We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Menorca
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Family Holiday”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our family group of five consisted of grandparents, son, daughter-in-law and 2 year old grandson. We spent a week at the HV Menorca from the 18th to 25th September 2013 and had a brilliant time. I have not rated the complex excellent, because there is room for improvement in certain areas, as outlined below. However, we all agreed that overall our experience was very positive and we had a great holiday. This complex is ideal for families with young children, but couples looking for a quiet time should think again. We really enjoyed ourselves and our grandson had a fantastic time.

WWW (What Went Well):
* Staff - all staff really helpful, friendly and cheerful.
* Food and drink - excellent variety of food in the restaurant and a good selection of drinks.The restaurant staff worked really hard to provide a good choice for all tastes and they made evening meal time enjoyable, with a range of food themes.
* Hotel Facilities - generally clean throughout and plenty of space to relax. Excellent pools - two large pools, small pool with slides for young children, baby pool with a sunshade. Safe playground for younger children and a range of play facilities older children. Supervised club activities for children of all ages. Towels available for hire.
* Entertainment - brilliant for the children throughout the day and evening. The entertainment team worked so hard to provide a fun filled holiday for everyone.
* Rooms - we had adjoining rooms, which was great for a family like ours. We were able to leave the connecting door open, which enabled us to share space, whilst also allowing us our own space when required. Our rooms both had separate lounges and kitchen facilities. Safe provided in the room.
* Local area - this Holiday Village is situated in a lovely area, with sandy beaches, local harbour / cafés, and shops close by.

EBI (Even Better If):
* Staff - hard to say - can't really fault them. Well done!
* Food and drink - the outside snack bar area could be much improved. It is situated in a dark / dismal corner and the poor range of available snacks are generally unhealthy. No selection at all of ice creams - just small tubs. We have been all inclusive before and it is the first time that I have not used the outside snack bar. Lots of wasps around the pool bar. I felt sorry for the staff working with them flying around their heads. The hotel could / should provide an attractive outdoor dining facility.
* Hotel Facilities - the poolside is quite slippy and parents constantly had to warn their children not to run. I realise that running around pools is rightly frowned upon, but this poolside was more slippy than any I have experienced before. Don't let it put you off, but just beware. The hotel should address this issue as soon as possible. Towels - by all means take a deposit, but stop charging €1 for towel changes. Other First Choice hotels don't charge for clean towels.
* Rooms - like others have said, the rooms are in need of some refurbishment and updating, although they are clean and functional. Safes should be free. To charge €18 + deposit of €10 is mean, especially in an all inclusive hotel. The hotel should consider replenishing room fridges with soft drinks on a daily basis, which is.standard practice in some other First Choice hotels. Room towels changed every day, but some past their sell by date!
* Sunbeds - sadly many people still insist on putting towels out at the crack of dawn. Such sad and selfish individuals. Management should articulate and implement a clear policy on this practice.
* Litter - why do a minority of individuals insist on leaving their litter by the poolside for someone else to clear up? Please take your litter back to the room and make it even better for everyone else. Not a major problem, but still annoying.

SP (Standard Practice):
Why doesn't First Choice employ standard practices across all of its all inclusive hotels? e.g. charging for safes and towel changes, replenishing room fridges.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room away from the noisy entertainment area ask for an odd numbered room in Bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    541
    152
    32
    11
See reviews for
1,421
105
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

WE have just got back rom The Holiday Village Majorca, this is the 4th Holiday Village we have been to and is bar far the best. WE have been to HV Costa del Sol, Viva Majorca and the new 5 star majorca holiday village and this one trumps the lot.
First of all the room exceeded our expectations, after experiencing the new 5 star room in Majorca we werent expecting much but although it is not as shiny and new it worked better as a family dspace and the facilities in the rpoom were better. We had a lovely big balcony which caught the sun all day and was really quiet and private.
The food was second to none, the choice was varied everyday and everything was cooked perfectly.
The kids clubs were fantastic, our little one never realy took to kids clubs at the previous resorts but we struggled to keep her away from them here, she absolutely loved every minute in kids club...a special mention to Aaron and Joe.
The Entertainment, was the best of any resort we have been to and blew other holiday villages out of the water, and this was largely due to Rory who literally made our evenings on this holiday!
Would recommend this to anyone looking for a great family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loulou308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Got back on Saturday after a week here with a 20 month old and a 4 year old. The complex was nice and the beach 5 minute walk was lovely. Food was lovely with a variety and the alcholic drinks were very strong! The pools were really cold but you get used to it after a while. My son had swimming lessons and football lessons, both coaches were really good! The rooms were ok, just enough space for the 4 of us. The only downside is the WASPS! There are lots of them by the pool bar and the snack bar - I felt it ruined it slightly for us as we couldnt relax if we just wanted a snack or a drink without trying to get rid of the wasps! You have been warned! All in all, it was a nice holiday but I dont think we will return due to the wasps

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Whilst choosing a honeymoon location I was concentrating on a toddler friendly hotel as our 2 and half year old was joining us on our honeymoon so we wanted a hotel that could entertain her a little she's happy we will be happy... This is the first holiday village/first choice that we have been on and we loved it! Rooms were great were spacious and well equipped with the normal british channels on tv. air con fab, separate shower and bath. had to pay for the safe which wasnt cheap but no big issue.

Pool areas were great lovely pool round the back which we came across near the footy pitch, looked lovely and quiet. The only downside of the pool was it was so slippy, some kind of anti slip paint would be ideal, but the children soon learned not to run around the pool!

kids creche and all the childrens activities in the day we couldnt fault, never been abroad with our toddler before so didnt know what to expect but the creche was just like a nursery at home, all british, face painted every day, kids characters walikng round everyday eg Shrek.

Food was great and the cefs went the extra mile ... If you wanted a certain pizza .... they would do your very own within 5 minutes! nothing was too uch trouble they enjoyed it if someone requested something.... fab!

Entertainment staff were great!! Rory obviously is the main man along with torquay techie... the dj/tech support. Paige, and all the rest from the kids club to the swim acadamy and football acadamy had so much energy. We loved Rory in the evening all the kids dances.... I 5 live, and loved his jokes and some of the music quizzes, forgot the kids were there it go so competitive!

Beach and marina were lovely, Cala n Bosch is quiet but we didnt really need anymore places to got to, the beaches and marina and shops were enough and lovely, Goody Goody in the marina is worth a visit with children, 3 bouncy castles with a children eating whale! water slides and pool trampolines, bikes, arcade, bar and food, most of which you have to pay a little bit for but not much, and after asking nicely they gave us the wi fi password :-) as you had to pay for it at the hotel which was a downside but no big issue.

We stayed in block 2 I think it was at the back by the toddler pool/slides overlooking the pool and away fom the stage enetertainment speakers, to me it was the perfect spot, great view overlooking the pools and whole complex nearly, and quieter.

All in all a fab holiday and after meeting many family's there lots of them who had stayed at various holiday villages, we will be choosing our next holiday with our toddler at one of the holiday villages run by first choice.

Room Tip: Block 2 near toddler pool/slides overlooking the pools, and away from the entertainment noise but co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

what a lovely holiday, all staff from entertainment to room staff nothing was too much trouble
perfect for family with small children theres is loads to do and the beach is only a 5 min walk away. the food was good a a good variety
well worth it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank THERESAG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have just returned from HV Menorca (4/9-14/9).
Pros
First Choice staff - the first choice team did a fantastic job of entertaining adults and children alike. Enthusiastic and full of fun, nothing was too much trouble for them. The entertainment was mainly geared at children with adult undertones and enjoyed by all. Later in the evening there was more adult entertainment and we never tired of it. We have come back singing Chocolatte etc etc. Also, little touches such as remembering the childrens names was lovely. Well done to you all.
Hotel staff - all the staff whether on reception, in the restaurant, behind the bar did a fantastic job and were very helpful. In response to wasp complaints the pool area was hosed down every morning which helped the situation.
Food - very pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality and variety of food available. Themed nights every night - Indian, Spanish, Seafood, Italian, British etc. I always tried the speciality of the day and it was always delicious. If you didn't fancy the themed food, there was always pizza (fantastic), pasta, fish, salad, etc etc. The choice was endless.
Kids clubs - our daughters loved going into the kids clubs. Very well organised and full of interesting activities & fun. Our 3 yr old got her face painted most days plus received a sticker & certificate at the end of each session (all very important in the world of a 3 yr old!).
Swimming lessons - very professionally done. Thank you John & Guy.

Cons
This was perhaps once a 4 star hotel but now needs a complete makeover to bring it up to scratch. Everything was old and worn out. Needs a good clean. Rooms tired. Beds hard. Needs new pillows, towels etc.
You weren't allowed to eat outside - it would have been lovely if the restaurant had opened their large doors and allowed guests to dine al fresco.
The snack bar was very poor. Unhealthy, limited and boring snacks served. A lot more could be done with this.
This was an all inclusive holiday - I did not expect to have to pay for a safety deposit box & pool towels.
Every all inclusive I have been to has had a fresh eggs/omelette station at breakfast. This would be a real asset at this hotel. Having said that, there was a lot of other food on offer at breakfast.

Having said this, none of the cons ruined our holiday, however if these issues were addressed it would have been an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: We were in block 2 overlooking the childrens pools - very handy if you have toddlers. Pick a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klj13082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Not long returned from Cala'n Bosch Holiday Village (early Sept) - fabulous hotel for a family holiday. Recommend going all inclusive, the food was excellent. Always loads of variety and in addition there were also themed nights such as seafood - outstanding. Children complained sometimes that pool was cold but weather was a bit breezy when we were there. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. We were impressed with our room too, beds comfy. Worth asking for a room in a quiet area of the hotel - evening entertainment was very popular but extremely loud, particularly for those with rooms facing the pool. Kids daytime entertainment was varied and the reps had bags of energy. There are two local beaches within 10 mins walk - shallow, clear water, very beautiful. Also 10 mins walk to a lovely but small harbour, nice for a wander round (look out for a slightly hidden, incredibly cheap bouncy castle type play area with a child eating whale! Children loved it!). Would highly recommend this hotel / location to families...we couldn't have asked for more...though I probably wouldn't choose to go there as a couple only!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room to avoid the noise from the evening entertainment - too loud! They accommodated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHolReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
0.8 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,114 reviews
12.8 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
Apartamentos Roc Lago Park
#8 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Menorca

Property: Holiday Village Menorca
Address: Gran Via de Son Xoriguer, 07769 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 500 m away from the Son Xoriguer beach. Apartments: Heating/ air-conditioning. Sat-TV. Balcony or terrace. Living room. Kitchen. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool. Swimming lessons. Indoor swimming pool. Children pool. Jacuzzis. Sauna. Turkish bath. Massage. Gym. Archery. Children´s playground. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffet. Show-cooking. Continental breakfast for longsleepers. Children's buffet. Lounge bar. Poolbar. Sevices: Babysitting service. Nursery. Reception for children. Buggies and intercoms rental. Bicycles. Car rental. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Village Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Menorca Spain/Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing