again soon, would highly recommend the villa and resort to anyone looking for a relaxing villa holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gordonbathurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We've been back just over 2 weeks from our annual visit to Menorca, staying this time in the resort of Cala en Bosch and are already missing the beautiful island that we've grown to love.

We booked villa Jero for our stay and have to say we were pleasantly surprised at the villa. The location was ideal and the villa itself was more than adequate for what we needed -lovely pool area and everything we needed inside. Having just read the previous review on the villa I'm thinking there must be 2 villa Jero's as it was nothing like the villa described in that review, the mother-in-law was even impressed with the cleanliness and that takes some doing!

The resort is just perfect for families, we found the restaurants to be very accommodating, the beach is gorgeous and very clean/safe for kids, and there were lots of kids things to do in the resort. The kids tried scuba diving for the first time at one of the hotel pools, on another day we went on a boat trip from the marina to one of the other beaches -that was good value and we had a lovely time, and also took a tour around the resort on the mini train which is fun for the little one but quite expensive for what it is.

We spent a day in Ciutadella which I would highly recommend, it's really beautiful with stunning architecture. We had a lovely meal by the port after walking around the town.

I'd definitely recommend the island, resort, and villa to anyone thinking of travelling to this part of the world. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at Villa Jordi for 2 weeks in August and had a great time. We are a family of 5 with 3 young children and the villa was well equipped and very spacious for 5 of us. The villa is set in large grounds with walls and hedges surrounding it and a big pool, easily the largest pool in any villa we have stayed in previously- the children loved it. It has roman steps so young children can sit on the edges and still play in the water. There is a busy road behind the villa but you don't really notice the noise especially as the pool is at the front of the villa. Its a 20-25 minute walk to the marina which is a pleasant walk especially if you follow the coast road overlooking the sea all of the way down from the lighthouse. We love this area of Menorca and would love to go back in the future, there is lots for younger children in the area and lovely restaurants at the marina. The price we paid was excellent value and I would recommend a holiday here.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank roman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.1 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,050 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marinda Garden Aparthotel
Marinda Garden Aparthotel
#6 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
#8 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Cala'n Bosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Cala'n Bosch

Property: Villas Cala'n Bosch
Address: Via de Circumvallacion | Urbanizacion Cap D'Artruix, 07760 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villas Cala'n Bosch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Cala'n Bosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Cala`n Bosch Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Villas Cala'n Bosch Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing