We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartments”
Review of Makris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makris Hotel
Ranked #22 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Kamari
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Our apartment was fantastic. We had a seaview room with one of the biggest balconies ive ever had! Safe was 10 euros per week and the air con was 5 euros per day. its definately needed. If you eat at Prince Bar and show your room key you get 10% off your bill. Just show you key when you order. The apartments were cleaned every day and are in a great location.
One restaurant definately worth a mention is a new one near the Irish Bar (irish bar also fantastic). Its called Myth of Santorini and if you are a meat eater its worth a go and its cheap. The owner also owns a butchers in Fira so he can supply his restuarant and make it cheaper.
I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Makris Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

Having never been on a self catering for many years and used to sumptuous hotels then I am rather biased! We paid just under £400 bed & breakfast for a week at the end of May 2010 and to be honest I think it was fairly pricey. The air conditioning was an extra 5 Euros per day and it was definitely required, it was a shame that in our room the only air con unit was in the kitchen, which meant the bedroom got a little hot and in our friend's room they only had air con in the bedroom. The buffet style breakfast was disappointing and described as continental, the only choice was two types of cereals which weren't that tasty, tinned peaches, a hard boiled egg or bread and jam, not very appetising although you could eat and drink as much as you wanted.

The worst thing about the apartments was the lack of a pool! Luckily we managed to find a pool nearby which we were allowed to used providing we purchased all food and drink consumed from the bar there. I doubt this would be an option in peak season as there were only about 30 sun loungers. The beach was ok but very stoney and not that inviting so that's the main thing to bear in mind.

The apartments were cleaned every day and fresh towels provided, although they were quite dated, I couldn't say that they weren't clean. There are no baths and just a shower tray with curtain around so it is more of a wet room, which I wasn't particularly keen on.

Location wise, the apartments were very good, extremely convenient for bars, restaurants and shops, without being too noisy in the evenings. The adjoining bar is very good for meals and drinks and a 10% discount is available for guests, make sure you show them your room key BEFORE ordering to get the discount!

The final thing that bugged me is that the drop off and pick up point for the airport transfers were a few hundred yards up the street, which is fine when you get dropped off but annoying when you're waiting to leave in the scorching weather with no shelter from the sun.

At the end of the day, if you are of the opinion that your room is just somewhere to lay your head and you want clean accommodation in a handy spot then I'd recommend this place. However, if you want a swimming pool and enjoy the comfort and facilities of a posh hotel then look elswhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billyridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank ΓΙΩΡΓΟΣ Β
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Johnny967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apostolos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Luigi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.0 mi away
Dolphins Apartments
Dolphins Apartments
#54 of 75 in Kamari
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acqua Vatos Hotel
Acqua Vatos Hotel
#29 of 75 in Kamari
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alesahne Beach Hotel
Alesahne Beach Hotel
#39 of 75 in Kamari
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Pension
Blue Horizon Pension
#27 of 31 in Kamari
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mar Villas
El Mar Villas
#15 of 49 in Kamari
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argiris Studios
Argiris Studios
#2 of 31 in Kamari
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makris Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Kamari
Price Range: £38 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makris Apartments are situated in Kamari village on the island of Santorini, just 5 metres from the beach. The hotel sits in a lovely position right next to the beautiful beach of Kamari. The view of the pebbled black beach of Kamari stretch out before your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Makris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makris Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing