We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location for the beach”
Review of Makris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makris Hotel
Ranked #21 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Kamari
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I spent 8 days in Santorini, staying in the Makris Apartments.

Firstly, the place is in a great location, the apartments are very tidy and the one we had, was large, ground floor with a balcony to chill out on after the beach.

It is in a great location, within 30 seconds of the beach, and just off the promenade, full of bars and restaurants.

Breakfast is included in the price, which after 8 days could have done with some variation, however it does have a good choice, is topped up regularly and makes a great start to the day.

The only downside that I had with this reservation, was the hotel arranged airport transfers. On arrival, I had been promised someone waiting for us with our names at arrival. After 1 hour of waiting, our driver finally arrived, and apologised about some mix up. Still got charged full price though, which I thought was not the best start to a holiday, but we were there to relax, and so just let it go.

Would I recommend staying here.. for sure! I was very happy with what we had for the price we paid. Book in advance and secure a room if you're travelling to the island. Don't worry about its location for getting to Thira, just get on the bus, 2 mins away and pay very reasonable fares to get to the capital, and then around the rest of the island. A car is not necessary if you're prepared to use the local buses.

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bazzzzzzzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent 1 fantastic week from 21 to 28 of june. We were 2 couples with 2 babies and our apartments were nice, close to the beaches and to all main services like parking, bars, restaurants, market and so on. Great breakfast in Prince Bar at ground floar, one of the most beautiful in kamari! The owners and the stuff were always nice, polite and professional! It was our second time in Santorini even if the first in kamari and everyting was perfect so that we alrradu miss so much everything there!!! Bye EmmeElle

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmeElleFromRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Never before have I felt so welcome somewhere.

Just returned from a week away with my mum, dad & young daughter.

The apartments & neighbouring restaurant -princes - are all family run along with the car hire place and Internet cafe on - site.

Everybody was so friendly and welcoming, they really went out of their for us and were incredible with my daughter, she was very sad to leave at the end of the week. A truly lovely family.

We had 2 apartments next to each other - 30 & 31 - and they were both lovely. Everything we needed, spotlessly cleaned and a wonderful housekeeper for the week. Quiet, peaceful with lovely views and a large terrace.

We arranged airport transfers with them, along with a lift to Oia one day and car hire another day. All death with efficiently.

We will definitely return again in the future

Thank you for looking after us all so well.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Soton1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just returned from a week holiday at the Makris Apartments and it was fantastic. It was our first time travelling to Greece for a friend's wedding, and with friends staying in various accommodations in Kamari we decided on the Makris Apartments mainly due to location and being reasonably priced and we were not disapponted with our choice. We booked a Garden View Apartment which was exactly as the pictures on the website, the apartments have been recently refurbished and are excellent. Our apartment was spacious, comfortable, cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen being provided, and had full cooking facilities - we simply could not have asked for more. Breakfast is taken at Prince's Restaurant just to the side of the apartments located on the beach front which is a fantastic setting to start the day, the staff both at the apartment reception and at Prince's are extremely friendly and can not do enough for you. The apartments have an excellent location just off the main beach front strip of restaurants, shops and bars, so you are not impacted by noise in an evening but everywhere is easily accessible. We really did not want to come home and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladdict89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place was so beautiful that we were almost crying when the week was over.Friendly people everywhere and excellent service at the beach, the beachboy Panos was the most friendliest beachboy I have ever meet, always serving cold drinks with a friendly smile.I am definitly going back.Prince restaurant had excellent food and the price was not bad either.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for a week, and were really pleased with the service and the utterly friendly and welcoming staff. Our apartment had one bedroom, a small kitchen and a living room/dining area with a sofa that could be used as an extra bed. Furthermore we had a huge balcony with a table and chairs.
The bathroom was rather small and crammed, but was all right anyway.
The air conditioning was in the bedroom and worked fine.
In the kitchen there was a mini stove and a coffee machine and of course a refrigerator. A set of the usual kitchen utilities was provided.
Overall, we were pleased with the apartment and especially with the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pia-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed at Makris Apartments for a week in July 2012. It was spacious, nice, clean, had a kitchen, air condition, sofa, table with chairs, small but nice bathroom, a big bedroom, safe and a livingroom. We were 5 girls staying for a week, three shared the bedroom and two shared a bed in the livingroom. It was absolutely big enough for us 5 girls. The room had a huge balcony which was about half the size of the apartment with a view to the beach :) Very nice!!
We payed about 125 euros for a week each, and that was included breakfast in the restaurant Prince in first floor. Very good! The breakfast selection was small but it had the most important; coffee, juice, jam, honey, youghurt, white bread, whole wheat bread, fruit etc.. Enough to have a good start of the day :)
The restaurant had very nice food, and we got a 10% discount of the bill by showing the hotel key. The restaurant staff was so friendly and nice, and the same with the hotel staff!
The hotel is just 1 minute away from the beach, and we payed about 3 euros for a sunbed. The beach was not overcrowded, and you could order drinks and food to the sunbed from the Prince restaurant.
The promenade at Kamari have lots of restaurants to choose from, and just up the street from the hotel, there is a car and scooter rental, the bus to Fira(15 minutes trip), and a shop etc.
If you are not in for all inclusive and luxury, this is absolutely recommendable!

Gave it a average on sleep quality, and that is just because the sofa in the livingroom had a bit to hard mattress.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneBL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamari
4.6 mi away
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
#15 of 21 in Firostefani
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alesahne Beach Hotel
Alesahne Beach Hotel
#40 of 75 in Kamari
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Acqua Vatos Hotel
#28 of 75 in Kamari
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kamari
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphins Apartments
Dolphins Apartments
#58 of 75 in Kamari
68 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aliko Luxury Suites
Aliko Luxury Suites
#22 of 28 in Imerovigli
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makris Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Kamari
Price Range: £37 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makris Apartments are situated in Kamari village on the island of Santorini, just 5 metres from the beach. The hotel sits in a lovely position right next to the beautiful beach of Kamari. The view of the pebbled black beach of Kamari stretch out before your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Makris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makris Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing