We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mar Hotels Paradise Club & Spa
Nearby Hotels
smartline Marina(Cala'n Bosch)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Valentin Star Hotel(Cala'n Bosch)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
MenorcaMar(Cala'n Bosch)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zafiro Menorca(Cala'n Bosch)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nuramar Apartments(Cala'n Bosch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas del Lago(Cala'n Bosch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villas Cala'n Bosch(Cala'n Bosch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,011)
Filter reviews
2,012 results
Traveller rating
1,150
549
191
61
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,150
549
191
61
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsplash poolself cateringnext yeargreat holidayt shirt paintingwater polomini discobed apartmentthe thomas cook kids cluboctopusfamily holidayevening entertainmentadult activitiesevery nightmain poolmy son
Filter
Updating list...
758 - 763 of 2,012 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent a week in this hotel and I must say its fab for young families, we travelled with a 13 year old, a 4 year old and a 19 month old baby, the staff amazing, the hotel animation team were out of this world! My 4 year old doesn't often take to people but she loved Carolina and enzo! The slash pool was excellent for the young ones and my 13 year old loved the octopus slide! The rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday, we went all inclusive and it was hot, plenty of choice, even for the baby! Even had a spa treatment and it was like heaven! Just what I needed a lovely week with my family!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maneatamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Thomas Cook and hotel management should hang their heads in shame. We arrived to glorious sunshine and a lovely welcome from animation team and hotel mascot . Wow we thought this is brilliant and until we had checked in and entered the complex then our faces fell. No pools one only partially filled and dirty , the sole purpose of choosing this hotel was the fabulous kids splash pools as we had a 2 year old with us. Well, the turtle pool was not functioning for 3 days of our holidays and the bigger octopus pool not working for the duration of the hols and. THE indoor pool was also not open for the first 3 days of the hols Once the big pool was functioning on my first swim of the holidays i caught a large tadpole swimming around in the pool? much to the delight of all the kids in there. The food was very poor and tepid , repetitive and scarce. The restaurant ran out of basic stuff by day 8 of the holidays such as english tea sugar puffs butter changed to an awful chopped up squares floating in water it was foul, no banana, cheese slices, ice creams changed from cornetto to one flavour small packs of ice cream at snack bars once opened. We spoke to Miguel about the awful soup one night and his response was oh sorry it was the chefs day off !!! Well Miguel needs to roll his sleeves up get off his high horse and do some work as the wait staff are run off their feet so you may not be asked about drinks till well into your meal I could go on but I am repeating what others have commented on here We went all inclusive but you can do this at the hotel for 30 euro a day so see what it is like first. Also it annoyed me that if you were at the bar awaiting your turn and someone who was not A/I came along they were served before you because they had cash in their hand. Well HELLO I have also paid in advance . On two occasions I witnessed some one getting branded drinks because they were payin,g only to be told by the barman oh its ok and no money exchanged hands, whats that about?. The hotel and resort were clearly not ready for tourists and I am sure now further down the month it will start to see a bit of life. The hotel animation team worked really hard and were brilliant with the kiddies and tried their best with the adults but as they had no costumes could not do any shows for the duration of our stay and so we had to make do with nightly bingo and quizzes. They were the saving grace of this holiday and the hotel needs to pay them more!. No way is this a 4* hotel it is very pretty and scrupulously clean but you cant get English channels on the tv not that i watch tv on holiday and also you cant ring from room to room even via reception??? . On the harbour the drinks were big but expensive from 4 Euro for a pint to 7 Euro for a Mojito cocktail So if planning a trip here i would say check with the hotel to make sure all is as it should be before you go and if you have booked on line with Thomas Cook the online brocure is misleading as there is no longer a play area or a crazy golf or small pool next to adult pool as shown in the pictures. Hope your experience is better than mine

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerrada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic place would defiantly visit again! Have recommended to family & friends already. The waiters can't do enough for you and my biggest love of this hotel was the entertainment Andra & florin was brilliant with my 2 year old daughter x

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauramarie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We took our 4 yr old daughter based on other reviews and weren't disappointed. We had a two room apartment which, although basic, it was spotless and well equipped; with maid service daily to change bedding and towels, whether required or not! We we right next to the bar but although noisy, it all quietened down around 23.30hrs and it did not prevent us from getting to sleep. The beds were definitely on the firm side.

There were four outdoor pool areas; one especially for younger children with smaller slides and water of paddling depth, one for older children (and adults) with steeper slides; one for both and another which catered for adults. The pools are not heated so they were busier in the afternoons once the water had naturally heated up, although it still made you shudder if you jumped straight in!!
The hotels' own 'Animacion' team made our stay, having a range of activities and sports for both children of all ages and adults. Enzo and Karolina of the childrens team were enthusiastic and welcoming and the children all warmed to them immediately, the mini disco in the evening was always a big hit, being full of fun with dancing and music. I really don't know where they got their energy from!
Everywhere was spotless around the communal areas and pools and I felt that we were totally safe.
We stayed half board but the range of food at breakfast and evening was wide with a good variety to suit most tastes. This was not the UK so those who expected burgers and chips (and typically, there seemed to be a couple like this) were disappointed.
Free wi-fi in the bar and reception was a bonus and the restaurant staff worked tirelessly, always smiling and polite.
A fantastic holiday and we would definitely travel there again.
We did not use the indoor pool or spa so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Well what can i say... arrived at Paradise to a lovely welcome of all entertainment staff and Dizzy the Dolphin and Coco ( hotels mascots). Given orange juice and sandwiches on arrival whilst checking in, the children were entertained with balloon making and lollies. Very pleasant staff, nice spacious and clean reception area, lovely friendly reception staff in particular the swedish man (dont know his name). Given keys to our room which was on the second floor , not ideal with a buggy so i enquired if there was any possibility of us getting a ground floor room and within half an hour we had a ground flloor 2 bed apt looking towards the pool. Fantastic customer services! Apt spacious and clean, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and nice terrace. So far so good.
Then we go for a wander and discover there are 4 lovely pools all without a drop of water!!! This is where the problems started. To cut a long story short we had no pools for 3 days of our holiday as no-one thought to fill them before the guests arrived!! WHY!!?? The kids splash pool was the sole reason we picked this hotel. The larger octopus pool was empty for the whole of our 10 night stay! Also the indoor pool was empty on our arrival (fri) which i complained about as my 2 year old just wanted to get straight in a pool after wed arrived. I was promised it would be filled by " tomorrow" Sat i was then told it had been filled but was now being heated so come back tomorrow! Sunday i went again and was told yes its full and heated but closed on a sunday! What a joke! We had asked to be moved to a different hotel due to the lack of pools but the hotel manager assured me it would be ready for the next day by 10am. So 10 am the next day i went and although the splash pool was full the water was brown at one end. I asked the lifeguard and he said " No you must not swim it is not clean. come back in 2-3 hours. Yet the hotel manager came and met me and insisted "it was ok to swim in it was just brown from earth going in it and it should be like taht because people use it!" then went a "chatted" with the lifeguard in Spanish (probably telling him off).I didnt trust him that it was fit to swim in so we went to the beach again instead. We came back had lunch then went back and the pool was crystal clear. So that proved that he lied about it being clean in the morning.
Then once ventured out into the resort to find that too pretty much still closed!! Apparantly the season doesnt really start until 24th May so why sell holidays from 1st May then? Not rocket science!! Very quiet resort with nice small Marina, probably quite nice in high season once filled up and given a bit of atmosphere but when only a third opened then felt a bit isolated. No Goody park for kids, no landtrain to take you to other parts of Menorca, no Flamingo beach or Fiesta ( neither open yet) only a very small cove beach with no toilets or any facilities if you wanted to make a day of it. All in all not quite good enough.
All inclusive was a bit hit and miss with the first few days again only basic things in stock no tequilla, Tia Maria etc but this was sorted after reporting to the Thomas Cook Rep. There are some cocktails available on the AI. On the AI you can only have house brand spirits not named which would be acceptable if people on self catering didnt go to the bar and say " Not All Inclusive so want Smirnoff and keep pouring!" then point to the top of the glass then not get charged anything, waiter says no its ok!! So people who pay extra to be A.I get crappy brands and cheeky people who are self catering get the proper stuff!
The food was bad for a 4* AI. There should have been a snack/burger bar which again also wasnt opened until the pools did 3 days late!! But when it did i have to say it cooke dthe best food id had all week. In the restaurant the food was always cold with the same foods put out for lunch and dinner. The soup was unbelievable, dirty dishwater springs to mind one day it was literally pasta in the water theyd boiled it in and it was labelled as Chicken Noodle!! The ice cream was melted foam. The bread started off lovely and fresh but by day 6 im pretty sure we were trying to eat day 1s bread it was so stale it fell apart. I never once ate the meat as i didnt trust it. Several members of my family got it but found it uncooked and bloody in the middle! They seemed to run out of lots of things and not replenish them. For example they ran out of teabags, bread, butter, sugar puff type cereal, nutella spread, cheese spread, chips etc. They swapped individual packets of real butter for cheap catering margarine chunks floating in a deep bowl of iced water! Bear in mind this was the first week of the season and these were basic food items, how can they run out in their first week!? They do too much fish there was seafood paella on nearly everyday the 2-3 lots of fish and maybe pork and thats it so if you didnt eat pork or fish you had it. Chicken and beef was only on twice in our 10 day stay and then the beef was like old leather boots. Poor!! The fruit wasnt even washed and 1 day i got some lovely strawberries with a snail still attatched. The desserts table was poor tiny pieces of cheap gateaux usually just 2 flavours. The restaurant staff are nice but very overworked. They run round trying to seat diners, serve drinks, clear tables, replenish stocks while Miguel the Head of Restaurant stands round giving orders in a not too pleasant manner!!
The restaurant got very hot towards the end of our stay as more people arrived and i think it would become quite unpleasantly hot in peak seaon.
The Animacion team were great especially Florin, hes crazy!! :-) Loved him. They provided lots of activities during the day for all ages which they invite you to join in but arent pushy. They did face painting, archery, zumba , etc. They really tried to make the best of a bad situation at night they did a "Mini Disco" every night at 8.30 which the little ones loved. Then in a bid to entertain the adults they did Bingo every night then quizzes or daft comedy sketch shows. All in all they try their best but when all said and done without the audience participation they wouldnt have had any entertainment. We had a professional magician from outside but 1 night out of 10 i dont feel is acceptable.I really feel that there should have been professional shows also. The Animacion team work hard enough all day without having to do the shows until 11.30pm too.
All in all this hotel is a lovely, well presented hotel in an ideal location , literally 2 mins across a road to the harbour and 10 mins to the beach, its such a shame they let the first few lots of holiday makers down with the poor management. If i had come a month later i would probably have loved this place but the lack of pools , entertainment and poor food let it down. For anyone looking at going later in the season i would probably still recommend it but i wouldnt bother going AI until the food quality and choice improve. You can also upgrade to AI once there so i would suggest going S/C then checking out the food and maybe upgrade if improved. It was abt 30euros per day per person to upgrade.
I would just like to say that i feel that is unfair of people to label us as moaners when they werent even at the hotel when the problems were happening. They arrived after we had encountered all the problems. Im sure if they had experienced what we did they wouldnt have such a good view of things so until theyre in that position they should keep their opinions about "moaners" to theirselves. Hope it happens to them sometime then they might understand!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkprincess-6747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews