We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Owners”
Review of Blue Waves Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Waves Hotel
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Owners”
Reviewed 1 October 2008

This hotel is set in the brilliant location as it is a two minute walk to the beach, restaurants and bars- but nicely tucked away next to a mountain with great views.
The rooms are better than typical greek island standards, including the cleanliness which is a top priority at this hotel. Along with an extremely friendly family who go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and pleasing as possible!
They hold a greek night once a week where they invite all guests, friends and family to the pool area with a night of fine, home made, greek food, traditional greek dancing and a whole lot of fun and entertainment!
There are absolutely no faults whatsoever with this hotel! Even the views from the balconies are amazing, a great view of the shimmering sea and mountains.
This hotel isn't five star quality in terms of decoration etc, but it is a fantastic standard- not grubby, not shabby and definitely not 'cheap looking'.

  • Liked — The very warming family that own and run the hotel
  • Disliked — The sadness of having to leave!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank lchatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    53
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
86
142
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

97 of us went to santorini greece for my uncles wedding....!!! we stayed at the bluewave apartments in Kamari...it is family run and very small but one of the best places ive stayed in...they couldnt have done enough for us...the pool is a nice size and suitable for kids aswell...the rooms were kept spotless and springcleaned every second day .... there is a restaurant right across the road that we stayed in and the food was lovely...ask for george :)
the island is a quiet enough island but with 97 of us it wasnt too quiet...we rented out quads everyday at €25 for 24hrs and we travelled the whole island on them...we were like hells angels on them a big long line of us :)
There is one irish bar on the island the food was lovely also and they played all the premiership matches which the lads were delighted with.
we went snorkelling everyday also at kamari beach which was good fun and did a cruise to see the volcano and hotsprings...the wedding itself was lovely and ceremony only lasted 15min!! the afters made up for it...I would definitely recommend Santorini & Bluewave apt to anyone lookin for a chilled out/adventourous holiday

  • Liked — the friendliness and helpfulness
  • Disliked — only do toasties at the bar...but wasnt big problem
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steamywindows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

I have to say we really enjoyed our holiday here. We booked through XL. Accommodation is basic but the friendliness of the owners is something you cant put a price on. They hold greek nights once a week and dont charge for food. We also were given great advice on where to go and eat from them. In the evening we would always return to have a drink at the pool bar. The prices here were very reasonable.

The accomodation is just very near the main strip of kamari and also very near the bus stop.

There is a great greek taverna across the road I think its called Andreas and on Thursday nights they have live greek music. It is brilliant.

Myself and my husband really enjoyed our holiday here and we will certainly return.

I loved Kamari, its so laid back and relaxing and we were so surprised when some of the waiters were able to speak Irish.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the owners, people watching from our balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gkireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

The Blue Waves Apatrments are located in an excellent spot about 2 minutes walk from Kamari's beach and strip of bars and restaurants. The apartments themselves are quite basic but none the less functional. We stayed in a studio with a quite large bedroom/kitchen. The beds were adequately comfortable. There is a tiny dining table also in the studio and the ware/cutlery provided looked old and in need of a change. Also the electric cooking hob would not look out of place on a camping trip! The balcony was quite small and outs overlooked the road at the rear of the apartments. It also became quite hot on the balcony due to the airconditioner outside. You can purchase aircon in your room for €8 a day and this is a must if you are staying here during the hotter summer months. A safe can also be rented for €10 a week. The bathroom was quite small and the shower was tiny and frequently flooded the bathroom floor as the shower is not raised up off the floor. The pool area and bar are quite nice and the family who run the apartments are very friendly also. The prices at the pool bar are cheaper than alot of the bars located along the front of Kamari beach which makes for a nice night cap after a night out in one of Kamari's great bars. A bus stop, numerous supermarkets and fast food place is also located about a minute away from the apartments. Overall I would stay here again as its a good base to explore Santorini. If you are looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank hannigan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
0.4 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
1.9 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#16 of 75 in Kamari
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#4 of 75 in Kamari
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waves Hotel

Property: Blue Waves Hotel
Address: Makedonias Street, Kamari | Makedonias Street, Kamari, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Kamari
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Waves Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Waves hotel is located only 30meters from Kamara beach. One of the most famous beaches in Santorini. Blue Waves hotel is a traditional hotel that combines the Greek atmosphere with a modern lifestyle. The recently renovated Blue Waves has a spacious and inviting terrace and pool where guests can relax, as the bar serves a wide variety of drinks and small snacks to keep you refreshed throughout the day. If you are looking to relax, unwind and enjoy the beauty of your surroundings, the Blue Waves is the ideal place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Waves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waves Studios Apartments
Blue Waves Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing